Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2010
the first two discs give us a song each from everyone nominated for the 2010 folk awards and as such does a great job of giving us a 'best of' collection. (the last 12 months being a real good year for folk). For anyone with a passing interest in the current british folk scene this is a great starting point, for those who are familiar with the scene and know most of the scene then the horizen award nominees give us a great introduction to new names on the scene (personal fav would be Katriona Gilmore and Jamie Roberts) oh and dont forget disc 3 - the finalists from the 2010 young folk awards (i'm presuming these are exclusive to this collection)- personal fav on this disc would be Niamh Boadle with Oceana's lullaby.

If we have to be critical then possibily there are too many names familiar from previous awards - maybe the nominations panel are being a little safe and predictable (the inclusion of ade edmonson's bad shepherds covering the jam may seem like a wild card but the band actually consists of some of the folk greats and is far from the novelty track i'd feared before hearing it), It would be quite easy to do a list of names that really did deserve nominations but guess that would be true of most awards.

28 tracks over three discs , nicely packaged with informative sleeve notes, this really is a must buy for anyone with any interest in folk with enough rare gems to keep even the most committed folkies happy.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
Another year, and another of Proper's compilations, surveying the current state of the folk scene. The link to the BBC Folk Awards ensures quality. The 28 tracks on this three-CD set include a song from every singer and band nominated. Seven of the eight tracks nominated for either traditional or original song of the year are here too; presumably the last was omitted to avoid being too Martin Simpson heavy. There are plenty of old favourites here, such as John Kirkpatrick, Simpson himself, and Cara Dillon. We learn that Kirkpatrick's 2009 album was, astonishingly, his first ever collection of original tunes. But there are also a batch of young up and comers such as Hannah James & Sam Sweeney, Megson and Sam Carter.

If you collect folk music, of course, you're likely to have several of the albums represented here already. But you'd have to be pretty persistent to have them all, so there's bound to be a few surprises. And if you don't normally listen to folk at all, this would be a great place to start to get a sense of where British folk music is at right now. A particular treat in that regard is the standout song from Adrian Edmonson's Bad Shepherds folk-punk project; their version of the Jam's "Down in the Tube Station at Midnight."

Once again, there's a third CD with a track from each of the Young Folk Award finalists; my particular favourites this year are the Carrivick Sisters, not shown at their best with the instrumental track here. All these young acts are well worth keeping an eye on.

Again, a great value collection.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Oh dear, I seem to be the minority in thinking that this is the most dreary, dull collection of Folk Awards I have heard, enough to put some listeners off. It seems to me that a 'panel of judges' decided to put the worst of the best all in one disappointing package. I cannot think of anyone who could be converted to liking folk music by this collection. Time for me to stop buying 'Folk Awards' CDs. P.S. Where was Jason Steel, John Tams, Kate Rusby, Dalla, Chris Wood, Karine Polwart, Lunasa and Dick Gaughan.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
The Folk awards are presented annually and owning most yearly Cd's I have to say that this year is one of my Favourites.It is a veritable bran tub of superb performers from buss pass 'John Kirkpatrick' to the young uns like 'The Unthanks' but my favourite is track 9 'Maclaine Colston and Saul Rose'performing The Lazy Farmer.I wonder is Saul related to the ever popular Tony Rose who was/is a superb Folk Artist from down Devon way Many Moons ago.As usual producer John Leonard who is Synonymous with only the very best performers.We old folkies owe so much to John for believing in Folk music in the dark days when our style of song was not popular with listerners who turned to alternative music not forgeting 'old man Harding' who maintains his ever popular BBC 2 FOLK PROGRAME 10/10.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
The music was, as one might expect, exceptionally good however, the cd contained no description or clue as to who was who on the third disc. Unless one fed the disc into a computer where the track listings were displayed, there was no written indication as to who the performers were.

Must do better next time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
Having put off buying the previous years' Folk Awards CDs I decided to go ahead and buy this one...and I was not disappointed! Lots of great songs, singers and musicians, certainly I will be buying more of some of the artists' work. My only negative comment is that there is not much variety. It is mostly the same sort of stuff, and I was disappointed to see only a very small percentage of Scottish artists...very surprising seeing as Scottish folk music is some of the best in the world (IMHO). However, great album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
It's a good selection, sensibly packaged and it's nice to see these people getting more exposure than they might get otherwise. Maybe not as many slightly insane pieces than normal; I miss those.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
This is a good selection of modern folk artists from which you can then purchase their albums. Some of the artists are great some not so great but that what's good about a sampler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
This has been bought as a Christmas gift. So I'm not sure what it sounds like. However the person I have bought it for is into folk music so I have no doubt she will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
3/5 the reason for this rating is that there was only 6 songs that stood out out of 22 tracks, and Bellowhead were not included - the bonus cd was good displaying our potential future folkies - the future looks bright

david p
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here