Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2017
a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I enjoy some video games and this genre of 'history spanning' RTS can be very absorbing, i like their take on historic civilizations. I really liked Empire Earth the original with its lovely environments and epoch spanning gameplay and also Rise of Nations for similar reasons.

However EE2 is something of a disappointment. The graphics can be good but actually a lot of the time the units, buildings and environment all rather blend into each other and the sounds are not that great either. The real problem is the gameplay though.

For me certain gameplay features work - the civilian manager for instance, the temporary crown bonuses, the alliances and trading - while others just don't.

I just didn't like the implementation of fixed territories, they were frequently too small and restrictive, the tech tree wasn't as intuitive as in EE1 (& other rts games) and tended to whizz by so quickly that in mid game you just have to click some techs and get back to ordering units around before you get attacked again. The special epoch related resources therefore seemed to be available only briefly leading to somewhat annoying constant civilian reassignment.

An amusing oddity are the 'giant' special units you get after some achievements. It didn't bother me as such but they did look (and sound) somewhat comical in the context of the game.

Its not a bad game and I'm glad many people did enjoy it a lot but for me it fell unexpectedly short of its predecessor. The price (£2.99 when i got it) is something i wouldn't complain about though!

Are there any other really great history spanning RTS games out there beyond AoE, EE and RoN I wonder?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
this is the best stratagy game i have ever played by far, and for £4 its an absolute steal. Great graphics and really in depth gameply, you will never play the same scenario twice. the only real bad point is that the computer is always faster, stronger, bigger and richer than you, and it can be quite agrovating when they just keep on attacking you with a seemingly endless army. otherwize its a fantastic game.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
Campaign is very hard. Nice objectives. PIP camera very futuristic for the age of this game. Less joyful than first EE but the price was terrific for the hoours of gameplay it offers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
If you are a fan of Empire Earth then you should buy this, if you liked the last game then you will probably like this one. However if you bought this game because you are a fan of Age of Empires and thought that you would enjoy this then you might want to reconsider, in my opinion the game is fun for the first couple of games but replayability is poor, it gets old quickly and the games' civilisations are very similar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
As a huge fan of the original game I thought I'd give the second a try. There is a lot of improvements in terms of customisation of custom maps/scenarios, picking a civilisation to start as, intricacy of moving up the ages is also a lot more structured and interesting. The only thing I would say is it can feel a little convoluted sometimes however I would still recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Considering its age, this game has great graphics and good gameplay. The expansion really adds another dimension to the game. Would recommend, especially considering its price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
The game itself is good, its got so much more depth than other similar games (AOE, etc) but this particular version probably isn't the one to go for.

This one doesn't have any multiplayer play which isn't stated in the description. There are versions of this game that have online play, I don't know if its the 'sold out' version on the game that stops this but they do have an amazing ability to kill games.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Whilst the game is as good as ever

Gamespy have closed, meaning zero online, and that really is zero, there is no ip to ip connectivity whatsoever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Very Good But I Think Empire Earth 1 is Better god value and very good game recommend to most but Empire Earth 1 is better in my eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here