Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 1 October 2012
After Scott Walker's 60's masterpieces, and, of course, the Walker Brothers own hits in that time, you might expect a bit more of the same. Well there is 'No Regrets' as the first track on the first album, but after that .....
The rest, well, are for completists: The first two albums are (relatively) second-rate. Trying to be a bit more modern; 'rocky' and 'country', but mostly without that extra quality that lifted the previous decades music.

The third album 'Nite Flights' is a bit more difficult, and certainly has no 'pop' music in it. It's deep and dark, and predicts a lot of Scott's later work. That's why I bought this set: because it's the only place to get hold of a copy of the album (at the moment), and I was curious to hear it.

So don't expect the big tunes and production values of the earlier work. These are evolutionary albums, for Scott at least.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2012
Colin Blunstone is one of the all-time great vocalists and these three albums make a perfect CD set if your vinyl copies are long gone or you have only heard the hits. However, the beautiful opening sequence of the 'Journey' album; 'Wonderful/Beginning/Keep the Curtains Closed Today' is ruined by the insertion of track gaps where the songs segue into each other. Sony Music have to fix it and remaster the 'Journey' album while they're at it - perhaps adding the original UK sleeve art. Their initial idea in releasing this set is very welcome but this egregious error should be fixed (and should never have got past quality-control). It's a good job 'Sgt. Pepper' or Pink Floyd have not been exposed to the Sony standard of mastering. A similar problem on the recent reissue of Mike Oldfield's 'Incantations' was fixed pretty quickly by Universal once it was highlighted in reviews. The 5 stars are for the music.

A career-spanning best-of for Colin's solo and guest appearances would be very welcome but probably requires some complex licensing from all the various labels. It would be great to have the original recordings of 'Miles Away' and 'What Becomes of the Broken Hearted' on CD with the series of Alan Parsons songs collected as well.

Unlike many of his contemporaries, Colin is still in great voice and currently on tour with The Zombies. It's a really enjoyable live set and 'I Don't Believe in Miracles' from this CD box was a highlight of the show along with 'Old and Wise' from 'The Eye in the Sky'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
What the hell is going on with these reviews? I came to check out the Willie Nelson 3cd box, and I find reviews for a couple of different Willie cds, and a load for albums by Scott Walker and Colin Blunstone! Sort it out, Amazon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2014
I have been looking to find Nite Flights on CD for a while now so when I saw this collection of albums at a dirt cheap price there was no other option but to buy this set of fine and dandy albums.

The first time I had heard of Scott Walker was through Bowie in 1993 after he covered the title track. From there I had the pleasures of enjoying Scott's albums over the following 20 years. If you have not heard his later solo stuff then you are missing out.

What you get with this trio of albums is some of the most interesting and progressive music you are likely to find. If you have never heard The Walker Brother before then start with this excellent collection of albums.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2010
This review applies to
Original Album Classics: One Year/Ennismore/Journey

So much has been written about Colin Blunstone and his music that I can add little on that count. "Ennismore" is probably the most well regarded of his albums and there will be no disappointment here, nor with "One Year". These two are well worthy of five stars as presented in this package; they do exactly what it says on the box and for those interested in this era, these two will make this package a satisfactory purchase.

My bitterness lies in this edition of "Journey", my favourite of the three. Only available hitherto as one of those strange CDs priced well above its true worth, I was delighted to learn that this package was being released and dived straight in. Sadly, the magic of "Journey" has become RUINED. Why and how, history may eventually reveal but until then it will remain a mystery. The entire album is covered in massive distortion, particularly apparent on the main vocal lines, and not just when they are belting out. Even the quiet vocals are as rough as rhino hide and entirely unrepresentative of typical records of this era - the other two albums in this set evince to that.

To cap it all, there is a massive mastering error in which the "Wonderful" segue between the first three songs has been completely ruined by the presence of a two second silent gap between each of them. This is a schoolboy error in mastering terms and is inexcusable; it transforms one of pop music's great moments into a farce. Did anybody actually LISTEN to this disc before sending it off for pressing? Epic Records (part of Sony Music) owe us an explanation - I would deem this unfit merchandise, worthy of replacement.

In summary, a potentially great package, largely ruined by carelessness.
44 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2012
This collection took me back! I've still got the original LP's in the garage but with nothing to play them on! Lovely memories! Always loved Colin's stunning voice!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2011
No need to give background information - for that, see the previous review!

Most important point to make is that this is the easiest way to acquire the Nite Flights album - which essentially marks the point where Scott Walker started to become what he is now, a progressive composer who transcends boundaries.

His contributions to this album aren't on the level of The Drift, to be sure - they're Bowie-influenced art-rock with hints of avant-garde electronica/jazz-rock, but you can't disrespect that! And remember how far removed they were from what was expected of him musically at the time.

But it isn't an EP disguised as an album: it's a shame the six songs contributed by the other two Walkers have been undervalued. It's true they're not on the same page as Scott - my favorite description (and I can't remember who said it first) is that Scott's been listening to Heroes and Lodger, while John and Gary are still stuck on Young Americans and Station to Station. But, again - nothing's wrong with that. They succeed in making thoroughly modern (for the time) pop-rock, and these songs too may have come as a revelation to long-time Walker watchers (the lyrics are quite extraordinary).

The "filler" here is to be found on the other two albums - No Regrets and Lines are just...rather ordinary '70s adult-contemporary pop. And it's not just song selection that's the problem. What's most frustrating about them is the way the Walkers manage to diminish several great songs (like the Jimmy Cliff and Randy Newman choices) - with feeble arrangements that not even these great vocal stylists can breathe life into.
33 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2013
Three great albums in one package with all of the instantly recognised tracks. Good value. Go on treat yourself, you will not regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2013
What can i say?? superstar songs from a superstar, magnificent music in a very nice case with a rather young picture of Colin himself!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
Great albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Collected
£18.15

Need customer service? Click here