Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2012
Shame he had to die so young, like all the other musical greats!

These songs delve into your soul and make you stop and think about life. Donny Hathaway was a super musician who was a proper soul singer but he drew on influences from different genres, such as ragtime and classical, and this makes for a varied collection of songs and it makes the albums a joy to listen to. It is hard to get bored listening, as non of the songs are 'samey' and if you enjoy good soul music, you'll enjoy this.

Because he died young he is pretty underrated, so if you do not know much about him, this album series would be a great place to start, as it includes 5 albums including the Fabulous Extension of a Man, and best of all it's good value for money, where else can you buy five albums for under £10?

I bought this as a present for my mother and she has not stopped playing it, virtually after listening to the first album he became her favourite artist, she even went out on a limb and said that he was better than Stevie wonder!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
Five albums for £14... bargain! Having bought 'A song for you, live' I was looking to extend my Donny Hathaway collection but could not decide which album to buy next. I'm so glad I waited. I could have spent 5 times this amount but my patience (or indecision) was rewarded. Each and every album in this collection is superb.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
I am a massive fan of Donny Hathaway. He was a great singer and absolute master at the keyboard. he could have been one of the biggest R&B stars but he died so young in 1979. To get all five albums in one compilation is an absolute steal!! I had all these albums in vinyl a long time ago but to now get them in CD quality is fantastic. I have ripped them on to my phone so I can enjoy them on the move. There are so many great songs on the album but my favourites are Magnificent sanctuary band, The Ghetto, Little girl and Young gifted and black. If you love R&B you will love it!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
While this set represents quite good value, if you are a fan of Donny Hathaway you really should invest in the french 4CD set "Someday We'll All be Free" which contains the bulk of Donny's albums, including the essential "Live" album, rare single sides and other live performances, and 5 previously unreleased 1974/5 demos as well as two previoulsy unreleased live tracks.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
This set brought me to tears! I bought it to replace my vinyl versions bought in the 70's. This is a set made by a very troubled man. Like other artistic geniuses such as Billie Holiday, Janis Joplin, Marvin Gaye, his trouble mind served to intensify his music and amazingly personal musical story telling. His voice was unique and musicality exceptional. However, he could do something that is very rare indeed. His musical interpretation of many of the covers surely upstages the originals by a 'galaxy'. Take 'He's not heavy, he's my Brother' for instance. The world lost a major artist that has not been properly recognised outside America. Extension of a Man is a real classic and surely indicates his future direction had it not been for his illness. The live albums are 'electrifying'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'll keep it brief: Donny Hathaway was a troubled but richly talented singer songwriter and musician, and has been the subject of two multi-disc box sets, both aimed at the Deep Catalogue Hathaway fan. This cheaper set, in no-frills mini album reproduction affords a great intro to the man and his music, and is a good place to start. Docked one star because the packaging's a little perfunctory. The music is inviolate, however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
One of the real greats. Wonderful keyboard player - and that voice. I still hear young kids trying to emulate the man. This is stupidly ridiculous to get 5 classic DH albums for just a few quid. The live stuff is amazing - seems to be everyone wanted to play with him. God bless you Donny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Forgive this quick review because every one of these CDs are excellent and deserve the proper full treatment. Donny Hathaway was a unique talent - among the most soulful of singers with an arrestingly smooth and deep, yet tender voice. You will hear hints of gospel and funk with dramatic but tasteful arrangements. Good examples are the definitive version of Leon Russell's "A Song For You" and the Gladys Knight hit, "Giving Up". Those songs will surely reach your heart. Superb Classical elements turn up on the "Extensions Of A Man" disc on which "Someday We'll All Be Free" will permanently etch itself onto your musical consciousness. Yet, many of his songs were also pop-jazz standards. Listen to his take on "He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother" and you won't want to hear anyone else sing it ever again. This collection seems very complete - perhaps missing some of his duets with Roberta Flack. A great place to start with Donny at an incredibly affordable price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
If you have not heard the great man this album will signature his unbelievable talent- the live album is one of my all time favourites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
Yes, this is a real treat: 5 excellent CD's by Donny Hathaway for the price of 2 (I paid 18 Euros). He's got a great voice, and his music is always soulful. Odd one out is the EXTENSION of a MAN - some of the music on that CD is a bit over the top if you ask me. But for the rest, this is classic soul! So sad he committed suicide at a young age - he could have made so much more music!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)