Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Hot Chip have one particularly subtle, enduring and
endearing quality. They make electronica with a heart
(and a big warm heart at that!). They achieve this through
good tunes, witty lyrics and the inestimable pathos and
fragility of Alexis Taylor's instantly recognisable voice.

Their fourth studio outing finds them in fine fettle.
'One Life Stand' has a remarkably bright and vivid presence.
The ten songs in this collection deliver the band's best work
so-far. I loved all three of their previous album releases
but there is something distinctive and special about this
one which sets it apart by a mile.

There is an openness and expansiveness in the fresh-faced
production which brings the music to life in an addictive
and affecting way. Take the four-square magic of the title
track as a perfect example of the fusion of a strong melody,
big, danceable beats and the laugh-out-loud charm of the
sweeping, swooping and zooming synthesiser interventions.

Opening track 'Thieves In The Night' contasts the wonderful bump
and grind of the synth and percussion obliggato with Mr Taylor's
preciously vulnerable vocal delivery to stunning effect.
The edgy and slightly dodgy central guitar solo is a hoot!

'Brothers' is an unashamedly new-blokeish examination of the
value of male comradeship. A soppy and risky and rare idea,
brought to life with touchingly unsentimental authenticity.

'Alley Cats' is another enchanting lyrical and musical highlight.
Warm and bubbling and full of summer sunlight. For my money the
loveliest song of the band's time on earth so-far! Truly magical!

Final track 'Take It In', with its shifting patterns
of light and shade and incandescent vocal harmonies
brings the project to a stunning and uplifting close.

Hot Chip tick all the boxes with this little cracker.

Essential.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
I've tried to like Hot Chip for a long time. They've made some of the most infectious pop for the last 10 years. The singles are always a revelation but the albums are always left wanting. That was until One Life Stand came out.

This is the album they've been trying to make for the last few years. A wonderfully put together album in 3 parts. The first four tracks tread familiar ground - The catchy, singalong, perfectly crafted but heartfelt dance-pop tunes which have progressed another step since 'Ready for the floor'. Then things slow down for two tracks and we hear a new side to Hot Chip - The love song - but that's a lot better than it sounds. Then the third part of the album is the real surprise: Some of the best disco since 'I feel love' mixed with some darker minor key sounds along the lines of Meat Beat Manifesto mixed with the brooding but minus the self parody of Nine Inch Nails.

This will be a very strong contender for album of the year 2010.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 March 2010
It's interesting how Hot Chip have managed to progress into this album with acquiring a fuller more produced sound, but retaining the same eclectic originality of their earlier work. This Album is full of inspiring songs, which combine sometimes moving lyrics with a very inventive sound world with interesting harmonies and altogether a coherent musical journey. I have played this to people who were a little puzzled by Hot Chip's earlier albums which I had played to them over the years, and all commented how fresh this one sounded even though it's more accessible to the more mainstream taste. The best way I can describe it is that it retains the Indie Electronica sound at the same time as widening appeal.

Enthusiastically recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Never having heard anything from this band but reading good reviews I decided to buy this one. And even though it's not excellent , the music is well worth listening to. Nicely crafted pop songs with a touch of electronics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
Hot Chip were a band that took a while for me to warm to. I remember disliking their 2006 breakthrough album 'The Warning' (I've since grown to like, if not love it) and found their last album 'Made In The Dark' to be patchy at best. Now here we are in early 2010 and the Londoner's have really outstripped themselves with a fine record which is obviously heavily indebted towards New Order, but is certainly not the poorer for it. Just take one look at that (beautiful) cover, IT EVEN LOOKS LIKE A NEW ORDER RECORD!!!!!.

But to dismiss this band as mere copyist's is a narrow-sighted and presumptuous view point as they have a lot to offer in their own right. Opener 'Thieves In The Night' is a six minute downtempo start. As noted by Andrew Mueller in his Uncut magazine review, the track holds many similarities to 'Grey To Fade' by the Steve Strange-led New Romantic's Visage, Mueller states that the similarities cannot be coincidence and I must concur. It does seem like a wink-and-a-nod towards the music of the past that has obviously influenced Alexis Taylor and co, but as like the New Order influences, it always seems playful and mischivous rather than a ripp off. track 2 'Hand Me Down Your Love' really explodes out of the speakers with a dense beat and a driving piano riff but just as you sense the song is about to implode within itself, the whole peice takes a back step and a beautiful string arrangement seems to just bloom out of nowhere, it is easily the standout track and is absolutely stunning. Single 'One Life Stand' is also a highlight with Taylor's beautifully cold vocals being punctuated by stabbing keyboards and thunderous beats.

The record is populated with slow-paced, downtempo disco numbers which vary in their reward. 'Brothers' is a rudimentry Hot Chip song which feels a little stilted but is admittedly very heartfelt. 'Slush' is a better example where the song builds slowly but steadily until it reaches a beautiful climax which incorpates pianos, horns and strings. The results are mixed throughout with 'Alley Cats' being a dense and sombre moodpeice which does'nt reach it's potential and 'Keep Quiet' not really going anywhere of interest. 'We Have Love' is by far the most dance-orientated song, which really livens the whole record up. It sounds like a club classic in the making with a repetitive vocal sample played over a multi-layered old school dance track, it is very reminiscent of 'Technique' era New Order (high praise indeed).

Overall I still feel Hot Chip are searching for their masterpeice, but they are getting closer with each release. One day they will create an album that sits easily alongside 'Power, Corruption & Lies', 'Violater' and 'Trans-Europe Express', till then this superb album will certainly suffice.

And, add 'Hand Me Down My Love' to 'Over And Over' and 'Ready For The Floor' as 10/10 rated classics. My God, this band will have one hell of a Best Of!!!.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
But yes I love technology. Always and forever!" Napoleon Dynamite's older brother and his band produce a good album of heart on sleeve "loving" electro. Title track is especially good - goose bump inducing in this reviewer. Last two songs are a bit damp mind.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2010
Having grown up through the emergence of electronica in the late 70s and 80s, after reading all the press coverage about their style of music, when Hot Chip released their first album I immediately bought it. Impressed, yes, but blown away, far from it. This time round the purchase wasn't as immediate, but I bought the new album anyway for two reasons, firstly, I do a lot of driving and listen to a lot of music along the way, and secondly, quite frankly a lot of the music "out there" at the minute leaves me cold. Have to say I was completely surprised at the difference bewteen the two albums, and One Life Stand remained entrenched in the car CD player for the best part of 3 weeks! The variation in tempo and tone of the tracks made me pay more attention to the lyrics, which quite frankly made me chuckle at times, whimsical at others. I love this album - buy it, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2010
The title track has production that wouldn't be out of place on I Am Robot and Towers of Asia's debut record, or Postal Service outtakes. But like these artists, Hot Chip focuses more on song arrangements and structure rather than technology and programming showmanship.

It sums up the core of what made The Warning so accessible and enjoyable right from the onset: it's like listening to early New Order records for the first time, waiting for the next one with a little bit of excited anticipation to see what's going to happen next with every new song.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 February 2010
Im overwhelmed by this , it really is gorgeous to listen to. Quite a poppy 80s feel but loads of little touches, tweaks and harmonies with some icy minor keys. If Depeche were starting out now they would sound like this thats how good it is!! Hot Chip seem like Grown men dancing an singing like wee boys on a sunny day! Lots of fantastic chord changes with some stand out tracks 'Take It In', 'One Life Stand' and 'Thieves In The Night'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
Love the band,
good album,but wa hoping for more of a progression from the last album.
A but tedious at times...unfortunately-but there are some
excellent high lights and worth it just for that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)