Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
63
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2014
I'm a Rossi fan but this book has really widened my view of him... and not all for the good. Clearly he is an absolute star on and off the track but interestingly he did not come across as a very likeable bloke.

The reflections on Mike Hailwood's career and life are fantastic and this is one of the most balanced views of MotoGP that I have read. Excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
An interesting read and for that it receives four stars, the downside, for me is, the book contains absolutely no photographs, which, had it it would have lifted the book from 90% highly readable to 100% excellent...a regrettable oversight not including photographs... the one on the front cover is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
A fantastic insight into the thoughts, actions and behind the scenes shenanigans of some of the world's greatest motorcyclists. I had difficulty putting it down and although it flitted between timelines, it was easy to follow the threads. Well worth reading, whether a bike racing enthusiast or not.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Got this for the wife, she's a big fan of Valentino Rossi. This has kept her quiet for days, its been absolute bliss. The downside though is that I appear to have lost my kindle, but the sacrifice has been worth it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
A great insight into the world of bike racing , difficult to put down once started could read all day .....MjW
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
Standing alone, this book is brilliant, bringing the adrenalin of a mercurial sport right out onto the page. The scenarios change swiftly, almost from fortnight to fortnight in present day Moto GP, with riders falling like skittles from the top ranks to make way for rookies and returning has-beens alike. Broadbent has somehow managed to press the pause button allowing us a glimpse of the skills, risks, danger, daring, blood, terror, tragedy, and the power and the glory that are a normal part of life at 200 mph. The author also lays bare the brutal psychology of the sport and its effect on relationships and performance.
While I would highly recommend this well written, excellently paced book, I feel it should rather have been subtitled 'The Inside Story of Mike Hailwood and Moto GP'. Also, if you have read Valentino Rossi's book, watched 'Faster', watched a season of Moto GP and read the newspapers, you aren't going to find a lot of new information here.
But, unreservedly, a 5* read.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
This is the best book I have read about any motorsport, possibly any sport. It does not get bogged down in endless accounts of what we already know, but gives us the MotoGP riders in all their gory glory, warts and all, the crashes, insecurities, pranks, dreams and failures. I think the masterstroke is weaving Mike Hailwood's TT comeback into the text. That reads like a thriller rather than sports biog, and the similarities and differences with Rossi, a huge Hailwood fan, are enlightening. Maybe some photos would have added something, but this is a well-written, almost poetic, account of a sport, rather than giving us the usual wham-bam grease-monkey stuff. Brilliant.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
A deep, insightful read into the world of MotoGP. Whilst the book identifies itself as a book about Rossi it is so, so much more.

For those who like an easy read and want to get a biography of Rossi then look elsewhere. However, those who have a real interest in the sport and what makes the riders tick should settle down for the ride. This book looks deep inside the psyche of the racing, the risks, mentality, mortality and the inevitable hard partying which often goes with that. Initially the way in which the book switches between Rossi and Hailwood in alternate chapters seems hard to digest and a strange approach but as you get deeper into it the stories complement each other brilliantly and you can't wait to finish each chapter to get back to the other story. There's no doubt that Rick really knows what he's talking about and could easily have written 2 seperate books - one about Rossi and one about Hailwood. Personally I think the decision no to pad any of the story out and combine the 2 into 1 is a masterstroke.

Rick's writing style is factual and mature but rewards the reader and suits the content perfectly. One for the racing aficionado or those that like to THINK about the sport rather than just watch it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
I was given this book by a friend who shares my love of Moto GP. I found it an excellent read, although I would also agree that entwining the two stories feels a bit forced at times.

It primarily covers the period from the end of 2 strokes through the evolution of the 900 and 800cc Moto GP bikes and the trials and tribulations of the riders. It offered balanced view into the minds of the riders and their motivation. I was interested by the insights of the personality changes in Dani Pedrosa, Casey Stoner, Nicky Haden and Valentino. I'm also glad that somebody else recognises what I have felt for a long time, which is that Carl Fogerty is a blow hard braggart.

Recommended for anyone who wants greater insight into MotoGP and bike racing in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse