Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars
In Arabian Nights
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


on 21 March 2008
This tremendously well written book tells the story of the author's life in Morocco, which is used as the frame for the retelling of several great Arabian stories from Arabian Nights and other legend. Not only impossible to put down, this book also feels like a magical story book which sweeps you back in time through oriental history and fantasy.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Entrancing. A real taste of Morocco.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2008
This delightful book explores the ancient living tradition of storytelling that bridges East and West. Somehow this ancient oral skill seems to survive within contemporary Moroccan society at many more liberal levels of profoundity than we of the West can usually imagine. It is the contrast between the known and the unknown that Shah, like his father and grandfather, also both writers, so eloquently delivers to our minds. This is the work of a rare multi-culturalist, speaking to our hearts.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
A most entertaining,fascinating and absorbing read - one of those books that one looks forward to climbing into bed to read.
I completely immersed myself in Casablanca and in the authors family life, and feel that I have learnt a lot too about Morocco and its beliefs and manners.
I bought The Caliphs House at the same time and read them simultaneously as I couldnt get enough of the atmosphere that Tahir Shah creates.
The characters are so well formed that you feel that you would recognise them if you bumped into them on the street.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2009
This is a great book from Tahir Shah and I think his best book to date. It seems as if he's growning into his own shoes at last - and with such a prestigious heritage behind him he must have found it difficult to even find his own shoes! So I see him now in a new light and not just as his father's son (his father was Sayeed Idries Shah - the great Sufi writer and storyteller) but as someone struggling with his own weaknesses as we all are and being very honest in a very self-depracating way. So if anyone hasn't read anything of his before but has an interest in Self development and the link between this material world and the world of the mystical - then you will not be disappointed in this lovely, beautifully written magical book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
"A Caravan of Moroccan Dreams" is the subtitle of this extraordinary book. Tahir Shah was brought up to understand that, when his father is dead, it will be his responsibility to keep alive and pass on the teaching with which he has been endowed. He knows it was not his father's intention that he should simply regurgitate what was written and told to him. What was required was much more subtle and needed his own journey of discovery, through a state he calls "Morocco." He finds energy, wisdom and guidance in dreams, Sufi teaching stories, remembrance of time spent with his father and fragments of their conversations, as well as from the people he meets in everyday life. There are obstacles, like his own ambition, to be overcome; and qualities, like a sense of selflessness, to be cultivated before the baton can be passed on.
This is a liberating book, one that promotes creativity, at a time when neuroscientists are beginning to realise the limitations of Consciousness. It is enhanced by Michael Greer's map and the detailed, but ethereal, interior illustrations of Laetitia Bermejo.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
Impossible to put down, fascinaing, entertaining and beautifuly writen, this book is an absolute delight from start to finnish and I loved every page of it. I loved the previous book too, 'The Caliph's House' but this is in my opinion his best work so far and I'd reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys travelling, folk stories, and the human predicament of everyday life. I'm very much looking forward to reading TIMBUCTOO soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
Fascinating window into another culture. Tahir Shah is a dream of a writer - funny, wise, self-deprecating and with an acute sense of how to draw the reader along with him. This glimpse of the Eastern art of story-telling will make you want more, and his Teh Caliph's House is a god place to go next - or first.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
When I recommended my partner should read this, the second of Shah's books bought on Amazon, they picked it up and found it very hard to put down. An adventure, believably fact but I don't think it falls short of slight embellishment. Different culture, language, work ethic and a way of life steeped with superstition and weird and wonderful customs made his journeys (and himself) seem a little like a modern day Indiana Jones. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this convoluted tale and can highly recommend it to everyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Great book but there were pages missing. Guess that's the risk of buying second hand books. too much hassle to do anything about it. Would have scored a five otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)