Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2010
This is an interesting film, but one which depends on the viewer having knowledge, and interest in the subject matter. It reveals a realistic, and sordid existence of republican prisoners in the H blocks of The Maze prison. There are no attempts at sensationalism, and much of the film exposes the utter tedium, loneliness, and uncleanliness of life for those prisoners 'on the blanket'. Unlike the other two films about this period, 'Some Mother's Son', and 'Hunger', this film shows the daily grind of prison life, and the strength, and determination of the republican prisoners, not through the extremity of events so much as the corporate defiance, amidst appalling conditions. The sense of incaceration is compounded by the long periods of inaction, and by the world outside only being seen though the prison wire mesh covering the windows of the cells. Claustrophobic!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
Excellent film that was not widely advertised. I only came across it on Amazon by accident. For anyone requiring further information on the Hunger Strike from a dramatic point of view, this is ideal.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I haven't had time to watch the film yet however I would like to rate the seller. I was delighted at how quickly the DVD arrived it was well packed and was obviously new as it is still in it's original packaging. I would certainly buy from this seller again if opportunity arose.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
A very good attempt to chronicle the Maze Prison H Block hunger strikes in Northern Ireland in 1981. I feel that the ending of the film was a bit rushed and could have been expounded on a little further, but no matter - the film itself is an interesting attempt to convey the reality of the hunger strikes, disgusting prison officer behaviour and the death of Bobby Sands MP and his republican friends, during the time of The Troubles. Clearly not one of Margaret Thatcher's finest hours in politics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Very good, excellent film about Northern Ireland political situation and republican prisoners. Brilliant portrayal of prisoners and atmosphere amongst them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
At last! A great account of life for Irish political prisoners. Nearly there with accuracy and disclosure of what it was like. Some good acting as well as some bad but better than the more recent film Hunger which although shows accurately the violent manner they were treated and no wash policy is actually a pretty poor protrayal of Bobby Sands.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
This is an excellent film about prisoners wanting to wear their own clothes in prison and to be recognised as political prisoners - well worth watching. Very realistic and true to the times in which this occurred. (Based on a true story.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
An essential DVD ,of a dark side of British history which went on in my life time. Very worrying, but very well done
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Gruelling account of what can happen when governments decide to take a stand and don't percieve the need for a get out plan. Very sad era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
I found this movie a bit disappointing, but I'm not sure why. Maybe a bit too unrealistic, didn't quite grip me. I expect IRA and the troubles movies to be intense but this was a bit superficial. It did make me think however. I wondered if the then Prime Minister's determination not to recognise political status for the H-Block prisoners was really an own goal. If she had accepted that status and accepted that a guerilla war had been declared on the UK then presumably it would have been legitimate to send the SAS to the island and assassinate every member of the IRA that they knew the identity of without worrying about the rule of law as it would have been war and not murder. Hmm.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.00
£4.00
£5.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)