Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2008
Another fantastic album by the greatest guitarist in the world, with the usual high-standard of backing by Hogan's Heroes including 'new kid on the block' Elio Pace, who also produced this album.

Albert's talents as both a great singer and amazing guitarist are very well demonstrated.

The slow ballads are executed with great tenderness and the cover of the Everly Brothers' 'Cryin in the Rain' is the best I've ever heard. 'Skip Rope Song' is hauntingly beautiful.

'On the Verge' and 'Two Step Too' are country music at it's best and 'Rad Gumbo' is hot, hot, hot!

The vocals of drummer Peter Baron are featured on two of the tracks - Pearl of the Quarter and I'll Never Get Over You. This guy's so talented!

With Gerry Hogan on pedal steel guitar and Brian Hodgson on bass/vocals this album is the best yet.

Check out Elio's own composition 'Can Your Grandpa Rock And Roll', with which they open their amazingly energetic live performance.

I would highly recommend this CD to all lovers of country-rock music and, if you can, go see them play live!

STONKING!
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
Albert Lee and Hogans Heroes? Absolutely great. They switch effortlessly between Country and Rock & Roll, the common thread being Alberts breathtaking "finger picking" style of guitar playing, a joy to listen to, and his equally accomplished vocals. Each member of Hogan's Heroes pulls his weight,a beautifully rehearsed and stylish outfit. There are no weak numbers on this album.
I saw the band play live in S. London earlier this year, a memorable night out, having myself discovered Albert after hearing him with Bill Wyman's band late one night on TV.
Give yourself a treat and buy this one.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2008
Another great album from Albert lee and Hogan's Heroes. I saw them live yesterday (03/09/08) performing most of these numbers and they were fantastic as usual. New boy Elio on keyboards (see earlier review) is possibly a little over the top, but it made a change not to have to hear Pete Wingfield play Floyd Cramer's 'On the Rebound' and 'Last Date' yet again! Something for everyone on this album - your collection isn't complete without it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
a very underrated british artist.. fantastic guitarist has backed just about all the stars.... can play every genre should be given more recognition... I have seen him and his band live... he is so good you can not tell the difference between live performance and studio recording.... I am going to add more of his albums to my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 March 2013
i'm a big fan of the playing of Albert Lee, so the excellence of this album came as no surprise. With excellent support from Hogan's Heroes, my favourite tracks are the upbeat / rock & roll numbers like "Can your Grandpa Rock & Roll Like This" "Leave My Woman Alone" and "Breathless" but there isn't a weak track on this album. Great playing and singing by one the world's great guitarists, this is an album everyone should own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
Yet another excellent album from Hogan's Heroes.A changed line-up(Pete Wingfield has vacated the keyboard slot),but the quality remains as high as ever!To quote a line from one of the tracks"It just gets easier!";-a reference to the fact that Albert and the boys are not slowing down as the years pass.Well worth a listen as the tracks cover a wide variety of styles and topics,all done to the highest standard.All the more remarkable when you consider that Albert,(and one or two other members of the band)are approaching,or have already reached,the free bus pass!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2008
If you've only recently discovered Albert Lee, this album is as good as any to give you an overview of the man's talent, which he has in spades. The songs range from Ray Charles' rhythm and blues; "Leave My Woman Alone", through Louis Jordan's "Barnyard Boogie" to the deep southern spiced "Rad Gumbo". All of them display Albert's superb guitar playing, his great vocal ability and, on a couple of tracks, some sublime piano. Overall, it's well worth the money. I'd also recommend catching him live, that's a real treat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2010
For many years I have known of the reputation of Albert Lee but I had never seriously listened to his music. With this album I was not disappointed and I finally appreciated the musicianship of this great guitarist and vocalist.
As a country music fan, I enjoyed every track and I shall look forward to buying more of his albums in the future
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
The wonderful Albert Lee at his supreme best, backed by superlative musicians in their own right - how much better can you get? I've been a Lee fan since the 70's and am at a loss to understand why he is so under-rated. If you enjoy brilliant guitar and piano work with well chosen songs this is for you. Enjoy and tell your friends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
My husabnd was delighted with this album and would certainly buy more should Albert Lee decide to do more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.49
£6.99
£7.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)