Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2013
I first watched this on Film 4 several days, if not a week or more after it was first transmitted. One has a DVD recordable. However like most films shown on the box, it was necessary to edit out the ads and on top of that it was almost certainly hacked by the censer. As a result when I transferred it to DVD ram I made a note to get my hands on a DVD or Blu-ray version as and when because I rated this as an exceptional thriller.

I don't want to give the storyline away too much spoiling it for others who have not watched it, all I will say is that we have something of a mid level gang boss (Miguel Ferrer), who kills a contact of a bigger higher level crime lord (Harvey Keitel). As a direct result the big fish, tries to bully the smaller fish into coughing up a serious amount of money as compensation. Naturally the smaller fish does not take too kindly to being bullied. However and more importantly, he becomes set on revenge when he discovers that his wife has been butchered. With the aid of his only remaining lackey (Cuba Gooding, Jr.), we end up with something of a bloodbath on our hands.

It's a nice tight thriller that is well directed in a realistic fashion by Franck Khalfoun. Whom I've never heard of before. In any event it's worth the highest rating possible that I can bestow upon it. Further I strongly recommended this film to others, especially if you happen the like violent gangster movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
This is one of the better Cuba Gooding Jr movies that went DTV. A violent crime drama that benefits from a good cast (Miguel Ferrer and Harvey Keitel) and movies along at a fast pace. Some of the dialogue suggests the screenwriter is a fan of Tarantino. Production values are good - it could pass for a theatrical release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
'Wrong Turn at Tahoe' is a gangster revenge film that released Direct-to-DVD in 2009. On its release, the movie has went unnoticed.

The movie tells the story of Joshua (Cuba Gooding Jr.) who is the right-hand man of Vincent (Miguel Ferrer), a small time crime boss. After an incident, Joshua and Vincent get mixed up with a dreaded mob boss (Harvey Keitel) resulting in both parties seeking revenge.

The movie starts of a bit slow but the momentum increases as it progresses with action and violence. The movie has some interesting scenes, which are let down by the predictable and abrupt outcomes. The poor screenplay succeeds in killing of any tension and excitement. The climax is alright as it has an unexpected twist.

I rented this movie without knowing much about it and thought it would be surprisingly good as it starred Harvey Keitel and Cuba Gooding Jr. On watching it, I was mainly bored as the movie took a good hour before it started to concentrate on the main revenge plot. The makers tried too hard to make a competent movie but fail as this ends up being a mish mish of sub-plots.

The performances of all the actors are up to the mark but the premise does not do justice to them. Cuba Gooding Jr. and Miguel Ferrer are both quite good. Cuba's performance is a good one after a long time. Harvey Keitel is strictly average.

The direction provided by Quentin Tarantino wannabe, Franck Khalfoun is poor and directionless. He tries to borrow from films like 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'Pulp Fiction'. The production values are quite good for a Direct-to-DVD release.

'Wrong Turn at Tahoe' is a turn that you shouldn't take.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Very enjoyable mob film with some fine acting from all involved. I have always considered Miguel Ferrer underused so very nice to see him in a starring role. Very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Ferret and Gooding were great together. Never saw Ferrer play a bad guy! The bad guys were all good and it was an action packed good movie to the end. Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
Didn't know what to expect when 1st viewed on tv. pleasantly surprised, good thriller, bit gory but OK. Harvey Keitel has great screen presence, I liked it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
very good film, with very good actors!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
great film, fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
SUPER
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.41
£4.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)