Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 8 April 2016
Again McEwan addresses the effects of evil on the innocent, this time in the context of World War II. He also exposes the
reality of occupation by the Nazis and their evil depredations and the loss of life affecting every family and future generations.
It is also a spiritual quest by one of the protagonists to make sense of evil which pervades successive periods of history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
I have read this book three times since published. Its brilliant. Have read everything by McEwan since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2017
Again, different from all his other books. The story of love, the attitudes of the post-war generations, intergenerational commitments, and emotional entanglements, left me thinking about it for days afterwards. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2016
An ambitious work addressing the human, spiritual and political aftermath of post war Europe.
McEwan fans will love it. As in many of his works the story pivots on a single incident which is teased out over course of the book. When it is eventually revealed, even though the reader is prepared, it still delivers a powerful shock
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2017
good book as ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2014
Great book by a great author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2013
There is always a dark undertone to his books and this delivers that..for me his best up until Saturday was released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2013
The genius strikes again! yes, it is different to other McEwans, but will entrance in a slightly different way. More lyrical and slower paced than many of his novels
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
I found this just a little empty of something - I know that this is going to sound as if I'm a sentimentalist (which I'm not), but I think it lacked - heart. I wish McEwan would write something better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2014
Typically McEwan, with some of the prose absolutely breathtaking. Marred by some 'downtime' in a few places though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse