Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 30 September 2012
after such a long time i finally got this album
and to be honest i have heard better i think the buggles tried to be too clever here
there wasnt the raw edge they had with the 1st album
but it was ok some good tracks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2001
Originally released in 1982, 'Adventures In Modern Recording' was recorded after Trevor Horn and Geoff Downes period with progressive rock supergroup Yes. Indeed, one track from this album, 'I Am A Camera', had already appeared in a very different form on the 1980 Yes album 'Drama' under the title 'Into The Lens'
'Adventures...' contains eight well written, well produced pop songs with the occasional pomp-rock flourish and should appeal to fans of the Buggles first album or anyone who admires Trevor Horn's excellent production work or the sweeping keyboard style of Geoff Downes that graced Yes and later Asia.
This CD contains three bonus tracks not on the original album 'Fade Away' (originally flip side to 'I Am A Camera' and 'On TV'), 'Blue Nylon' (originally flipside to 'Adventures In Modern Recording') and the extended 12" version of 'I Am A Camera'.
Also, if you're old enough to have bought the orginal album first time around - and I'm afraid I am - then it's worth pointing out that the version of 'Rainbow Warrior' on this CD is slightly different to the vinyl version and the 'reprise' to 'Adventures In Modern Recording' at the end of the album is slightly longer as, unlike it's vinyl counterpart, it does not fade out.
A fine adventure into eighties pop and well worth investigating!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2010
Everyone remembers "Video Killed The Radio Star", some people may even remember follow up singles "The Plastic Age" (a better record than "Video" IMO), "Elstree" and "Clean Clean". Hardly anyone remembers this album, or got to hear it the first time round in 1981. Here is an opportunity to rectify that.

"Adventures In Modern Recording" sounds simply superb. The mastering has brought this collection to life, to the point where it feels like a brand new contemporary album. Every track sounds incredibly fresh and new, with an audible depth I'd not heard before on the original vinyl or 90s CD issues. "Vermillion Sands", "Inner City" and "Lenny" are sonic masterpieces, whilst the title track and "On TV" in particular race along with crisp technopop clarity and rhythm. "I Am A Camera" is the Buggles hit that never was, and is featured in 7" and 12" form.

The slip case is beautiful. The artwork informative, and with TEN(!) bonus tracks not on the original album it's incredible value for money. For Yes fans, the presence of parts one and two of "We Can Fly From Here" probably make it essential, and The Buggles demo of "Videotheque" (a 1982 hit Trevor went on to produce for Dollar) is a revelation to hear.

Incredible.
33 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2013
for remember youth, party's, new wave music , camping , sleeping outside in the beach, technology, great synths,news sounds, madness, beers, redwine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2014
Breathtaking, definately a state of the arts, and audiophile production sound and techniques album for 81'. Trevor started recording this early 81. The videotheque demo structure is lightyears ahead for early 81' to have been privvy to all the new sample play back technologys, so very early on, before we were really getting to hear it commercially, to me, is astounding, i am the fortunate owner of a fairlight cmi sampling/synthesizer, and to me its quite amazing to hear vry vry early sampled sounds that exist on my sound library disks, used on this album and one or two of the xtra traks like dion etc. The man was way ahead, and he knew how to properly utilise this tech and marry it to good melody'd music and lyrics. It often gets quite written out of history about Dollar (therese bazaar and david van day) being his first commercial stepping out, and what they achieved is also stunning, pop as it really should be, colourful, textured, drummy and punchy, artistic, and with meaning. I don't feel this album is overlooked, 27 of us (so far) have left our opinions, so, we ARE hearing it, and i reakly like it, even love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2010
Along with (too) many others, I missed this album the first time round and have been wanting to hear it for years. I have to say, that the very long wait, has definitely been worth it! If you loved their first effort, this is a must have. What makes it all the more interesting, is that with the album originally being released shortly after their other 'adventure' with Yes, there are elements of progressive rock here (two of the bonus tracks were actually written for Yes). Production is pristine, as you would expect from Trevor Horn, and all the tracks really sparkle. Outstanding songs include the title track, Lenny, Vermillion Sands and, of course, I Am a Camera. I must also mention the bonus track, Dion, which is just magical! This is referred to as a 'demo', as are most of the bonus songs, but you'll have heard finished records that aren't as musically accomplished, or as well produced. Seriously, it is that good. It's true to say, that Geoff Downes only appears on four of the tracks, but don't let that put you off! Overall, a simply stunning piece of work, which continues where The Age of Plastic, left off. Listening to it only makes me wish the guys would get back together and make another album and given that next year, it will be thirty years since this great work was released, maybe the time is right for a third Buggles masterpiece? We can but hope...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2010
For anyone expecting another 'Plastic Age' like me - don't.
A real disappointment,best left in the 80's.
Sorry Trev/Geoff.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2010
I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw this had been re-released having only recently made an MP3 version of the vinyl album I bought when it was first released.

If I'm being honest, I bought the album on the strength of the cover, hardly a means to make an in depth decision of whether to buy a record, but the cover suggested modernity, panache and a lot of adventure which matched the title.

The songs have never disappointed right since the first play. Songs like Vermillion Sands, which bound off into mad places, Beatnik and one of my favourites, Rainbow Warrior are expansive 'clever' tracks which pushed the boundaries of production and the use of synths way back when.

OK, so there's no Clean Clean or Video, but these are great songs that I believe stand the rest of time and still work today. A very welcome return.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2010
I bought this on vinyl when first released in 1981, production is typical of Trevor Horn, dynamic, clear and poppy! Tracks that grab you are I am a Camera, Vamillion Sands, On T.V. the 12 inch version of I am a camera sounds like Vinyl on this cd wth clicks and pops! but the rest of tacks are of B sides of the singles and demo versions. I can see why bands wanted Trevor Horn on board for producing their albums as the sound is like a "wall of sound" a futuristic Phil Spector of the 80's and beyond. Lets not forget this album is a duo effort wth Geoff Downes who is also at the helm and went on to have sucess with Asia."Adventures" is an Underated album during its initial release, i dont think it even charted much at the time, buy the album it deserves to be on cd at long last!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2010
Having had both of the previous Japanese CD releases, I was prepared to purchase this album yet again for the bonus material. As has happened far too many times, especially in recent years, I have to hold on to two issues of this CD. This is because regardless of the following false claim; "Beautifully remastered from original master tapes for pristine sound quality", the CD has not been remastered from the original tapes. Track 1-12 were provided in compressed MP3 form from that last Japanese issued CD to the person doing the "remastering". This is also confirmed by the fact that track 10-12 are vinyl rips, as they were on the Japanese CD. The compression is visible in any basic audio program that displays a spectral view of the waveform. There are only a few tracks on this CD actually from master tapes, and uncompressed. If you read the CD credits, you will see that only two songs are mentioned as being pulled from tapes. Being that there have been way too many poor quality CD masters being produced lately, I'm going to post 1 star reviews for each one until these lousy companies, both indie and major, learn to stop releasing CD's that are vinyl rips, compressed MP3 sources, or blown so darn loud that they are unlistenable due to having most of the sonics squashed out in favor of volume. I'm obviously a fan of this album, but not a fan of how poorly it's been "remastered". I'm sure it sounds fine to most of you, but that mindset has done nothing but encourage these labels to continue substandard reissues. As an audiophile, I'm dead tired of it.
33 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)