Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 October 2014
Thought the first two books where quiet boring in parts but this one kept me entertained through out. Liked the character development of paran and tool Spoiler. Ish......

Sad ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I thought it would be impossible to top the deadhouse gates, but I was wrong. Great characters and a great plot. if you get too attached to characters Erikson is not the author for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Excellent continuation of the saga. Situations and new characters are interesting and well up to the mark set in the first two books. Recommended reading for all science/fantasy fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Great book a fantastic fictional novel I read the first one and now I am on to book number 4 any one who wants a great fantasy setting that just pulls you in read this series of books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2002
A truely fantastic novel, perhaps it may seem daunting to many at nearly 1000 pages, but they seem to gly past all too quickly.
There are several factions (Onearm's host, Tist Andii, Caladran Brood) who have a seemingly solid aliance, but it is stife with problems. One holds a sword that must be destroyed, one a hammer that must never be used, and the malazians are stuck in the middle, destined to be caught in the middle.
There are a few new player's, the Master of the Deck, the crippled God, and some old Gods who are not what they once were. All are brought forth very vividly.
This is perhaps the one book in this genre that portals war to its utmost tragedy.
5 Stars.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
If you are thinking of buying this book then you must have enjoyed the first two,therefore take the plunge this is written in the same style and with the same detail as the others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Superbly written and draws the reader further into Erikson's world. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. I am hooked and thoroughly recommend to all fans of fantasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Book 3 in the series and now unputdownable.Fantastic imagination and so well written that the reader is there in the middle of the action.The battle scenes left me breathless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
I believe that i have never cried as much as i did at the end of this book. The ending was both sad and spectacular at the same time. Its a must read series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2002
There something about Steven Eriksons books that makes it seem different from any other sci-fi novel i've read. He seems to tackle the fantasy genre in a more original way than i have previously encountered. No heavy reliance on Lord Of the Rings here...
The story is told from the viewpoints of multiple-characters- the character list is absolutely huge, up there with Jordon or Martin.
I liked the fact that there is a huge amount of extremely powerful characters in the novel, a huge amount of different factions and a great veriety of different races and species.
Very well thought out. I would recommend it highly- and although i must admit i slightly prefer the trully epic sweep of Jordon, i also appreciate the more original writings of erikson.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse