Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
24
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Challenge for Africa
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


on 30 December 2014
An interesting, well-constructed treatise on the problems and suggested solutions which face Africa today. Maathai pulls no punches. She blames the missionaries and colonialism for a large part of Africa's ills which, considering over fifty years has passed since most African countries gained their independence, seems harsh.
But she also roundly castigates current corruption in leadership. Everybody bemoans this rampant disease which is so obvious in Africa. But nobody is willing or capable of doing anything about it. Will they ever?
The solutions, insists the Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, lies in protecting and preserving the environment, emancipating women, and working from the grassroots of African society up through country leadership to international politics. A valiant aim, and a well-deserved honour, for this is exactly what Maathai is working at.
African nations must develop their own cultures and find their own way as they learn from industrialised nations, picking out the attributes which suit Africa best. There is advantage in learning by others' mistakes, and there is always hope in Africa.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I read this complex book because it was written by someone I respect. May she rest in peace. The book covers a lot of topics in detail that affect Africa including its colonial past. There was not much that I didn't already know but I am glad that it was written by a Nobel prize winner, so that it is taken seriously.

From an African point of view, I agree with her points and solutions when it comes to political and economical issues facing Africa today. Good governance and self sustenance is the way forward, although one solution will not apply to all 54 countries. Having said that, I am still of the view that aide is very important in some sectors e.g. health.

If you are interested in African development, this book is for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
This woman changed the whole aspect on RETURNING nature to it's roots - so many have been busy denuding it which I was always against for many years. My only disapointment with this book, is that it doesn't have one photograph of the author which is so important as Wangari won a Nobel Peace Prize! I'll be honest, I went onto wikileaks to put some photographs of her in it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Fantastic - written by an African Nobel prize winner, clearly argued, broad in overview, says some very honest things, but never in a simplistic way. Unlike any other "problem of aid" books, the author speaks pragmatically, yet with passion and hope, and with the authority and insight of someone born in the continent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
for a first time reader on African politics this would be a great place to start, or if you need a refresher then its great too. The format of most chapters is to spend 17 pages addressing the many problems of the particular topic, which have been stated many times before, then 1 or two pages suggesting policy recommendations. The balance was not quite right therefore but the book was interesting none the less.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Wangari has the problems in Africa nailed, but her ideas on the solutions focus on the institution that are manifestly weak. Surely there needs to be more attention given to removing criminals from Leadership positions rather than hoping for the best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
The book becomes a little repetitive. The first half expounds Wangari Maathai's theory sufficiently. Some sound ideas about development.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
This book is so so so brilliant - Only God knows why I hadn't read it earlier. Have even ordered copies for friends! An excellent book.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
This book covers well the various issues facing Africa today, in particular corruption and ethnic conflict. Since the author is Kenyan, many of the case studies are on Kenya and I would have preferred a bit more variation, but this is not a massive problem. Definitely worth a read for those who want to know the reasons for why Africa is like it is today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)