Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Outbreak: Code Red
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


on 26 July 2014
excellent in all respects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
I approached Outbreak with some trepidation, expecting a formulaic, painting by numbers type of plot. Sure enough, I got it... And yet sort of enjoyed it all the same. It's setting, the Democratic Republic of Congo, is unusual enough to make it interesting, almost like an extra character whose ultimate allegiance you're never sure of.

Unfortunately, the main character is nowhere near as interesting as the setting. He left me cold, to be honest. The range of characters around him was fairly interesting, though. I would have liked the big boss of the bad guys to appear more, as the way he was dealt with off stage felt slightly unsatisfactory.

In general, Outbreak is a solid, entertaining read that carries you along at a fair old clip. But Shakespeare it ain't. Or Horrowitz, for that matter.

Anthony AddisThe Tale of the Birds
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2008
Outbreak: Code Red

If you are looking for an addictive book which combines fiction and non-fiction then look no further! The book has a very interesting plot, which includes a deadly virus, a hunt, bad guys and lots of dangers. So if you're looking for an interesting and educating novel then look no further.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
A really good series of books from a brilliant author.

I am one of these people who like attention to detail, though, and I was disappointed by some (in my opinion) errors:

A Chief Police Commissioner? Is this a mixture of a Chief Constable and the Metropolitan Police Commissioner?
Puma Helicopters operated by the British Army? Whilst Army Air Corps pilots and aircrew might be on exchange tours with the RAF, the Puma is operated by the RAF.
American Armed Forces on a facility in the Australian Desert using AK-47 Kalashnikov Rifles? More likely to have been M-16 rifles.
Do RAF 'soldiers' - I guess this refers to RAF Regiment airman - really call their officers 'Ruperts' like they do in the British Army..

A truly enjoyable,read.

Oh yeah! and if Ben was my kid he'd be wrapped up in cotton wool and not let out of my sight til he was drawing his pension.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
This booked has hooked our son (10 years old) on Chris Ryan, particularly the Alphe Force series. OUTBREAK is probably more suitable for 11 years+. However, until now we have struggled to get our son to read fiction. Not anymore! RECOMMENDED
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
A great story featuring year old Ben set in Africa. Plenty of twists with a deadly vius ,dangerous animals and his father falling ill. Read it in one sitting it was so good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Best book I have ever read!
Lots of action that was extremely exciting.
Wish you were there.
I also recommend Vortex
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
The story line is an interesting one to follow, These are some of my favorite books from chris ryan's wide selection :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
one of the the greatest books in the series thank you so much chris ryan for writing such great books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here