Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
2.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2011
I can't help feeling that most of the reviewers here have missed the point of this film. The central gag is a bit fanah fanah I will admit, but contrary to what is said by others, I found the acting to be wonderfully natural with pauses and stutters as people speak in real life... the whole point is that this is a non-Hollywood production dealing with normal looking people, so if viewers are disappointed by this they are looking in the wrong place. The story starts as a joke, but finishes by discussing human issues of real import. This is funny, painfully so at times, but also touching and thought-provoking. There is VERY LITTLE NUDITY OF A REVEALING NATURE.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
My overall impression of this movie was very uneven. Some of the actings and dialogues were great and poignant, others were flat and unconvincing. I could think of one way of putting this movie to good use, i.e. show the last scene to the evangelists and those who believe that sex between the same sex (homosexuality) is a choice. After they see it, they will think differently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2010
Andrew and Ben are two old college friends whose respective life has evolved very differently. Ben is now married to Anna and seems to have a pretty contented 'white picket fence' lifestyle. Meanwhile Andrew, an artist, has remained a 'free spirit' and drifts rather unsuccessfully from project to project - all unfinished by his own admission. One drunken evening, they decide to enter the local amateur porn film festival and submit a tape of themselves having sex: 'two straight men having sex, that's not gay, it's an art project!'. On the following sober morning none of them wants to back down... opening the door for marital complications and unwelcome exploration of their male bonding.

I'm sure you'll agree that this constitutes a pretty good starting point: original, amusing as well as slightly provocative without feeling exploitative. So full of potential I would say! Unfortunately the film doesn't quite delivers. From the clever premise, the two main characters ad-lib their way (sometimes amusingly, sometimes clunkily) through scenes which run out of steam pretty quickly. Indecision and lack of clarity being the main problems of the movie and seem to be equally shared by the characters and the film-maker: a good pitch but no idea where they want to go from there and consequently how to get there. Don't get me wrong the movie is not baaad, but it's certainly never as clever as it thinks it is either.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
In a nutshell. This is one of the most boring film I have ever watched. It's going straight in the bin. It's not even worth giving it to friends. What a waste of an evening. We should really have stopped halfway,
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
Done in the style of a fly on the wall movie. Entertaining and also thought provking. More of an art house type movie that moves at a slower pace than hollywood type movies. Good cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
I thought this independent movie would be better. Dialogue is not witty enough, performances are OK. Ending is muddy. Not funny enough. Delivers less than expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Some funny moments, but a ridiculous, unbelievable premise. Highly improvisational, and not all that successfully. I would not recommend this film to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
This is another one of those one joke movies that stands or falls on the one central premise. If you don't find the idea of two heterosexual guys struggling to come to terms with the fact that they have made a drunken pact to do the dirty on film hilariously funny then I would avoid it like the plague. I know I wished I had. Not only is the film depressingly dull from stat to finish but it's clear that much of the script is improvised by the wooden cast, and improvised so badly, that at times I wanted to jab my own eyeball with a sharp stick to make myself feel better. At times you could clearly see the actors think about what to say before they delivered their mundane lines.

Painful to watch.

Makes you appreciate Mike Leigh's films all the more though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
The idea of watching two straight men making love can be luring. But director of this movie turn it into something quite disgusting.
There is not a single moment in this film that made me laugh. Both of the main characters are everything but appealing and their lack of aibility to act doesn't help either. The actress who plays wife of one of the men got on my nerves too.
In my opinion to watch it was a loss of time and money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2010
Im struggling not to give this movie a 1. The premise of two straight guys wanting to film themselves doing "the nasty" for a artsy porn festival has a lot of could be funny/poignant moments potential. Why doesn't it work?
Dialogue is improvised but lacks rehersal so after its acted badly you don't believe a word of it and the huge contrivance of the festival never really rings true. The movie was well marketed in the cinema and is an example of the "mumblecore"genre that a certain type of American Idie cinema does really well. This doesnt live up to either the hype or its competition. Also its seems to exist in isolation of the reality that "gay for pay" is practicaly a cliche its so commonplace. In summary a wasted opportunity that is nowhere near as "Karouack" as it thinks it is!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)