Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2012
Don't buy this edition (Amazon ref 1469971836, ISBN 9781469971834). It looks like a download from a royalty-free database, not even typeset, no Forward, nothing. It's not even clear who published it. Printed in the USA, and a complete rip-off.

I purchased this to give as a Christmas present, but I can't give something as shoddy as this.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Classic Wodehouse - excellent, really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Good little collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
I defy any reader not to enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Marvellous another special treat from Wodehouse
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Nothing cheers me up like Wodehouse's Jeeves stories, and Bertie's friend Bingo, who falls in love with every girl he meets, is one of my favourite characters.

This book centres on Bingo's various amours, from the socialist revolutionary, via the bun-shop girl to even the formidable Honoria Glossop. Luckily Bingo has Bertie to smooth the path of true love, with the help, of course, of Jeeves' superior brain power.

A particular highlight, for me, in this book is Jeeves' pickpocketing of Soapy Sid - the man's talents are never-ending, it seems! Wonderful stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 January 2016
This is a wonderful book made accessible to the listener as an audio book with the combined talents of, among others, Michael Hordern and Richard Briers, as Jeeves and Bertie respectively. Other actors join in to recreate the world of Bertie Wooster in a series of wonderful short stories - Bertie's friend Bingo Little falls in and out of love as rapidly as the change of the weather, Bertie's frightening Aunt Agatha schemes for Bertie to wed a suitable young woman - any suitable young woman!

As always, P G Wodehouse's writing never fails to raise a chuckle, and Michael Hordern as Jeeves and Richard Briers as Bertie Wooster are in totally top form. It's wonderful to hear these stories, which I have read so often since being introduced to the works of PGW by my father many years ago, presented so wonderfully. A cd set to treasure and to listen to again and again. If you are a fan of PG Wodehouse, you will need no further introduction - if you have not read or heard any of his works, you are missing out on a treat!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Now every PGW book comes with generic praise slapped on it from Ben Elton and Stephen Fry, you can forget that there is a decided slump in quality after the 2nd World war, notwithstanding a few stand-outs like Joy in the Morning & The Mating Season. The Inimitable Jeeves is early Jeeves, however, and is fresh and funny, mainly following the troubled love life of Bertie’s best pal, the over-susceptible Bingo Little, with a few settled tropes dealing with Wooster the fashion Victim (a cummerbund, socks and spats in this case all arouse his manservant’s cool displeasure). Best of all, however, is a story I’d completely forgotten, The Great Sermon Handicap, where, to pass the time in a rather sleepy country-house, manners of the turf are applied to various sermons delivered in the local village churches. A beautiful idea, hilariously recounted. And then there are evocative passages like the following, which perfectly capture something of the idyllic Neverland that Wodehouse created: ““There's something about evening service in a country church that makes a fellow feel drowsy and peaceful. Sort of end-of-a-perfect-day feeling. Old Heppenstall was up in the pulpit, and he has a kind of regular, bleating delivery that assists thought. They had left the door open, and the air was full of a mixed scent of trees and honeysuckle and mildew and villagers' Sunday clothes. As far as the eye could reach, you could see farmers propped up in restful attitudes, breathing heavily; and the children in the congregation who had fidgeted during the earlier part of the proceedings were now lying back in a surfeited sort of coma. The last rays of the setting sun shone through the stained-glass windows, birds were twittering in the trees, the women's dresses crackled gently in the stillness. Peaceful. That's what I'm driving at. I felt peaceful. Everybody felt peaceful.”
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
I bought this for my wife and she loved it. It is a book of short stories and her only criticism is that she wanted each one to last longer. I shall be buying more Jeeves books in future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
While some might see the carefree and idle lifestyle of Bertie Wooster as a bygone age it is surprising how familiar Wodehouse manages to put it over even almost ninety years on. The book seems a connected collection of short stories focussing on Bertie's troubles with his Aunt Agatha and an old school friend who is constantly falling in love.

Wodehouse's writing is easy to read and he manages to present Wooster in such a way that the reader can believe the character is something of an imbecile while the genius of the author still shines through.

The language is simple and avoids the trappings of modern comedy whole remaining amusing, though a little predictable in one or two places. There is no real over-arching plot and most tales are only a chapter or two long. In some places, the way that things from earlier episodes are re-capped makes it feel like each should be presented as a separate story as part of a series, whereas in others things that you would expect a reminder of are left unremarked upon.

Overall, it was an enjoyable quick read and escape, but I suspect reading too many of the Jeeves books in quick succession might soon get a little repetitive.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse