Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2012
This is both the most difficult and the most accessible record of Gentle Giants 2nd period (ie post Phil) They manage to mix some truly dissonant vocals, with music that can only be described as jazz-funk on the albums first track "Proclamation", and what an opening track it is setting the stage for the rest of the story, as this is a concept album. "So Sincere" the 2nd track is just maybe harder to get into with its odd time signature and fractured melody, but even so give it a week and you will be whistling this one at work. This is followed by the stunningly beautiful "aspirations" featuring Kerry's oh so delicate voice. "playing the game" has an almost oriental feel, but again it somehow manages to sound funky. "cogs in cogs" would have been a good single release, and allows Derek a chance to sing his heart out...wonderful. This record doesn't let up "No God's a man" has everything that is great about GG, followed by "The face" another stand out track...finally and all too soon we are at "Valedictory" where the themes from the first track "proclamation" return, but this time in a more twisted manner. That is it, its all over far to soon and your starting it over because you want to hear it again. Seriously this is one great album, by one of prog-rocks greatest bands. You really should get a copy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2010
This is, in my opion a stand out Gentle Giant album (CD), it's a nice clean recording, lifted from the masters i understand, i'm a tad biased as this was the firt GG album i purchased many many moons ago, it sounds as fresh and challenging as in '74 and stands up really very well, give it a go and suprise yourself :)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2004
Simply one of the greatest prog albums of all time, if not one of the greatest albums of all time.
It won't appeal to everyone. The music is complex and in places dissonant (in an artsy Bartok-sort of way). Even dedicated prog fans might need a number of listens before it clicks with them. But I have listened to this album hundreds of times over the decades and each time it's as wonderful as before. If you're a prog fan then you can't not get this. I'd pay thousands for this album. You can get it for 10 quid. What are you waiting for?
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
CD Label : Alucard ALU-GG-011 (USA Import)
I have waited many years for this GG album to get the loving 'digital' restoration it deserves and now here it is! This release is superb and without fault. Re-Mastered by Fred Kevorkian at Avatar Studios, NYC from the original ¼ inch tapes through 24bit 96k Hi-Resolution transfer; it is a wonderful resurrection of this fine 1970's album and captures surprisingly clear audio quality from the original recording. I find myself standing in front of the speakers, eyes closed and simply spellbound. What a remarkable team of musicians this band displayed.
77 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
I've been listening to ProgRock since the 70s so I'm hardly going to stop now.... I came to love Gentle Giant courtesy of the music library at uni in the mid 70s and always loved the fact that they could do really interesting tunes but also really rock when they wanted to. Curiously though, I never heard this particular album before now. It seems like I was missing some good stuff. The album as a whole doesn't seem to me to have quite the overall strength of "Free Hand" but as a single song, "Aspirations" is as entrancing as anything else they ever did. I'd echo other reviewers that the remastered sound seems pretty good - and it really needs to be for this band or you'd miss some of the detail in their sometimes complex arrangements - all perfectly clear here. I suppose its a slight disappointment that the running time is quite short for a CD - same as the original LP, I guess. It would have been great to have one or two alternative takes, unreleased masterpieces or whatever.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
Power and the Glory is one of a series of Gentle Giant albums from the early to mid-seventies which stand out as being some of the best music in the history of Rock. Full of twists and turns,complex interplay and a wide array of instuments, this album serves as a very fine showcase for a band which remains unsurpassed to this day. Brilliant.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Another very good Giant album although, for me, it isn't as overwhelmingly brilliant as, say, 'Acquiring The Taste', 'Three Friends' or 'Octopus' - all of which are quite magical Giant releases. Having said that there is still plenty to appreciate with the opening burst of 'Proclamation' (a veritable powerhouse of a song), the brilliantly quirky 'So Sincere' and the lovely vocals of Kerry Minnear on the gorgeous ballad 'Aspirations' ~ buy it anyway and feel the quality for yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
The best Gentle Giant album (closely followed by Free Hand). Everything comes together, songs, arrangements, harmonies, weird time signatures, and still to this day, they sound like no one else before or since
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
This was my first and I think remains my favourite Gentle Giant album.

It has some extraordinary music. It is diverse, inventive, refreshing, surprising, interesting and great music generally, played and written by proper musicians.

All the tracks are good (including the Power & the Glory extra track) but Cogs in Cogs and So Sincere particularly stand out.

This is Prog Rock (although this is really in a genre of its own) at its absolute best.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2008
There arent enough superlatives in the dictionary to describe Gentle Giant. Its not simply that they made great music that sounds as fresh today as when it was released nor even their startling musical inovation. There are other bands with these qualities. What makes the Giant stand head and shoulders above every other band from any era is the sheer consistency of their output. Eight brilliant albums in a row From Aquiring the Taste to Interview. Power and the Glory was their sixth release and this cd version which I have does fine justice to the original vinyl. Absolutely god bless their cotton socks we will not see their like again.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)