Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
20
4.1 out of 5 stars


on 11 November 2017
Great service. Lovely LP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 April 2013
This double CD set offers a bargain package of Evans` first two trio albums recorded under his own name for Riverside studios.

The quality and value of the music on these discs is, I should think, beyond doubt. Though "New Jazz Conceptions" wasn't initially a critical success, it's the album that introduced one of Evans` best known pieces, "Waltz For Debby". It also revealed an accomplished young musician already developing a more personal harmonic approach to playing, although still working through the bebop pattern set by Bud Powell and possibly nodding towards another emerging pianist - Lennie Tristano. In hindsight it`s an interesting - if unrepresentative - Evans album with an emphasis on standard tunes of the time.
The seminal "Everybody Digs Bill Evans" is the album that put him on the map; it shows his experimentation with block chords influenced by George Shearing, but never - as far as I`m aware anyway - fully adopting the locked-hands approach. By the time this album was recorded Evans` playing was more cohesively his own, his ideas matured through having worked with people like Mingus and George Russell. This album contains a wonderfully inventive version of "Night and Day" and introduces "Peace Piece" which was to re-surface in a different form on Miles Davis` "Kind of Blue" album.

There has been some debate about the sound quality of this set; Not Now Music, like Avid and Real Gone Jazz (who appear to be in limbo for the time being) are companies who source music which has passed into the Public Domain; as I understand it, they take (usually) good copies of original vinyl albums and transfer them to disc with reasonable digital re-mastering, but without the enhancement processes owners of the original catalogue material have been able to employ; so what you are hearing are original-issue quality albums on CD. Many people are used to the enhanced re-issues from the back-catalogues of Blue Note, Prestige and in this case Riverside, which appeared from the early 80`s onwards, so it can be disconcerting to hear what is, essentially, little more than unvarnished analogue sound. I have access to one of these old vinyls and in a blindfold test the sound wasn't really that different - I have a modest, mid-range, gracefully aging Sanyo sound system.

If you are an out-and-out audiophile with a high-end system and expectations to match you may well be disappointed with this, any dynamic limitations will probably be evident, but for the rest of us this is a fairly inexpensive way to acquire a couple of good and increasingly difficult-to-find albums.
I don`t condone buying cheap if the re-mastered albums are readily available at good prices, but many of the big jazz catalogues are being deleted; PD material doesn't benefit the musicians and the big companies aren`t interested in re-issuing at a reasonable price range - if at all.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 April 2009
This is your chance to own 2 classic jazz albums from a legend of the keyboard Bill Evans. CD1 New Jazz Conceptions recorded in 1956 is a mixture of standards and Evans compositions. My favourite track is "Speak Low" as he explores all the corners and in his 5 minute plus exploration the music just flows.
CD2 is Everybody Digs Bill Evans and comes from 1958 and again is a mix of standards and Evans own work. The standout track on this album is "Night and Day" with its rhythmic drum opening and over 7 minute trio workout.
These are transfers from record to CD and have been digitally remastered. Sleeve notes are by Peter Gamble and the re-issue was produced by Glenn Gretlund for Not Now Music.
Look out also for Oscar Peterson, Songbooks on NOT2CD286 another gem.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
I had the OJC remaster of Everybody Digs Bill Evans and I picked up this up cheap for the other CD in the set. Surprise surprise the sound on this cheapie is better than the OJC one. Whoever remastered it (not stated on the sleeve) did a nice job (the Product Description suggests it's Orrin Keepnews but I doubt that is correct), there's so much more ambience and realism! Everybody Digs is a beautiful album and a must for all Bill Evans fans, while the earlier Jazz Conceptions is also excellent. A bargain!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
If I could award more than 5 stars for this I would. Not only one great album but two under the same cover. Bill Evans was a genius and it shows on these fantastic recordings. Although recorded in 1956 and 1958 the sound reproduction is superb thanks to the digital remastering.
The musicianship of all in the two trio's on show is first class producing some great late night jazz. Bill's solo piano works are particularly brilliant and moving. His influence can be heard in the likes of Jacques Lousier and Michel Legrand who became his contemporaries. A must have album for jazz piano aficionados.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
I'm afraid I have to concur with the previous reviewer, the sound quality of this budget release is poor. To my ear, it sounds as if it has been remastered from an LP and cleaned up. The peak levels are fuzzy (for example when Bill hits two handed chords) and the treble boost to bring out the cymbals is quite pronounced with the effect of foregrounding the tape noise.
Having said that, the music is fantastic, particularly the eponymous second disc. Philly Joe Jones really lifts the group performance and makes things swing, like no other Evans performance I've heard. For the budget price I'm prepared to overlook the sound problems, but I would prefer Original Jazz Classics to bring the Everybody Digs Bill Evans [Keepnews Collection] remaster back into print: it would be worth paying extra for this classic jazz record.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
I was reintroduced to the music of Bill Evans a year or so ago and have been collecting a few of his cds since. "Everybody ...." ranks as some of his best work as leader of trios, his best format. And, which I hadn't realised, this comes as a double cd with the added bonus of the earlier "New Jazz Conceptions"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
This is one of my favourite CD's from Bill Evans, quite remarkabley, over the years it got 31 Grammy nominations, achieving six wins.
It is good value also for the two CD's l thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Hello from Spain (Galicia): this "white piano man" is more than a simple number in history of music. Hope you have some vinyl of this guy becaise it is a pleasure working with you. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This is a great album for fans of cool jazz. I downloaded it in mp3 format and have found that my enhanced pc speakers really do it justice. Marvellous :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)