Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2010
I adore Who Do you Think You Are and having bought a couple of the box sets looked forward to seeing Series 5 again.

The problem with the series is that each programme relies almost entirely on the actors/presenters/sportsmen attitude to their search, and the story that unfolds. We get our enthusiasm from their delight at the unravelling mystery and the way the story twists and turns.

Boris Johnson's story was in this way brilliant, involving turkish political intrigue and assassination. Jodie Kidd was also charmingly enthusiastic about her American settler past and you could not fail to be moved by Jerry Springers research into the oh so terrible realities of the holocaust. When you find someone who seems to have "taken the money" and lacks any real interest in the discoveries however, then it can be more irritating than enthralling and if someone's screen persona is a bit too cool to be excited by geneology then you can quickly find your interest waning. Laurence LLewellyn Bowen seemed to be finding it really hard to be interested in his own family and as a result his story of WW1 heroism and sea rescues didn't quite hit the spot.

All in all the series is pure gold for those of us with an interest in the past. It makes the more mundane elements of history fascinating and makes me wish I was famous enough to get help with my own geneological research.The occassional less interesting tale is still better than most television around.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
The show uncovers the personal histories of public figures and then uses that as a springboard to look at a time and place. This either details a history that you didn't know about or provides a personal angle on events you did know about. Its success for me is that you don't need to like or be familiar with the work of the people featured. Often the people you had preconceptions about turn out to have fascinating histories and when they are filmed in emotional situations it lets you understand who, as they title says, they are.

This season features: Patsy Kensit, Boris Johnson, Jerry Springer, Esther Rantzen, Ainsley Harriott, David Suchet, Jodie Kidd and Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen. For me Jerry's past turned out to be the most emotional and Patsy's the most involving with perhaps only Laurence's being less interesting than expected.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
Since we don't get this series shown on our television in the states, I've purchased each season as it's come out and watch them on my 'all region' DVD player. I look forward to each new season like a child waits for Christmas. Each and every profile is absorbing and worthy of a second viewing. What's more interesting than learning about people and their backgrounds? I hope this series goes on for years to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Bought as a gift namely for Boris Johnson's Family history - an incredible story that reveals Boris's genetic link with most of the Royal Houses of Europe, including Great Britain's. Fascinating worthwhile buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
To learn the ancestry of notable people is so enthralling and the background music does not drown out the talking like so many programmes these days. Yet another great watch and then put it away and bring out afresh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This is another of the long running and highly watchable series of family ancestry delving deeply into the background and ancestry of well known folk. I have watched every one of all the series as they were broadcast on TV and I have been awaiting the release of this Series 5 for such a long time. If you watch just one episode it is the Jerry Springer one. OK I am not a fan of his trashy TV shows...BUT look past this as he has an incredibally touching and in many ways upsetting family history that he has to contend with. And the last few minutes, without giving the 'game' away are so moving and tearful that it will pull at every emotion you possess. Similarly Jodie Kidd's episode is wonderful and a trail of personal and family discovery. O cannot recommend this series 5 more strongly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
A little dissapointed they way they have dungled the various people on the disc, when loading you have to go through too many stages to select the one you want, however the contents are what we required having missed them first time round on TV.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
The "Who do you think you are?" series is so interesting. You don't have to be a genealogist to enjoy. Everybody has a different story to tell and there are many surprises along the way. Series 5 is just as enthralling as all the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
As a complete 'Who do you think you are?' fan, this is just another one for my collection, as have seen all on TV first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
great programme,love the show i like to get each one to learn about a stars past live its very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)