Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
134
3.8 out of 5 stars
Bill Bryson's African Diary
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.99


on 18 July 2017
Don't you just love Bill Bryson? The nicest, most interesting person in the world. This was quite short and I felt a bit short changed but it was worthy. I saw Bill in Oxford two years ago (2015) and he just asked (with his eyes) not to say anything. I didn't. But if he has put pen to paper and wrote this - it is to be noticed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
An interesting account of a trip to Africa, with the usual Bill Bryson touches of wry humour. Disappointingly short however. I wanted the book to last longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
...but it has to be said is decidedly brief. Can't grumble as I didn't read the product details, but better not to be surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Typical Bill Bryson - really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
Short but interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
Buying this short book helps a very good cause. Reading it helps you understand why people should buy it. It's also a proper Bill Bryson book so you'll laugh as much as you'll learn - which is a lot! Pete Morgan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Bill Bryson never disappoints....... Humorous, informative, a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
a rely good tape for the car
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2016
I misread the titles, very short
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2008
Bill Bryson is the funniest travel writer working today, I believe, and even when he takes on what is an unpleasant task - visiting one of the most depressed areas of the world in order to raise funds for CARE, he does it in a hilarious way.

In this short little book, Bryson not only shares with us his (by turns) funny and heartbreaking journey, we also get to meet some amazing people. The lady who works twelve-hour days in order to get a profit of some $7 or $8 - the farmer who has made a fantastic farm and is very proud of it - the villagers who come out to welcome the visitors with open arms because of a well that was built, eliminating the need for the women of the village to make a seven-hour roundtrip journey to the nearest water source. This is what it's all about - this is the magical work that CARE does with the funds that are donated.

Bryson is his usual, witty self, freely confessing that the homework he did in preparing for his trip was watching Out of Africa numerous times, and he thought that he was going to be on an estate being served coffee for most of the trip. The reality was somewhat different, but still far afield from what he expected. That I not only laughed out loud but insisted on reading choice bits aloud to my husband is a testament to the talent and humor that Bryson brings to everything he does.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)