Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
157
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2010
What a lot of tosh!

The snobby criticism, not the film. Actually, St Trinians 2 is perfectly faithful to the spirit of the original St Trinians films. Those films were not masterpieces, they were typical examples of British humour, with silly plots and characters the public could relate to.

ST2 has a good script, it's funny, sassy and is basically a school pantomime on film. It is not crude or vulgar and I felt quite comfortable watching it with a 9 year old. I quite admire that the filmakers don't set out to oversexualize the girls. One of the themes of the film, in fact, is feminism and Ms Fritton's speech to the sisterhood before going into battle is a highlight. There was also a shocking revelation about Shakespeare, which has totally changed my view of the plays.

On the subject of Ms Fritton, Alastair Sim is often described as an acting genius, which he was, but Rupert Everett is surely as skilled and as lovable a comic actor. If I were a producer I'd be finding vehicles for this brilliant man. David Tennant and Colin Firth do good too.

The actors playing the St Trinian girls get the best bits, though, and have the most fun, dressing up as chavs (sorry, rude girls), geeks, emos and princesses. They do it well, they do it with style. Each tribe held its own, loyalty to the school and to the sisterhood coming first.

Great dialogue, daft plot, colourful costumes and popular music - pure panto. Makes ya proud to be British.
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
Really brilliant movie- it's funny and clever and Rupert Everett is a hoot! Currently working my way through the DVD Extras! Why weren't they promoted on here?

Included are: Meet the Tribes Feature
Meet the Banned Featurette
We've Got the Beat Music Video
Up & Away Music video
Learn the St Trinian's dance!
LOADS of Interviews

Get this DVD- my niece can't wait to get hers!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2010
If you watched and enjoyed the first St Trinians film then you will definitely like this! If you have not seen either, then I'd say you could easily watch this one without having seen the first one.

This film obviously wouldnt win any awards, but who cares because it is not supposed to be taken seriously. There are some fab british actors in it, including Colin Firth, Rupert Everett and David Tennant, and you can see they are having fun playing the eccentric characters.

This film probably would appeal mostly to girls aged 8 to 15 but I'm in my early twenties and I liked it! It is quite funny at times and has a great soundtrack!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
My dad is actually the one who enjoys these kinds of comedies best, like Parent Trap the disney remake, Wild Child, and of course St Trinians. He enjoyed the original St Trinians (i.e. great train robbery) whereas i didn't really get into them. I have always enjoyed the new St Trinians however: they are lighthearted fun and mischief, with a good notorious cast. For goodness' sake, Colin Firth has been willing to do a brilliantly strange part, dating Hugh Grant, who actually looks brilliant as the wickedly fantastic Miss Fritton.
The sequel has a quite straightforward plot unlike many sequels, and the girls do plenty of odd things. The dance scene at the end is brilliant. The girls all exhibit talent and Sarah Harding exhibits restraint as she's already established as a singer and so lets the other girls cover that angle. If anything, I prefer St Trinians' pupils to many of my past classmates!
David Tennant plays quite an individual role, devious and emotive, and handsome as always. If there's another St trinians, I'll be happy to watch it, and will be getting this dvd when it comes out too!
66 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
-Absolutely love St.Trinnian's.. The second film sees annabelle as head girl, but also a return of the previous head girl kelly (Gemma Atherton) as they go on a quest to find the legendary Fritton treasure. Good Sequel to the first film which maintains it's humour. The copy i brought, i think, was classed as 'Used -Like New', which is true, the outer box and cd itself are in perfect condition. Brought for cheap and came within the estimated delivery times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having worked for some years at a girls' boarding school, I can report that this film comes very close to the truth in lots of ways, though also outlandish and over-the-top in others. Terrific performances by all the players, who are clearly having the time of their lives. Great fun.

I don't usually like remakes, and having grown up with the original black and white films wasn't sure whether I'd like this series, but it is brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
I was a great lover of the Belles of St Trinians (the films from the 50's). The first movie in this franchise was every bit as good. This one is basically the same as the first one, so I did not enjoy it as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
The original four St Trinian's films were extremely good. The first St Trinian's remake wasn't too bad, so I bought St Trinian's 2 - a big mistake. The film has hardly any plot, and you are bombarded with constant pop music. I will NOT be buying St Trinians 3!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
The critics hated it, too much plot they said. I disagree. The lack of plot ruined the first film. This is clever funny and a good story line with plot twists along the way. Too clever for the critics perhaps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Went a bit too narrow in appeal after the first of the modern St Trinian's movie and became overly focussed on a young teen girl audience. The Shakespearean theme was fun, though, and the repelled raid, alcohol rehabilitation, adapted Henry V speech and flashdance scenes are brilliant. The plot is a bit too silly, however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse