Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2002
I am not going to write an elaborate 10,000 word review here; if I wanted to explain the brilliance of this album it would take even more than that, I'll wager.
Buy this album. Do it now. It doesn't matter what kind of music you like. Some people would call this "progressive" but just forget that. In fact, clear your mind and just listen because this album will blow you away irrespective of what music you like.
I have about 200 discs in my collection (a good deal of them progressive) and this is probably the best album I have ever heard.
So how is this album so good? Simple: emotion! What so many bands lack. We're not talking a forced power ballad here and there or an occasional moment of beauty; every second of this music drips with emotion. A lot of this is due to singer/songwriter/guitarist/lyricist/artist Daniel Gildenlow and his mind-blowing command of the vocal chords. Trust me, never have you heard a person with such range. Range of both notes he can hit and ways of hitting them. On this CD you will hear percussive, gutteral "scat" vocals; growls, roars, screams; whispers, sighs; talking, rap, rap metal; super-high "true range" vocals, falsetto and about a million more vocal styles and everything in between.
You may be thinking: with so many styles won't the album sound disjointed and discombobulated? That's the beauty of it: all the songs flow brilliantly and cohesively and all the transitions are logical and seamless. You will be sucked in from the very opening seconds of this album.
You haven't heard music like this before. Buy this album, buy all the other PoS albums and snap up every future release, because everything they touch seems to turn to gold; each album is better than the last and they can do no wrong. This release (or those before it) are not lucky "once in a lifetime" brilliant albums, the kind where the musicans won't reach that peak again; instead, the band seem to have set a trend where producing impossibily brilliant music at the tip of a hat is the norm.
Does all this sound hard to believe? Just buy the albums, see what all the fuss is about and join the PoS bandwagon.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2003
Being a huge fan of the flower kings, I thought it was time to search for equally superb bands on the inside out music label. After reading the reviews about this group on amazon, I decided to chance my arm and buy this cd. I have to admit that I couldn't have made a better gamble if I tried, especially since I have never even heard of this group. This group certainly can't be compared to the flower kings, the only comparison is they are both Swedish. Pain of Salvation are a much heavier prog rock outfit and on Remedy Lane they take the listener through a roller coaster ride of emotion. This group are able to mix up many styles of rock/metal with simplicity and ease and it proves to be an absolutely essential hour of music, whatever the genre of rock you prefer to listen to, there will definitely be something here for you. There are obvious musical influences to be found on Remedy Lane, ranging from an industrial sound, hard metal, a dream theater 'awake' sound. Such is the versatility of the vocalist on this cd, I am reminded of Steve Perry, Roger Miret and a little touch of marillion's original crooner, but don't let this put you off. Pain of Salvation are very original. There are so many highlights to this disc, my favourites being the instrumental 'dryad of the woods' the power ballad 'undertow' and 'second love'.
If you are like me, always looking for new material to sink your teeth into, then I wholeheartedly recommend you buy this cd as soon as possible, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2002
I advise any music fan who is interested in hearing somthing a little different to purchase this amazing album. I have to admit the first time I heard them was when I went up to London the see Dream Theater and Pain of Salvation were the support act.They blew me away! The vocals and harmonies are truely spectacular and perfectly compliment the tight drumming and truely original guitar playing.
So before you listen to this forget everything you already know and open your mind to something fresh and inspiring. Every track is great and the whole piece flows wonderfully.
Of course, as with all the best music, This will take a few listens to. But hey, that's the great thing about progressive rock - exploration and experimentation.
Just buy the thing if you don't believe me..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 June 2006
With `Remedy Lane', Pain of Salvation discarded doubts and worries that they could not make another album as good as `The Perfect Element'. As with many others, I would have enjoyed a second part to `The Perfect Element', but in some ways a new direction keeps the music fresh and interesting. With such a unique sound in the first place it would be a shame for the band to simply re-create a winning formula.

While the general sound to the album is undeniably PoS, with Gildenlow's vocals still as diverse and emotional as ever and the unique mix-matching of prog sub-genres, `Remedy Lane' is a different direction for the band, one focusing much more on the emotions created by music as opposed to a concept. This is not to say Gildenlow has deserted the concept, there is one dealing with human relationships and the feelings attached to it, but it is much looser when compared to the weighted concepts of `The Perfect Element' and especially the latest release `Be'. With less emphasis on concepts PoS come up with arguably their finest array of musicianship, matching the seemingly unmatchable exhibit of TPE.

The album is split into three main chapters, with the moody `Of Two Beginnings' working as an introduction. Chapter one includes some of PoS finest work to date, and is possibly my favourite of the three chapters (although that does change all too often). `Ending Theme' is a typical tragic PoS song, Gildenlow's vocal delivery is superb here, with a real sense of frustration and anguish as he bursts out the chorus lines. `Fandango' is a great example of what makes PoS so unique and compelling, for anyone new to the band, I'd check this out, after a few listens the odd melody and time changes really work, one of the `quirkier' songs of the album. `A Trace of Blood' is simply stunning, at just over 8 minutes it's very progressive in style and structure, recalling the kind of writing of the old prog gods such as Rush and Yes. Despite sounding relatively `upbeat', the lyrics deal with a stillborn child, adding yet another emotional dimension.

Chapter two contains one of my favourite PoS ballads, `Undertow' is a melancholic piece full of emotional guitar playing and of course a huge vocal delivery by Gildenlow to cap it off. `Rope Ends', like `A Trace of Blood' is hard hitting in the lyric and music department and is the heaviest song on the album, full of disorientating guitar and drum arrangements, a fine jazz middle section and some poignant lyrics on considering suicide.

Chapter three for me has two extremely fine moments, the first coming in the infectious `Waking Every God' which has a superb chorus with great vocal harmonising. The closing track is at times my favourite, twisting and turning through its 10 minute duration, showcasing some fine melancholic passages and great hard/soft contrasts.

For anyone looking for something new and fresh in their progressive collection, this is certainly worth a try. For those already familiar with PoS, just not this album, what are you waiting for honey?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2002
Remedy Lane contains a strange and compelling collection of some of the most truly progressive rock songs I've heard for a long while. Jumping from Tool to Dream Theater to goodness knows what, the album contains a fairly rich (if often dark hued) sonic palette and features an ambitious array of tempos and styles. Its not always easy listening, but at its best it has the power to affect which is so often missing from the work of prog bands who seem to focus on technique over everything else.
The standout track for me is 'A Trace of Blood', a great but very sad song.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2002
While I don't agree with your other reviewer that Dream Theater has lost any of its edge, I agree that this is music in the same approximate ball park. The difference is that Pain of Salvation apparently see no boundries at all. The are equally at home with heavy progressive metal and an almost folky style. The songs are brilliant, adventurous emotional and clever. The playing is stunning on occasions.
This is an album that improves with every listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
Although it's not quite up to the wondrous heights of their masterwork, Perfect Element, this release from Swedish band Pain of Salvation comes pretty close - making it a key album of the modern era. And you don't need to be a metal fan to appreciate it... I came to POS via the melodic prog of Spocks Beard, Dream Theater and Transatlantic - but the music in this album is so beautiful, powerful and affecting that it has given me new insights into all that metal can be.

For its first eight tracks, Remedy Lane is almost the equal of Perfect Element. Its vast collage of melodies, riffs and motifs slowly build into the most sublime themes, the arrangements, musicianship and vocals are exceptional. I'm not so sure about the instrumental interval that follows - and the final sections are surprisingly understated - but they are very beautiful and give Remedy Lane its distinct identity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
Pain Of Salvation's 4th installment:- 2002's opus of 'Remedy Lane' remains the best album of this thought provoking and key progressive rock/metal band in my opinion. Of Course, the music itself is a expertly distilled concoction of a hard rock template with an array of sounds and nuances from across the musical spectrum. The majority of these styles come as shades of colour which tend to come and go with frequency, hardly any of these numbers are straight down the line formulas; the work here is unpredictable, complex and WILL take a significant amount of time to digest. Casual music fans may find this too much of an ask but perserverance is a 'just reward and most definitely worth it.

The first real five minute opener of "Ending Theme" is the easiest song to introduce the album, and the mood and atmosphere of the opening song is just perfect. From here, there are several other highlights within the album also:- including the eight minute incubus of "A Trace Of blood, Undertow, Dryad Of The Woods; and the two finest compositions of the ballad of "Second Love and the progressive magnum of "Beyond The Pale". The musicianship and songwriting standard of the album is one of the finest I have heard in the progressive metal genre, and you really do have to enjoy the intracacies and unusual song constructions to fully appreciate this set.

Daniel Gildenlow, together with this line up' has clearly created one of the best progressive rock/metal albums of all time. The melodies, the scope of the sound, and the height of the vocals are simply magic to behold. In pursuit of unexplored ground, Pain Of Salvation leave no stone unturned. The result is a truly fantastic slice of supreme craftmanship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2016
What can anyone say that it hasn't been said for this masterpiece?

It is a re-release that actually sounds maybe better than the original release, remixing is very good.

But the most important is the music in this album which is phenomenal! This was a groundbreaking album when it released, some 12 years ago, or so, and it remains one of the most distinctive progressive metal albums of all times!

There are songs that really tear your soul apart, arrangements that can blow your mind, while keeping musicality approachable, emotional moments that can bring you down to tears.

This is not just a great music album, this is art at its finest, and a deep dark look into the composers soul...

You have to hear it to get it, and this is well spent money! Do yourself a favor and buy it if you haven't heard it yet.

I will do myself the favor of re-buying it (I own the original) just to hear the refined details and get the live disc as well...

What a masterpiece...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
Quite simply one of the most innovative and progressive bands around, Pain of Salvation have continued to produce quality music throughout and long and vastly under rated career. This is one of their earlier works, but there is no discernible drop in quality; in fact this is a masterpiece from start to finish. Crushing riffs, moments of utter tenderness and reflection, comnbined with intelligent lyrics asking highly relevant questions all go to make a landmark album from a classic band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£24.19
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)