Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 February 2010
This is a very good game - and it may even nudge at greatness once or twice. It's not perfect of course, but it is very good, exciting, thought provoking, very puzzling in parts (but always logical), difficult and easy, simple and complex, and hugely immersive. To say up front, I've played the Russian-released game, so the cut-scenes are a bit hard to follow (!) for me.

Coming in three large (not huge, but large enough to feel big) maps, how you play influences aspects in the game. I suspect some (particularly experienced stalkers) may feel that the game is a bit easy in parts, and sometimes a little too heavy on atmosphere (versus shooting). Certainly the third map (in my opinion excellently) conveys the desolation and hollowness of a city bereft of inhabitants - trust me, after a while it really does 'get to you' - others may just find it a bit too empty.

For those who have played neither Shadow of Chernobyl (SoC) nor Clear Sky (CS) before, be warned, it can feel like there is quite a bit of 'just walking around' to be done, interspersed with some sometimes quite sudden deaths. Previous Stalker-series players will know well what I mean here.

There are many (many) hours of game play here, and a lot of exploration you will have to do for yourselves to crack all of the game, and all the side-tasks. For those who prefer their game-play to be spoon-fed to them and be supplied 'on rails' (I'm thinking of the Call of Duty'ers), avoid this game as you'll hate it.

The game is very stable right out of the (Russian) box, and looks really nice, with fully functioning dynamic weather and day/night cycles. There are some underground parts to the gameplay - not as many as SoC, but more than CS. Sleeping is woven in well, but not mandated. The nights are inky black and, until you get night-vision, largely sensible to sleep through.

Artefact hunting is pretty key to your survival and progress - but again not mandated if you don't enjoy - both to generate money as well as augment the armour/weapons - all of which can be upgraded to personal taste by the mechanics dotted around. The guns sound fab and seem well aligned to the game. The ballistics are fab, seeing a target hit (and damaged) by a ricochet deserves 12/10.

There are serveral truly excellent set-piece tasks to think (as well as fight) your way through, and some very tense periods of exploration to do - I shan't spoil them by saying more! Albeit it's not as scary as SoC - the only game that still scares me!

Like I say it's not perfect thought - the head wobble/bobble is a bit excessive (fixed by a mod), the weapons wear out far far too fast (fixed by a mod), the flashlight is a feeble joke (fixed by a mod), the HUD is a big bulky and intrusive (fixed by a mod), all the text (in my game) is in Russian (fixed by a mod), the players field-of-view is too narrow (fixed by a mod), the iron-sights of the guns also need a mod to work properly... are you getting the picture yet... for, as with all the Stalker games, the modding cummunity is already very active on this game - and with this excellent base to work from, I think we can expect much.

Oh - and it has on-line game play too... Well I'll stop now, there's really a lot to enjoy in this game, and it marks a good evolution of the Stalker series! Only minor worry, GSC don't seem to have found publishers easy to come by - I suspect a facet of the previously unreliable 'fist releases' of SoC and CS. No such problems here - it's working first time!!!

Summary: if you like open and multi-faceted games where you can do what you want, and explore and play the game as you choose to, then buy this game - it would be rude not to, and you'd be missing a little gem!
33 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2010
Call of Pripyat shares none of the frustrations of Clear Sky, it brings back the FUN of the original game, and improves upon it in a multitude of ways. Yes, this is still Stalker, and the game mechanics are similar: open world, shoot blokes, avoid mutants, hunt anomalies etc. But the faction wars are toned down, and you feel like you actually stand a chance from the off. At first you are somewhat fragile, but not stupidly vulnerable. I started venturing out to places and noticed that, like the better-tuned RPGs, there were areas that I could just about tackle, but others for which I'd have to improve myself before I could return to them. Feels just right.

There are two weapons slots, in which you can put whatever you like. This was curiously limited in Clear Sky. The main plot arc isn't entirely linear, the first 5 "quests" for it can be tackled in any order. The "world" comprises 3 large, distinct areas that are naturally shaped and do not feel like long corridors. Keep walking in any direction and you'll see one completely different thing after another, a wrecked ship, swamps (very scaled down compared to Clear Sky), chasms, bridges, burned farms, anomalies, plateaus, and buildings.

Call of Pripyat is designed to be "open world" immediately. Day and night cycles are still there, and you have a permanent clock in the main hud. Clear Sky got one thing right with artifacts: hard to find. This is still the case, and detectors are required, making for a tricky but compelling challenge whenever you attempt it. Earning money is tough, but a little easier than Clear Sky, and feels about right. Shotguns are no longer nearly-useless, and the new Protecta is a solid, satisfying weapon. Weapon upgrades are present again, but futher tuned, and even more essential. Some of the dread and scares of the original game are present, if not to the same extent. There are a lot of things that, if not frightening, are certainly odd and will put you on edge. There's more "weird" in this game than "scary", put simply. How many FPSs engage your imagination as much as your trigger finger?

And I found it absolutely reliable, too. No crashes here, on an Intel-chipset-based PC with Windows 7 64-bit and a Radeon 4650.

Niggles:
Realistic but frustratingly small carry limit early on.
That damned view-bob.
Vanilla game could do with more AI spawns.
Short, some are saying 20 hours.
Could do with more dungeons!
Weapons degradation is a more prominent factor than Clear Sky, and if anything happend a tad too "rapidly" for my liking.
You'll wish they mapped more of Pripyat (but what's there is fantastic).

To conclude:
One of the best first-person-shooters crafted from Ukranian soil. A unique, compelling and satisfying experience, and recommended to absolutely everyone. Google for the "SMRTER mod" after you have played the full game, to add more goodies and replayability.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2010
Played on Windows Vista 64 bit.

Coming from having played the original S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl, i didnt play, Clear sky. This version of the S.T.A.L.K.E.R game Call of Pripyat, is what i think the first game should had been like. The graphics and look of the zone is much better, and the setup, stalker bases on old washed up Oil tankers(similar to Fallout 3's aircrat carrier city) just seem to make the game better. I actually fear the mutants in this version of the game, they scare the hell outta me, especially in the more remote spooky caves or abaondoned buildings.

I have played half a dozen hours so far, and the feel of the game is still Pretty much the same as the original Shadow of Chernobyl, the weapons and armor etc are pretty much the same, but it does feel allot better this time around. I love the random "Emission" that pops up, which is basically like a blast/storm of radiation(i guess), where if you are out in the zone, you will get a warning on your PDA of an Emission coming, and you have to find shelter ASAP or die, great addition. They have also added an optional quick travel option, where you can talk to other stalkers, and some offer the service, for a price, to take you to a certain place on the map. then when you choose a place and agree, the screen goes black & voila you are there. probabley mot an option you will use all the time, and like i said its optional, so nothing major, but a nice option to have none the less. there are also allot of missions here, 70+ side missions stated on the box, and thus far i have always had something to do, or just roam freely at my own pace.

Overall, this survival horror(i guess we can call it to some extent) is of a higher standard than the origonal, and although it is made up of the same elements, it just feels & plays allot better this time around. If you like/enjoy games such as Fallout 3, dead space or Resident Evil, you will enjoy this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2010
In my opinion a much better game than STALKER Shadow of Chernobyl [SSOC] in so far as in the latter many of the tasks involve killing someone although there are some buttons to press of course. However in STALKER Call of Pripyat [SCOP] diplomacy can be used, there are certificates to be gained for various achievements eg friend of stalkers, diplomat etc. Artifacts are found by detector but there are various types of detector and some artifacts allow more weight to be carried which helps with a 50kg limit. There are more mutants which react in different ways but these do not have parts that can sold as in SSOC. All people in the zone ie stalkers, bandits and mercenaries are friendly most of the time so it isn't a continual battle. There is plenty of scope to roam but I have found that sometimes if I try to get back from one area to another [The game takes place in three zones which one gets to using guides as in STALKER Clear Sky] the system crashes; so there appears to be a bit of linearity to it. Having said that, I use a 'Trainer' and probably that affects the travel as the system didn't crash when I travelled with the Trainer not used.
There is a good plot running through and the program seems to have been well-tested. So it is in my opinion a worth successor to SSOC; no liability accepted for this review as it is only my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2017
Atmosphere, level design and great playability make this game a must for who loves eploration and who wants more than a shooter game. This version of the game came into different languages, so I can play it in Italian. Amazing is not enough to describe it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2010
If you've played Shadow of Chernobyl (SoC) and Clear Skies, you'll be at home with Call of Pripyat (and if you haven't, you should). All three titles are tough and a long way from the current trends in consolified pseudo-RPGs being churned out these days - this is old(er)-school-you-choose-the-quicksave-point and it'll punish you for getting it wrong.

Call of Pripyat feels as it's what the original SoC wanted to be - the menus, shortcut keys and gameplay are all much more polished over the original titles, and there's a good 20-30 hours of wandering around to be had. During your wandering, you'll encounter the "A-life" system mentioned in the original - the world in CoP does its own thing, and you can watch all of it through your binoculars. You can wander off the main "quest" at will, and only very near to the end are your decisions more forced.

Sadly, though, the feeling of being at home with STALKER includes the bugs present in the other two titles. I had a couple of non-responsive hangs and some task-managering forced-quitting to contend with, and it initially didn't want to run for me from a shortcut (in fact, it would only launch for me from the Windows7 "games" folder). At present, there's only a patch for the German-language version too. Ah, the good old days are back. There'd be no challenge if it was too easy, after all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2010
Call of Pripyat is almost as good as the first in the series, Shadow of Chernobyl. There's three huge levels to explore. Levels are nicely done except last one, which feels a bit unfinished. All the characters and monsters are nicely done too. The game has quite a bad stuttering problem however. Stuttering is a feature of the game engine and can not be fixed. You can alleviate this somewhat by enabling vertical sync and rising the refresh rate of your monitor as high as possible. Also when you run the game, check that the game is using two cores (or more), for it is known to use just one core by default. This fix can be performed on the Windows Task Manager / Processes tab / right click and change "affinity" to one core, then back to two or more cores. This will activate all cores and you can get 50% more framerate! As to the game itself, it is much of the same as the other Stalker games. Exploring places and doing missions. It can be boring if you're not into wandering. The game world does feel a bit empty and liveless like all Stalker games do. Not much happens or moves and what does feels scripted. There's no real-world lively feeling into it. Anyway, the game lasts about 30-40 hours and there's plenty of interesting and scary places to visit during that time. In Stalker games you need to add a bit of your own imagination on top of it and just enjoy the scenery. It's a trip to your on mind too. Btw, using your own background music while playing is worth trying.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2012
Stalker COP is the 3rd game of the series and like the others is set in the wastelands of chernobyl. I original resisted getting this due to the problems I encountered with clear sky(bugs and lots of patches) but seeing this game for £2, risk free purchase me thinks. So what did I think, the game is very stable but is quite a hit on your pc. The story is a bit hogwash with no mystery like the first one, but their is still alot to find in the open world with some interesting side quests. The combat and the AI are spot on, enemies are very dangerous and often you will find yourself at a disadvantage. I got halfway through the game then got looking for some mods to make it harder(some people will find it hard enough with vanilla). So dont worry their is a community still bashing away with this game. All in all I was satisfied with he end game and of course the deadly atmosphere which when playing by yourself in a dark room..................mummy?. But yeah to new guys to stalker its definitly a try to get this game but also check out the first one, even tho its now a golden oldie its still the best by far.

By the way if you like it rough, hard and dirty I recommend you check out the misery mod. I got this to make the game alot harder and boy until you learn the ropes you will spend more time looking at the 'YOUR DEAD' screen then you will running away from everything. (very high end pc needed to play misery on high settings)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2010
First install game kept crashing X-Ray engine failure also video very choppy when it was working before crashes.To make this game work properly required updating video driver and direct x as well as deleting the content of the stalker folder and starting again from the beginning. Probably should have thought about updating everything before the first install. Graphics still hesitate at time but overall familiar territory for all Stalker fans. Nothing really new here but some good moments and the odd tricky puzzle so entertaining upto now. Keeping fingers crossed no more crashes. Still not brave enough to switch back to dynamic lighting just in case. Maybe try it when I finish the game.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2010
Shadow of Chernobyl: Amazing game with a slight problem with customisability and a few bugs.
Clear Sky: Amazing game, once you got it working and learned to live around the tremendopus number of bugs and new customisation system

Call of Pripyat... just, wow. Incredible graphics rendering, havn't found a single bug yet, engaging storyline, food/sleep/bleeding mechanics are fantastic, and the customisation features are extensive.

It's got my vote.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here