Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
49
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The popularity of these 2 artists continues and this latest set brings together vintage recordings and a sound that is instantly recognisable. Jean-Baptiste "Django" Reinhardt (January 23, 1910 - May 16, 1953) was a Belgian Sinto Gypsy jazz guitarist and remains one of the most renowned jazz guitarists due to his innovative and distinctive playing. With French jazz violinist Stephane Grappelli (January 26, 1908 - December 1, 1997) they formed the Quintette du Hot Club de France and it became the most famous of all-string jazz bands. Sound quality very good throughout and very atmospheric. The running times for these CDs are 76 and 67 minutes.
33 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 March 2010
Picture the scene: the ferry from Dover was awful, you're in the car and your other half puts on these glorious, magical tracks. Slowly at first through Calais then onto the autoroute. The mood lightens, a mood of joie de vivre envelops the day and those long stretches of open road suddenly fly by to the giddy sound of the QHCF.

Here is a collection of classic tracks that will make those long car journeys disappear. Stephane Grapelli is on top form: Django provides superb playing too and the QHCF bounces along perfectly. This is music to treasure and share.

Equally as good for Eurostar or that quick hop over the channel to Le Touquet for lunch.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
When it's Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grapelli and the Hot Club of Paris, how can you not buy it?

All the songs are 2m 50s, and there's a staple rum-chum-rum-chum rhythm throughout, but Grapelli's violin is so fluid and smiley. This stuff still influences French music today.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
Django Reinhardt and Stephane Grappelli. Great to buy a CD of this old 1920,s Hot Club of Paris. The sound reproduction is quite good but that is understandable given the age of the original music. Very good value. Brings back many memories
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Django and Stephane are two of my favourite exponents of this kind of jazz and I've been wanting a replacement CD for a very old tape for some time.

Finally got around to ordering this one. It's exactly as you'd expect with some great tracks that just make you want to get up and dance around the room. Ok, there's some fuzziness and hissing, but no more than you'd expect from a remix of such an old recording.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
But I know what I like and boy,do I like Django ! Has there ever been a greater guitarist in any form of music,jazz,rock n roll,blues etc etc? I have bought several Django compilations at different times but to me,his work with this group is by far the best. No,it's not hi-fi and yes some of the tracks pop and crackle,having been transferred from 78's but who cares, just adds to the atmosphere of the wonderful music on these discs and what music !
I defy anyone who has e pulse not to tap their feet to what is here. Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Bought for my Mother really, but both of us bopping round the kitchen. tracks were recorded at different times, and therefore, sound quality varies from tune to tune which is a shame. A lovely memorial to the whole band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
This was a cheap buy and the 2 discs contain most of Django's classic tracks. The sound quality is pretty good for transcriptions from 78s and it is easy to get into a "Hot Club" feeling playing these tracks one after the other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
I chose this CD as I had some old 78rpm records of theirs
I like the way they take it in turns to do solos during each number
I would recommend this recording to anyone who is serious about jazz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first reference I heard to Django Reinhardt was is Woody Allen's excellent film Sweet And Lowdown [DVD] [2000] which features similar music to Reinhardt's. I'd enjoyed the soundtrack to that film Sweet & Lowdown so decided to give this compilation a try, and it's a huge collection of 100 pieces gathered together featuring some tracks that were familiar to me and many others which weren't. The musicianship is excellent and so are many of the tracks but because these recordings are very old they obviously don't sound as good as modern recordings. The only real downside to a collection like this is that it is hard to listen to in one sitting. The sheer size of it would make that difficult but the fact that it is all in a similar style will mean that it is best listened to in chunks or by listening to individual tracks.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£6.49

Need customer service? Click here