Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£8.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2010
When I found out this game was out I bought immediately. Since I have been a Van Halen fan since the 70's I finally had a way to play guitar to all my favourite tracks. There lies the problem, this game is full of all the early stuff of Halen from 1984 and before. I can only guess there are some sort of licence restrictions or something. Basically they seem to have dragged out some not so good tracks to fill in the game. It's seriously missing the Hager touch.
44 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
This game is one of the best GH games simply because its fun on every instrument before hand certain songs u had to play on certain instruments theres much more of a balance in van halen the songs are brilliant from incredible solos like eruption, 'cathedral' (a song of just hammer-ons!) and anthems like jump and panama. i was really impressed even when completed you really have the urge to go back and play it again. the career mode is a good length also not long drawn out and tedious like world tour. I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of GH metallica or anyone for that matter. lots of fun 5*
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
This particualar version of Guitar Hero appealed to me as a Van Halen fan, so I was mildly disappointed to find that many songs simply weren't on it. The gameplay is standard within the rest of the series, but this time you're playing as Van Halen. If you're happy listening only to the earliest albums then you won't be disappointed, but don't be expecting to hear any of Van Halen's more recent tracks.

To conclude: you get what you pay for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
This is a very similar game to guitar hero metallica in the fact that it tell's the story of the band, practically all of van halen's songs are covered including a few obscure tracks that you might not have heard. It's not as difficult as some of the other games in the series however there are a few songs that will take a bit of practise to master.Overall, being a minor van halen fan, it's as good if not slightly better than expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
Guitar Hero 5 was a very poor attempt of a music game. Apart from bringing a host of new features, it lacked the personal touch which other GH have been known for. The last band-specific GH game we played was GH Metallica, a few months before GH5, and I must say it was an outstanding piece of work, but it since then it has truly fallen downhill. I'll explain why

- Everything about Van Halen is static. Menus, loading screens, it just doesn't feel 'fun' and 'welcoming' anymore.
- The game is, without a doubt, a GH5 clone. From the quickly, to menus, with literally a new lick of paint to tie things over
- Van Halen have a very small catelogue of world-defyings hits, and therefore only a few you will have actually heard of in this game. As per usual in these band specfic games, 25 songs from Van Halen, and 15 songs from other bands
- But they go an shove those 15 other songs into career mode. This worked well in Aerosmith, in a sense, but wasn't prominent in GH Metallica (they were just tagged on the end of career). So its a really bad bummer to see not only the menu for career look really tacky as hell, but the fact the songs just look like quickplay mode.
- The graphics have slipped in PS2 range now, with audio dubbing not any better.

As I usually say in my reviews, you will have some fun when you actually get in the game, and if you find anyone online you can have a blast, but it is all shortlived by its extremely tacky 'i'm doing it cos i know you will buy it' exterior and lacking in the actual quality to make it a righteous game.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
I ordered this for my 14 year old son, it arrive in good time and was well packaged. My son says it has a great variety of songs but screen layout could be better. Quick player is brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Totally satisfied with this item which arrived the day after it was purchased, my son was over the moon as it was a present and was in his hand two days before the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Probably my favourite game from the Guitar Hero series, a lot of fun songs to play on all instruments and a decent campaign play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
This was bought as a gift for my son he says that the songs are good to play on guitar hero.
Good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
this game is very fun and the van halen songs on it are really fun to play. i strongly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)