Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 September 2012
I am not a Neil Young Officianado but I know a good album when I hear one - and this is stunning.

It was one of those nights when Young and Crazy Horse delivered the most storming of performances - perhaps storming is the right word, as it pours with rain during the show!

The set list is monumental - every song a classic, delivered with power, occasionally venom and bags of energy.

This is a side to Young that wasn't apparent on his early albums, but as a full on rock 'n' roll outfit, they are unbeatable at their best.

This has to rank as one of the greatest live albums of all time, up there with the Allman bros at Fillmore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
I am not sure if this is the original or a recent copy but it's in pristine condition and I am very happy overall. The hole in the middle has been cut out by hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2001
There are few live albums of the last 3 decades that show such substance and style as Young's live tour de force. From the simple innocence of 'Sugar Mountain' and 'I Am A Child' to the raw power of 'Sedan Delivery' and 'Cortez' Young manages to encompass the entire folk-rock spectrum. The clever use of the stage announcements from Woodstock keep the audience believing in the moment and like Woodstock they are also witnessing something quite unique. Quite simply a must for any Neil Young fan and for anybody wishing to tread the long road through Young's back catalogue, this is as good a starting point as any
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
Live Rust and Rust Never Sleeps are both great albums, but there is something strange going on here.
All but two tracks on Rust Never Sleeps were recorded live; but you would hardly know it, as most of the sound of the audience was removed. It did however have a major impact and certainly revived Neil`s career.

Then you get Live Rust, which is all live with plenty of audience reaction, but includes four of the same tracks as Rust Never Sleeps. Not just the same songs but the exact same recordings. You do get plenty of Neil`s incendary guitar work, even if the version of Cortez the Killer isn`t the best out there.

So, which is better? Live Rust certainly has a better atmosphere and is virtually twice as long; but Rust Never Sleeps does have five unique tracks.

Personally I would go for Live Rust first and then decide if it is worth buying Rust Never Sleeps for the sake of 20 unique minutes.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2002
Probably the definitive Neil Young recording - the only real competition is Decade which is afterall a complilation. Unlike Weld this showcases both the wild electric guitar and his softer accoustic side.
Crazy horse are simply one of the best live outfits ever - getting that 'tight but loose' balance just right, the only thing better than this is seeing them live.
If you are not sure here where to start in his vast back catalogue this is the place to start. But be prepared to spend lots more on buying the original albums these tracks come from.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2005
shame that Cortez The Killer has been edited down on the CD release. I first owned this album in 1979 on cassette and the intro to Cortez (the best bit of this particular track) was much longer - guess they had to cut something down to squeeze it onto a single CD. Good album though, with four consecutive classics - Powderfinger, Cortez The Killer, Cinnamon Girl, and Like A Hurricane (which is just gorgeous).
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
I'll keep it brief:

Acoustic songs connect well with the audience and convey true passion; electric tracks move everything in to a whole new dimension.

Neil Young is seriously underrated as a guitarist. Great slabs of massively overloaded sound and distortion yet somehow he manages to hold it together and keep the songs melodic and lyrical, despite the rush from the power chords. It's hard to explain how those speakers can survive when the raw power of his guitar is unleashed. It's almost out of control, on the edge but still contained, like a caged animal straining to break free. Cortez the Killer is the highlight for me with Neil's electric guitar set on full stun meandering through an incredible tune but to be honest none of the songs on this album disappoint. As a live album this sets the bench mark that all others should strive to reach.

My only complaint...why couldn't I have been in the audience when this was recorded?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2000
Truly magnificent! Neil Young at his live best. The mellow Sugar Mountain and the howling guitar of Cortez the Killer combine to give the listener a good range of Young's material. Like a Hurricane is particularly emotive. As he launches into Needle and the Damage Done, he must have thanked the guy upstairs as the thunder and the rain bursts the sky. I bet the audience were all lighting up a big green cone at the time too!
Power
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
Live Rust is a live album by Neil Young & Crazy Horse, recorded during his fall 1978 Rust Never Sleeps tour. The show at the Cow Palace, San Francisco was filmed and was the performance used in the concert film, Rust Never Sleeps, however the album Live Rust was composed of performances recorded at the Cow Palace and other venues during the tour and was released in 1979.

Also included are some stage announcements from Woodstock and Jimi Hendrix' version of the "Star Spangled Banner" is used as the album's outro. Neil Young directed (under his directorial pseudonym "Bernard Shakey") a film of this show, called Rust Never Sleeps.

The CD version of the album was slightly edited so as to fit on a single compact disc, which were limited to 74 minutes at the time this album was first issued on CD. Noticeably missing is part of the guitar solo from "Cortez the Killer."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
I don't usually like live albums, but 'Live Rust ' is different. It's a sprawling epic and a good summary of Neil Youngs songbook up until '78. It also sounds incredible, the acoustic songs are played on a twelve string guitar which gives them a dreamy melancholy feel especially the openers ' Sugar mountain' and ' I am a child', the electric songs sound massive, with a metal , almost psychedelic ring to them, best examples being a towering, huge version of 'Cinnamon Girl'. I also think some of the songs are better than the original studio takes, kick arse 'When you dance' and 'The Loner', being good examples, I have the vinyl of the album so I get the uncut 'Cortez' which also surpasses the original, if you have never heard Neil Young and are looking for a place to start try 'Live Rust', you can't go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)