Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
81
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£44.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2002
Any compilation of recordings from rock icons will have detractors; but for the youngsters of today, this collection gives a flavour of the three era's that he dominated(?), with the possible exception of The Beatles! It may not produce the same buzz in todays youngsters as it did when we first heard it, but Presley started the whole thing. Back in the fifties, we had nothing that turned us on. Then along came Elvis. This was so different to anything that "we" had heard before, it struck a nerve, lit a spark and opened up a new world of music for teenagers. Presley sang black music and brought it to an audience that had never heard it, he mixed blues and rockabilly styles to help create Rock n Roll. We began to appreciate others like Chuck Berry, Howlin' Wolf and Buddy Holly, now there's a few names to think about. No wonder people like John Lennon became enthused by Rock 'n' Roll. Yes he IS the King! Long live the King. A great compilation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2000
Class music and interpretations from a legend. His range and timbre touch people's hearts, and the diversity of styles is amazing.The early "movies" tracks are forgivably cheesy, but still sung with energy and soul-the seventies' ballads and soulful tunes are pure vocal genius.At times, you feel he wants to break into raunchy "boogie woogie" style singing, like "Way Down", at others, you can almost hear the raw emotion behind the words, like "Suspicious Minds". Undeniably breath-taking at all times.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Brilliant album found songs I'd never heard before and liked.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2002
The fabulous CD captures some of the most splendid and electrifying music ever made.
From That's Alright in 1954 to Way Down in 1977, this double CD is great for fans and non-fans alike; with loads of #1 hits and legendary songs that changed the face of popular music forever.
This CD will teach any music fans who know little about the King, some valuable lessons; like how good his final work such as Moody Blue and the stunning Way Down are. Or, check the liner notes for the songs that he co-wrote....Love Me Tender, Heartbreak Hotel, Don't Be Cruel; or perhaps a first taste of the sensational, legendary most important recordings of all time from the Sun sessions.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
Just another Presley compilation ? Not quite... Together on this double CD are 50 tracks from the most influential and creative recording artist of all time.
Starting with 'That's All Right Mama' recorded by a 19 year old unknown singer at the legendary Sun Studio in Memphis in 1954 right through to 'Way Down' recorded by a 42 year old legend at home in Graceland !
Included in this collection are Presley's 17 number one UK singles. It is a showcase of a musical talent that transcended all tastes and styles.
Everything is here - from the gutsy rock and roll of 'Hound Dog', the New Orleans blues of 'Trouble', the semi-operatic 'It's Now Or Never' (Presley's biggest record selling over 20 million copies), the religious hymn 'Crying In The chapel', the country and western 'Guitar Man' right through to his later big ballad hits such as 'The Wonder Of You' which is a live recording from his Las Vegas years.
Also included is the 'message song' recorded by Presley for his '68 Comeback Special - 'If I Can Dream'.
This collection does not pretend to be the definitive Presley collection - there are the 50's, 60's and 70's Masters box sets if you want that. however, if you are looking for a taste of the best of the king it is here.
Buy It.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
not my cup of tea but chosedn for xmas present so will probably do as long as it works when played who cares
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is such a great album and the best place to start for those new to Elvis (is there anyone new to Elvis anymore!) It has a wide selection of tracks that is truly representative of his output and fairly decent packaging. His voice shines through on every track and you can see how his style developed as the album progresses. This is great listening, pure and simple!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
I managed to get this cd about a year ago on here from a third party seller at a good price. Up until then i didn't have any of Presley's music in my collection (scandalous i know).

This hits collection from 2000 spans his whole career from his debut recording as an 19 year old, That's All Right to his final single released while he was still alive, Moody Blue and the subsequent posthumous release Way Down.

Everything here is Top Class and the live version included of The Wonder of You (from 1970 i think) demonstrates Presley's supreme ability as a stage performer. Ok we all know his health deteroiated as the 70's progessed but his unique voice remained to the end.

Everyone will have their personal favourites (Maries The Name (His Latest Flame)) gets repeated plays on my hi-fi, such a catchy little song but the whole 2 disc set is memorable.

Since purchasing this i have bought a few of his original studio albums, Elvis, Elvis Presley, From Elvis In Memphis and Promised Land. I didn't realise just how much brilliant stuff he'd done.

The 50 Greatest Hits is a thoroughly enjoyable overview of his enduring musical legacy.

Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A five-star Elvis compilation. I read a couple of reviews and this was recommended as being the best two disc compilation of the great man's work. I don't think it's currently available new, but my second-hand copy from the Amazon marketplace (Zoverstocks) was as good as new and arrived quickly. I had another compilation in the past (that I've misplaced) and there are certainly some fantastic tracks that appear on these discs that were not on my original collection. Of course all the classics are here: from Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog and Jailhouse Rock to I Can Dream, Suspicious Minds, Always on My Mind and The Wonder Of You. There are some live tracks on the second disc of simply astounding quality - Elvis's vocals and the sound of the orchestra on I Just Can't Help Believin'... well it just floors me. The only shortcoming is that there are basically no liner notes. There's a couple of attractively presented quotes by Bruce Springsteen and John Lennon and the track listing but that's it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Rubbish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.15

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)