Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Live at Woodstock [DVD] [2010]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£11.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 April 2010
This Blu Ray features the Historic 1969 Woodstock concert in 1080i, with a choice of soundtracks between a 5.1 soundtrack mixed by Eddie Kramer in DTS HD Master stereo or a Stereo soundtrack in Dolby Digital.
Hendrix plays a pretty lengthy set, consisting of material from all three Experience albums, some Band Of Gypsies material and new originals that wouldn't be released until after his death.

The Track listing is `Message To Love,' 'Spanish Castle Magic,' 'Red House,' 'Lover Man,'`Foxey Lady,' 'Jam Back at the House,' 'Izabella,' 'Fire,' 'Voodoo Child (Slight Return)' `Star Spangled Banner,' `Purple Haze,' 'Woodstock Improv,' 'Villanova Junction,' and 'Hey Joe,'

The Camera work is mostly fine, the editing is similarly good, the main complaint that could be leveled is that the film concentrates very much on Jimi but it would be silly to expect anything else.
The sound is very good, with fewer feedback issues than other Hendrix films and a generally good mix. Sometimes Jimi's vocals are difficult to hear but that is usually just because he strayed to far from the mic, and the additional percussionists are mostly inaudible on the louder songs but otherwise the recording and mix are top notch.

This is the only concert featuring The expanded 'Gypsy Sun and Rainbows,' band with Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell, Band of Gypsies bassist Billy Cox, second guitarist Larry Lee and two additional percussionists, Juma Sultan and Jerry Velez. The performance is energetic, if a little loose. The band Jam songs out longer than their studio versions, compete for spaces to solo and sometimes go off on clashing tangents, Jimi can be seen giving his band mates dirty looks on several occasions when they mess up. Generally however, they nail it and deliver a charged, high quality show.

Bonus material includes the main documentary The Road To Woodstock, in 1080i, with 5.1 Stereo, a documentary which bookends the concert and features interviews at the time and interviews looking back with everyone involved from the bands to the organizers and features a lot of interesting footage
Other Bonuses include: 'Recording Woodstock,' - a short documentary with Eddie Kramer and 'Nashville Roots,' which is mostly about the extra guitarist Larry Lee.
Another major extra is `A Second Look,' which is the concert with alternative camera angles, bootleg amateur camera footage and an extra song, the excellent slow Blues number 'Hear My Train A Comin,'
The disc comes in a standard Blu Ray case with a cardboard sleeve around it and the set also features a booklet with pretty interesting linear notes.

In Summary, this is a Blu Ray features nice set of extras and two version of the historic Woodstock performance, which boasts an eclectic track listing and pretty decent sound and visuals.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2001
Brilliantly re-mastered from the original tapes of the festival, it really goes to show why Hendrix is reguarded as the most important guitar player and pioneer of all time. If like myself you missed the first ever Woodstock by many years then it is worth investing in as a reminder of how good live music and musical invention was back in the sixties, and if you can remeber it then its worth it as a back track to when fashion and personalities all came together in the summer of love. It sees Hendrix capsulate the crowd with ground braking guitar gymnastics and musical vibe, and who doesn't mention his appearance at Woodstock without mentioning his interpretation of the American national anthem. Rounding off it goes to show how much we miss his presence.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
WATCHING this classic guitarist---"alive", and in 5.1 stereo surround sound!---makes one wonder about WHAT IF... What if
Hendrix WAS a victim of murder as SOME say, or, what if he were STILL alive? Of course, thanks to his family, he will NEVER die.
The other members of HIS band [and others] are dying. OTHER guitar-magicians from the '60s are in their 70s. Most, in fact,
are dead. Jeff Beck and Eric Clapton are in their seventies. Jimi never REALLY died. He produced more music DEAD than alive.
Here, Jimi---with his Marshalls---is forever 27!
Ah! The humanity!... Jimi; Jim; Janis; Johnny; Kieth; Brian; Elvis; Otis; Mama; Papas... What a concert there IS in The Great Beyond!
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2002
No extra features to speak of. Half of the concert has been left out and there are no interviews or backstage footage of the "real Jimi", but what you do get is the opportunity to witness a portion of the GREATEST LIVE PERFORMANCE BY ANY ARTIST - EVER!
The imagery is legendary. Hendrix with his blonde strat and pink bandana. The crowd of hippys all strung out on acid. The experimental 'Band of Gipsys' seem shy and unorganised as they walk onstage, but as the film cuts to their performance of 'Fire' it's clear that Hendrix is in no mood to let his new band flop and gives on of his finest perfomances.
Any self-respecting Hendrix fan will already own the CD of Live at Woodstock, but as a guitarist myself I couldn't help but wanting to actually SEE how Jimi made his ax sound like that and this film has better footage and sound than the cuts from Woodstock in other films.
It doesn't matter that the whole performance isn't featured here. In true rock'n'roll style it leaves you screaming for more, and sends shivers down your spine every time you watch it. For me Hendrix's Woodstock performance contains the definitive versions of all the songs he played. All are extended and warped far beyond any album versions.
When Jimi roars through Voodoo child and then tears into 'Star spangled banner' and unleashes 'Purple Haze' THEN just keeps on going (!!!) you will see what I mean. The CD really doesn't do this concert justice. To get the whole picture you have to watch this film. BUY IT NOW!
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
this was Jimi at his best, great to have the full gig he did at Woodstock. A master at work, still no one comes close. The Star Spangled Banner is beautiful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Great concert by a legendary guitarist. Shame not everbody at the event was there when he performed but they can watch it now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 May 2010
I grew up in the Woodstock era and was actually stationed in nearby West Point after my Viet Nam tour. So this collection or documentary "The Road to Woodstock" directed by Bob Smeaton also holds a piece of me history.

I must say I almost did not watch this film as the front have was a packed with sound bites of people doing just what I did in the first paragraph of this review; they spent too much time telling how great they were and then some antidote about Jimi.

Hang in there you will be carried away. This is as close to live as you are going to get. Jimi is one of those performers that when let lose can perform rings around his formal recordings. Some times I think it is an acquired taste. I have to confess besides his adaptation of "Starspangled Banner" I was taken back more by "Hey Joe" written by Billy Roberts. Of course everyone has their favorites.

No mater how you look/listen to it this production deserves a place in your collection.

Electric Ladyland
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
If you're a Hendrix fan you will really want to watch this over and over. The pictures are a bit grainy due to the media used at the time but the sound is fine and the atmosphere is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
The same 'feature' as the VHS release I had in the early 90s and I loved and watched that countless times. As I say, it offers little more but it's nice to be able to see again and even it it's not IMO the best Hendrix footage out there (yes, it was filmed early morning etc) some of it never fails to blow my socks off! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)