Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
138
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2016
Fun exciting and to be honest, is every kids dream come true to have live toys. An imagination is unlimited as a child, its a real shame that as you grow up, you tend to loose it a little. This film takes you back, and shows the life of a toy as the owner grows up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOY STORY was the first feature-length film animated entirely by computer, and is as chock-full of heart and warmth as any Disney cartoon feature. Young Andy's playthings, including the sardonic Mr. Potatohead, a Slinky Dog with a southern drawl, an anxiety-ridden dinosaur, and some very gung-ho toy soldiers, are led by Woody, a pull-string cowboy doll whom Andy adores. But on his birthday, Andy receives a self-possessed, gadget-laden spaceman action figure named Buzz Lightyear, who quickly becomes Andy's favourite. Soon the overlooked Woody becomes very jealous. However, when a turn of events leaves Buzz and Woody lost in the 'outside world,' they have to get along in order to find their way home.

TOY STORY 2 is the dazzling sequel to the 1995 blockbuster. Andy heads off to summer camp, leaving the toys behind to fend for themselves. In much the same way Buzz discovered he is a mass-produced product in the first instalment, Woody discovers that he is a valuable collectible spawned by a popular 1950s kiddie-puppet TV show, 'Woody's Roundup Gang' when he is kidnapped by an evil toy collector, Al McWhiggin. Through Al, who plans to sell him to a Japanese toy museum, Woody is reunited with the toy versions of his TV cohorts plucky cowgirl Jessie (Cusack), prospector Stinky Pete (Grammer), and trusty horse Bullseye. Woody must choose between seeing Andy grow up and forsake him and living a sterile but eternal life behind glass being admired but not played with.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
I'm very satisfied with my buy. The item is exactly as presented and it's a special edition.
There are 2 movies in Blu-Ray format of course and the packaging is great.
The delivery was also fast, it said that it's being prepared to be delivered, today I received it.
It has no dents or scratches at all, it's in a foil and the cardboard box protected it well.
The box itself has a nice design and you get disney reward points.
The front has a "3D"-like embossment at the writing, the patterns and the characters.
The two movies are great, too. They're in 1080p resolution and have hours of bonus material. [Toy Story 3 preview included, lots more]
All in all I'm more than satisfied and I'd recommend it to everyone as the price is great, too.

Hope this helped you,

~Dragonfly
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 May 2007
When "Toy Story" came out in the cinemas in 1995, it was seen as a revolutionary breakthrough in animation. This being the first computer generated animated film. So basically this film inspired the computer generated animated film hits "Shrek", "A Bug's Life", "Antz" and others including "The Incredibles" and "Cars".

"Toy Story" has a really fun and moving plot line. Woody (Tom Hanks), is in charge of the toys in Andy's room. He's also Andy's favourite toy. That is until Andy's birthday gets brought forward a week early and his mother gives him a surprise birthday present. That turns out to be Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen). Woody and Buzz have their disagreements but they get to respect one another before too long and they find themselves on a mission to save other toys from being sabotaged by a deranged boy living next door to Andy. Only Woody must save Buzz before the evil boy sends him to the stars attached to a rocket. Meanwhile Andy's parents along with Andy are in the process of moving house....

What transpires is a fantastic and thought provoking film aimed not just at the kids but also adults alike. It still makes me laugh whenever I watch it and the computer animation is breathtaking still as it was back in 1995.

"Toy Story 2" is the sequel to the original film and in my opinion a much funnier and intelligent film. Featuring new characters along with the original regulars from the first film, it is moving without being too sentimental and it's an absolute treasure to watch.

In this film, Andy goes off to summer camp without his favourite toy. Whilst he's away, Woody is toynapped from the front of Andy's house by a toy collector who after taking Woody has the complete set of toys from Woody's Roundup. These are Jessie (Joan Cusack), Bullseye the horse and Stinky Pete The Prospector (Kelsey Grammer). Woody finds he's going to sit behind glass along with the others for ever in Japan. Buzz and the other toys set off to rescue him and to also remind him what it feels like to be loved as a toy.

There's more action in this film and the moments when Jessie and Woody are looking back are great fun. The most moving moment in the film I found was when Jessie was looking back on how she got dumped by her previous owner. The funniest scene in this film has to be when Buzz and the other toys are crossing the road disguised as cones on their mission to rescue Woody. It still makes me laugh. In my view anyway, this film is better than the first one. But together, these two films are awesome in their delivery and storytelling. The animation in both films is incredible and they appeal to children and adults alike. In my opinion, these films are a must.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
A great hit with my grandchildren who never tires of watching it over and over,they even know the storylines by heart.
On my part it is a very well made animation film with a lovely story and escapades.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
i bought this for my daughter to watch, i love it sooooooooooo much, i know RIGHT, i'm a lady of 28 years young, haha. grow up is the word you were thinking right, hehe. its not a childish animation i think its the kind of animation that adults can enjoy with the kids, a family flick, we all watch it together every weekend, i'm sure we'll stop soon, but it is a great one, i'd suggest you to get this, so stop reading this and hit the 'add to basket' button! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
was in french canadian!! not mentioned in description?? the dvd was a present so was wrapped on receiving, only to be rejected as the region was not for our player! two very sad children were let down with awaiting homemade popcorn and juice!...on contacting the seller explaining, the wrong region and fact of it being a gift, he refused help or me returning the item, only till an amazon assistant helped i was able to return it with a partial refund, not a very fair customer care system...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Bought this for my little sister but how can I pretend I didn't watch them with her. Great jokes for adults and children, fantastic stories, brilliant animation, filled with references, great voice cast, hilarious satire, nostalgia, and much more. You can't go wrong with Toy Story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
Absolutely brilliant films. I am an OAP and my granddaughters wanted me to take them to see Toy Story3, so had to catch up on the "story". So glad I did! They are not just children's films, they have been enjoyed by all the family, young and old alike! Have since been to see the 3rd film and enjoyed that too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2007
I loved this film almost as much as my children.
It is without doubt the best kids film ever made.
I loved Shrek and Small Soldiers , but and my kids say TOPY STORY is Number One.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse