Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2017
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"…Ruby Baby…How I Want You…" - Original Album Series by THE DRIFTERS (2010 WEA Rhino 5CD Remasters)

Aping the success of Sony's similarly packaged 5CD box sets - WEA/Rhino began releasing 5CD "Original Album Series" mini box sets of their own. Issued in the UK and Europe only - the featured-artists stretch from Rhythm 'n' Blues and Soul icons of the 1950s and 1960s (Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin) all the way through to Metal And Indie bands of the 2000s (Dokken and Echo & The Bunnymen). In 2015 the massively diverse "Original Album Series" now has over 70 titles in its cannon and appears to be ever increasing.

Amongst that massive splurge of talent across all borders - this early 2010 nugget features the first Clyde McPhatter line-up of THE DRIFTERS (2 x R'n'B albums from 1956 and 1958) and then across the following three CDs the group's early Sixties Soulful incarnation fronted by lead vocalists Ben E. King, Rudy Lewis and Johnny Moore. It's a fab mixture of styles and a hugely evocative listen for both periods. Here are the money honey, under the boardwalk and up on the roof details...

UK released March 2010 - the 5CD "Original Album Series" by THE DRIFTERS on Atlantic/Rhino 8122 79837 3 (Barcode 081227983734) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (37:05 minutes, Mono):
1. Without Love There Is Nothing
2. Someday You'll Want Me To Want You
3. Treasure Of Love
4. I'm Not Worthy Of You
5. The Bells Of St. Mary's
6. White Christmas
7. I Make Believe
8. Seven Days
9. Warm Your Heart
10. Money Honey
11. What'cha Gonna Do
12. Such A Night
13. Honey Love
14. Thirty Days
Tracks 1 to 14 are the album "Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters"(aka "Rock & Roll") - released 1956 in the USA on Atlantic LP 8003

Disc 2 (33:23 minutes, Mono):
1. Moonlight Bay
2. Ruby Baby
3. Drip Drop
4. I Gotta Get Myself A Woman
5. Fools Fall In Love
6. Hypnotized
7. Yodee Yakee
8. I Know
9. Soldier Of Fortune
10. Drifting Away From You
11. You Promise To Be Mine
12. It Was A Tear
13. Adorable
14. Steamboat
Tracks 1 to 14 are the album "Rockin' & Driftin'" - released 1958 in the USA on Atlantic LP 8022

Disc 3 (30:13 minutes, Stereo):
1. Save The Last Dance For Me
2. I Count The Tears
3. Somebody New Dancin' With You
4. Jackpot
5. No Sweet Lovin'
6. Sweets For My Sweet
7. Mexican Divorce
8. When My Little Girl Is Smiling
9. Some Kind Of Wonderful
10. Please Stay
11. Nobody But Me
12. Room Full Of Tears
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Save The Last Dance For Me" - released February 1962 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8059 (Produced by Leiber & Stoller)

Disc 4 (30:50 minutes, Stereo):
1. Under The Boardwalk
2. One Way Love
3. On Broadway
4. Didn't It
5. I Feel Good All Over
6. Vaya Con Dios
7. Up On The Roof
8. Rat Race
9. In The Land Of Make Believe
10. If You Don't Come Back
11. Let The Music Play
12. I'll Take You Home
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Under The Boardwalk" - released August 1964 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8099

Disc 5 (32:59 minutes, Stereo):
1. I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing
2. I've Got Sand In My Shoes
3. At The Club
4. I Don't Want To Go On Without You
5. Answer The Phone
6. He's Just A Playboy
7. Follow Me
8. Spanish Lace
9. Chains Of Love
10. Far From The Maddening Crowd
11. The Outside World
12. Come On Over To My Place
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing" - released June 1965 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8113

ARTWORK/PACKAGING:
All five single card sleeves reflect the 'original' front and rear US LP artwork and as you can see from the track numbers above, there are no bonuses (Amazon's listings are incorrect on this), just straightforward Repros of the original American albums. Also each front sleeve is also now 'bordered' with a colour and the label on the CD then reflects that colour code (so no original label artwork reproduced). The outer card box is lightweight and therefore a little bit flimsy (unlike the glossy hard-card Sony issues) and there's no downloadable track details either. Once out of the box though, those cool Atlantic rear sleeves are just so lovely to look at - and even though the type is very small given the 5" size - the original liner notes are actually readable. Very tastily done.

SOUND:
Unlike many other titles in this series (repackaging of crappy Eighties titles that have been in the marketplace for years) these titles ARE the Atlantic/Rhino remasters of old and therefore their sound is just GORGEOUS - really lovely to listen to. Also - stripped of their bonus tracks - you really get the 'feel' of the original album as first produced - and combined with the original artwork on both sides of the card sleeve - they're hugely evocative of the period. In my books this is one of those occasions where 'bonus' tracks would have been unnecessarily intrusive.

Quite apart from two top listening experiences (Fifties R'n'B and Sixties Soul) rolled into one - you get a whopping 25 of their US Billboard R&B Top Thirty hits. Check out this impressive chart placing list - "Money Honey" (1), "Such A Night" (2), "Honey Love" (1), "Bip Bam" (7), "White Christmas" (2), "What'cha Gonna Do" (2), "Adorable" (1), "Steamboat" (5), "Ruby Baby" (10), "I Gotta Get Myself A Woman" and "Soldier Of Fortune" (11), "Fools Fall In Love" (10), "Save The Last Dance For Me" (1), "I Count The Tears" (6), "Some Kind Of Wonderful" (6), "Please Stay" (13), "Sweets For My Sweets" (10), "Up On The Roof" (4), "On Broadway" (7), "I'll Take You Home" (24), "Vaya Con Dios" (10), "One Way Love" (12), "Under The Boardwalk" (1), "I've Got Sand In My Shoes (21) and "At The Club" (10).

But of course even better than the overly familiar singles are those joyous album discoveries like the irresistible boppers "Drip Drop", "Yodee Yakee" and "What'cha Gonna Do?" - all fun Fifties dancers featuring Clyde McPhatter's fabulous warbling vocals as the boys go "...gonna reel, gonna roll..." in the background. From that it goes to the Soul melodrama of "Let The Music Play" (a Burt Bacharach tune with Spanish Harlem vibes), "Sweets For My Sweet" (later a huge pop hit for The Searchers in the UK) and "Come On Over To My Place" (a song that would define their sound for years to come).

Summing up - this little box set is a gem - one of my favourites in the series so far and an awful lot of great music for not a whole lot of money. Spread the talcum powder on the kitchen floor and dig in. Heartily recommended...

PS: With regard to sound - so far the Little Feat, Bread, Los Lobos, Chris Rea, Dr. John, Echo & The Bunnymen and Rickie Lee Jones sets are disappointingly reported as NON REMASTERS. Rhino have been contacted about this and say they are simply repackages of discs already out there - hence some are remasters - some are not. Shame they don't highlight what's what...

PPS: I've also done The Cars, The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, The Spinners, Chic, The Meters, Charles Wright & The 103rd Street Rhythm Band, Graham Central Station, Wilson Pickett, Sly & The Family Stone, Little Feat, The Groundhogs, Warren Zevon, Jimmy Webb, Terry Reid, The Greenwich Village Folk Scene, Bonnie Raitt, Dave Edmunds and more sets in this series - see separate reviews.
33 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 February 2016
CONTENT:

“Original Album Series” by the Drifters, released by Rhino/Atlantic from UK in 2009, contains 5 complete albums. I have compiled a detailed song listing (including album & singles label and number, chart position, release or debut date, plus personal comments)(BB200=Billboard Album Chart; BB Pop=Billboard Hot 100; BB R&B=Billboard Rhythm & Blues Chart; BB AC=Billboard Adult Contemporary Chart; CB Pop=Cash Box Singles Chart; RW Pop=Record World Singles Chart; UK=UK Singles Chart):

DISC 1: LP “CLYDE MCPHATTER & THE DRIFTERS” (Atlantic 8003)(1956):
01 Without Love (There Is Nothing)(Atlantic 45-1117)(a-side)(BB Pop 19/1957; BB R&B 4/1957)(November 1956)
02 Someday You’ll Want Me To Want You (Atlantic 45-1043)(b-side, October 1954)
03 Treasure of Love (Atlantic 45-1092)(a-side)(BB Pop 16/1956; BB R&B 1(1)/1956)(May 1956)
04 I’m Not Worthy Of You
05 The Bells of St. Mary’s (Atlantic 45-1048)(b-side, November 1954)
06 White Christmas (Atlantic 45-1048)(a-side)(BB Pop 80/1955; BB R&B 2(1)/1954)(November 1954)*this song recharted in 1960 & 1962.
07 I Make Believe (Atlantic 45-1117)(b-side, November 1956)
08 Seven Days
09 Warm Your Heart (Atlantic 45-1029)(b-side, May 1954)
10 Money Honey (Atlantic 45-1006)(a-side)(BB R&B 1(11)/1953)(August 1953)*their first single
11 What’cha Gonna Do (Atlantic 45-1055)(a-side)(BB R&B 2(2)/1955)(February 1955)
12 Such A Night (Atlantic 45-1019)(a-side)(BB R&B 2(3)/1954)(February 1954)
13 Honey Love (Atlantic 45-1029)(a-side)(US 21/1954; BB R&B 1(8)/1964; CB Pop 21/1954; RW Pop 77/1954)(May 1954)
14 Thirty Days

DISC 2: LP “ROCKIN’ & DRIFTIN’” (Atlantic 8022)(1959):
01 Moonlight Bay (Atlantic 45-1187)(b-side, May 1958)(BB Pop 72/1958; CB Pop 53/1958)
02 Ruby Baby (Atlantic 45-1089)(a-side)(BB R&B 10/1956)(May 1956)
03 Drip Drop (Atlantic 45-1187)(a-side)(BB Pop 58/1958)(May 1958)
04 I Gotta Get Myself A Woman (Atlantic 45-1101)(a-side)(BB R&B 11/1956)(September 1956)
05 Fools Fall in Love (Atlantic 45-1123)(a-side)(BB Pop 69/1957; BB R&B 10/1957)(January 1957)
06 Hypnotized (Atlantic 45-1141)(a-side)(BB Pop 79/1957)(May 1957)
07 Yodee Yakee (Atlantic 45-1161)(b-side, November 1957)*in the song listing, the title was misspelled as “Yodee Yankee”; sloppy editing!
08 I Know (Atlantic 45-1161)(uncharted a-side, November 1957)
09 Soldier of Fortune (Atlantic 45-1101)(b-side, September 1956)(BB R&B 11/1956)
10 Drifting Away From You (Atlantic 45-1141)(b-side, May 1957)
11 Your Promise To Be Mine (Atlantic 45-1089)(b-side, May 1956)
12 It Was A Tear (Atlantic 45-1123)(b-side, January 1957)
13 Adorable (Atlantic 45-1078)(a-side)(BB R&B 1(1)/1955; CB Pop 40/1955)(October 1955)
14 Steamboat (Atlantic 45-1078)(b-side, October 1955)(BB R&B 5/1955)

DISC 3: LP “SAVE THE LAST DANCE FOR ME” (Atlantic 8059)(1962):
01 Save The Last Dance For Me (Atlantic 45-2071)(a-side)(BB Pop 1(3)/1960; BB R&B 1(1)/1960; CB Pop 1(6)/1960; RW Pop 1(5)/1960; UK 2/1960)(August 1960)*their biggest hit.
02 I Count The Tears (Atlantic 45-2087)(a-side)(BB Pop 17/1960; BB R&B 6/1961; CB Pop 11/1961; RW Pop 11/1960; UK 28/1961)(December 1960)
03 Somebody New Dancin’ with You (Atlantic 45-2127)(b-side, November 1961)
04 Jackpot (Atlantic 45-2151)(b-side, June 1962)
05 No Sweet Lovin’ (Atlantic 45-2105)(b-side, May 1961)
06 Sweets For My Sweet (Atlantic 45-2117)(a-side)(BB Pop 16/1961; BB R&B 10/1961; CB Pop 16/1961; RW Pop 22/1961)(August 1961)
07 Mexican Divorce (Atlantic 45-2134)(b-side, February 1962)(RW Pop 100/1962)
08 When My Little Girl Is Smiling (Atlantic 45-2134)(a-side)(BB Pop 28/1962; CB Pop 18/1962; RW Pop 32/1962; UK 31/1962)(February 1962)
09 Some Kind of Wonderful (Atlantic 45-2096)(a-side)(BB Pop 32/1961; BB R&B 6/1961; CB Pop 11/1961; RW Pop 18/1961)(March 1961)
10 Please Stay (Atlantic 45-2105)(a-side)(BB Pop 14/1961; BB R&B 13/1961; CB Pop 13/1961; RW Pop 17/1961)(May 1961)
11 Nobody But Me (Atlantic 45-2071)(b-side, August 1960)
12 Room Full of Tears (Atlantic 45-2127)(a-side)(BB Pop 72/1961; CB Pop 102/1961)(November 1961)

DISC 4: LP “UNDER THE BROADWALK” (Atlantic 8099)(BB200 40/1964):
01 Under the Broadwalk (Atlantic 45-2237)(a-side)(BB Pop 4/1964; BB R&B 1(3)/1964; CB Pop 5/1964; RW Pop 4/1964; UK 45/1964)(June 1964)
02 One Way Love (Atlantic 45-2225)(a-side)(BB Pop 56/1964; BB R&B 12/1964; CB Pop 83/1964; RW Pop 77/1964)(April 1964)
03 On Broadway (Atlantic 45-2182)(a-side)(BB Pop 9/1963; BB R&B 7/1963; CB Pop 12/1963; RW Pop 15/1963)(March 1963)
04 Didn’t It (Atlantic 45-2225)(b-side, April 1964)*rare gem; CD debut.
05 I Feel Good All Over (Atlantic 45-2201)(b-side, August 1963)*rare gem; CD debut.
06 Vaya Con Dios (Atlantic 45-2216)(a-side)(BB Pop 43/1964; BB R&B 10/1964; CB Pop 42/1964; RW Pop 44/1964)(January 1964)
07 Up On The Roof (Atlantic 45-2162)(a-side)(BB Pop 5/1962; BB R&B 4/1962; CB Pop 6/1962; RW Pop 7/1962)(September 1962)
08 Rat Race (Atlantic 45-2191)(a-side)(BB Pop 71/1963; CB Pop 81/1983; RW Pop 78/1963)(May 1963)
09 In The Land of Make Believe (Atlantic 45-2216)(b-side, January 1964)
10 If You Don’t Come Back (Atlantic 45-2191)(b-side, May 1963)(CB Pop 116/1963)
11 Let The Music Play (Atlantic 45-2182)(b-side, March 1963)
12 I’ll Take You Home (Atlantic 45-2201)(a-side)(BB Pop 25/1963; BB R&B 24/1963; CB Pop 27/1963; RW Pop 21/1963; UK 37/1963)(August 1963)

DISC 5: LP “I’LL TAKE YOU WHERE THE MUSIC’S PLAYING” (Atlantic 8113)(1965):
01 I’ll Take You Where The Music’s Playing (Atlantic 45-2298)(a-side)(BB Pop 51/1965; CB Pop 88/1965; RW Pop 85/1965)(July 1965)
02 I’ve Got Sand In My Shoes (Atlantic 45-2253)(a-side)(BB Pop 33/1964; BB R&B 21/1964; CB Pop 31/1964; RW Pop 29/1964)(September 1964)
03 At the Club (Atlantic 45-2268)(a-side)(BB Pop 43/1965; BB R&B 10/1965; CB Pop 43/1965; RW Pop 32/1965; UK 35/1965)(January 1965)
04 I Don’t Want To Go Without You (Atlantic 45-2237)(b-side, June 1964)
05 Answer the Phone(Atlantic 45-2237)(b-side, June 1964)*rare gem; CD debut.
06 He’s Just A Playboy (Atlantic 45-2253)(b-side, September 1964)(BB Pop 115/1964)
07 Follow Me (Atlantic 45-2292)(a-side)(BB Pop 91/1965; CB Pop 111/1965)(June 1965)*rare gem; CD debut.
08 Spanish Lace (Atlantic 45-2260)(b-side, November 1964)*rare gem; CD debut.
09 Chains of Love (Atlantic 45-2285)(b-side, April 1965)(BB Pop 90/1965; RW Pop 98/1965)*rare gem; CD debut.
10 Far From The Maddening Crowd (Atlantic 45-2298)(b-side, July 1965)*rare gem; CD debut.
11 The Outside World (Atlantic 45-2292)(b-side, June 1965)(CB Pop 112/1965; RW Pop 116/1965)*rare gem; CD debut.
12 Come On Over To My Place (Atlantic 45-2285)(a-side)(BB Pop 60/1965; CB Pop 77/1965; RW Pop 72/1965; UK 40/1965)(April 1965)

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 This is a great way to collect 5 albums of the Drifters, especially those after 1962. As a collector to get all their singles, the album “I’ll Take You Where The Music’s Playing” gave me 5 rare b-sides making their CD debut.
2 The sound is well remastered.
3 All the five albums have their own miniature cardboard case with the original front and back covers, with the original liner notes. Precious! If you find the song titles on the miniature back cover too small, there is a separate song listing on the package back cover.

NEGATIVE POINTS:

1 Misspelling of song title: “Yakee” instead of “Yankee” Sloppy editing!
2 There are no bonus tracks.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The Drifters have a long illustrious career, going through various lead vocalists, like Clyde McPhatter, Johnny Moore, Bill Pinkney, Ben E. King, Charlie Thomas and Rudy Lewis. After achieving major success in US from 1953 to 1970, they have a resurgence of popularity in UK from 1972 to 1980.

If you are interested in their singles, I would highly recommend “Rockin’ And Driftin’: the Drifters Box” (Rhino, 1996, 3CDs, 79 songs, 53-76). If you are more interested in their output prior to 1963, I would highly recommend a recent release “The Complete Releases 1953-62” (Acrobat Music, 3CDs, 2015, 71 songs, with great sound). If you are looking for the later Drifters from 1972 to 1980 (with resurgent popularity in UK), I would highly recommend “First Loves: Complete Drifters Singles 1972 – 80” (Sony, 2CDs, 2010, 33 songs).

As to their albums, there is another album set “Classic Albums” (Real Gone Music) that I would not recommend because there are only 3 albums that are before 1963. If you like the Drifters and their albums, this current set is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Aping the success of Sony's similarly packaged 5CD box sets - WEA/Rhino began releasing 5CD "Original Album Series" mini box sets of their own. Issued in the UK and Europe only - the featured-artists stretch from Rhythm 'n' Blues and Soul icons of the 1950s and 1960s (Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin) all the way through to Metal And Indie bands of the 2000s (Dokken and Echo & The Bunnymen). In 2015 the massively diverse "Original Album Series" now has over 70 titles in its cannon and appears to be ever increasing.

Amongst that massive splurge of talent across all borders - this early 2010 nugget features the first Clyde McPhatter line-up of THE DRIFTERS (2 x R'n'B albums from 1956 and 1958) and then across the following three CDs the group's early Sixties Soulful incarnation fronted by lead vocalists Ben E. King, Rudy Lewis and Johnny Moore. It's a fab mixture of styles and a hugely evocative listen for both periods. Here are the money honey, under the boardwalk and up on the roof details...

UK released March 2010 - the 5CD "Original Album Series" by THE DRIFTERS on Atlantic/Rhino 8122 79837 3 (Barcode 081227983734) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (37:05 minutes, Mono):
1. Without Love There Is Nothing
2. Someday You'll Want Me To Want You
3. Treasure Of Love
4. I'm Not Worthy Of You
5. The Bells Of St. Mary's
6. White Christmas
7. I Make Believe
8. Seven Days
9. Warm Your Heart
10. Money Honey
11. What'cha Gonna Do
12. Such A Night
13. Honey Love
14. Thirty Days
Tracks 1 to 14 are the album "Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters"(aka "Rock & Roll") - released 1956 in the USA on Atlantic LP 8003

Disc 2 (33:23 minutes, Mono):
1. Moonlight Bay
2. Ruby Baby
3. Drip Drop
4. I Gotta Get Myself A Woman
5. Fools Fall In Love
6. Hypnotized
7. Yodee Yakee
8. I Know
9. Soldier Of Fortune
10. Drifting Away From You
11. You Promise To Be Mine
12. It Was A Tear
13. Adorable
14. Steamboat
Tracks 1 to 14 are the album "Rockin' & Driftin'" - released 1958 in the USA on Atlantic LP 8022

Disc 3 (30:13 minutes, Stereo):
1. Save The Last Dance For Me
2. I Count The Tears
3. Somebody New Dancin' With You
4. Jackpot
5. No Sweet Lovin'
6. Sweets For My Sweet
7. Mexican Divorce
8. When My Little Girl Is Smiling
9. Some Kind Of Wonderful
10. Please Stay
11. Nobody But Me
12. Room Full Of Tears
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Save The Last Dance For Me" - released February 1962 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8059 (Produced by Leiber & Stoller)

Disc 4 (30:50 minutes, Stereo):
1. Under The Boardwalk
2. One Way Love
3. On Broadway
4. Didn't It
5. I Feel Good All Over
6. Vaya Con Dios
7. Up On The Roof
8. Rat Race
9. In The Land Of Make Believe
10. If You Don't Come Back
11. Let The Music Play
12. I'll Take You Home
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Under The Boardwalk" - released August 1964 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8099

Disc 5 (32:59 minutes, Stereo):
1. I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing
2. I've Got Sand In My Shoes
3. At The Club
4. I Don't Want To Go On Without You
5. Answer The Phone
6. He's Just A Playboy
7. Follow Me
8. Spanish Lace
9. Chains Of Love
10. Far From The Maddening Crowd
11. The Outside World
12. Come On Over To My Place
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing" - released June 1965 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8113

ARTWORK/PACKAGING:
All five single card sleeves reflect the 'original' front and rear US LP artwork and as you can see from the track numbers above, there are no bonuses (Amazon's listings are incorrect on this), just straightforward Repros of the original American albums. Also each front sleeve is also now 'bordered' with a colour and the label on the CD then reflects that colour code (so no original label artwork reproduced). The outer card box is lightweight and therefore a little bit flimsy (unlike the glossy hard-card Sony issues) and there's no downloadable track details either. Once out of the box though, those cool Atlantic rear sleeves are just so lovely to look at - and even though the type is very small given the 5" size - the original liner notes are actually readable. Very tastily done.

SOUND:
Unlike many other titles in this series (repackaging of crappy Eighties titles that have been in the marketplace for years) these titles ARE the Atlantic/Rhino remasters of old and therefore their sound is just GORGEOUS - really lovely to listen to. Also - stripped of their bonus tracks - you really get the 'feel' of the original album as first produced - and combined with the original artwork on both sides of the card sleeve - they're hugely evocative of the period. In my books this is one of those occasions where 'bonus' tracks would have been unnecessarily intrusive.

Quite apart from two top listening experiences (Fifties R'n'B and Sixties Soul) rolled into one - you get a whopping 25 of their US Billboard R&B Top Thirty hits. Check out this impressive chart placing list - "Money Honey" (1), "Such A Night" (2), "Honey Love" (1), "Bip Bam" (7), "White Christmas" (2), "What'cha Gonna Do" (2), "Adorable" (1), "Steamboat" (5), "Ruby Baby" (10), "I Gotta Get Myself A Woman" and "Soldier Of Fortune" (11), "Fools Fall In Love" (10), "Save The Last Dance For Me" (1), "I Count The Tears" (6), "Some Kind Of Wonderful" (6), "Please Stay" (13), "Sweets For My Sweets" (10), "Up On The Roof" (4), "On Broadway" (7), "I'll Take You Home" (24), "Vaya Con Dios" (10), "One Way Love" (12), "Under The Boardwalk" (1), "I've Got Sand In My Shoes (21) and "At The Club" (10).

But of course even better than the overly familiar singles are those joyous album discoveries like the irresistible boppers "Drip Drop", "Yodee Yakee" and "What'cha Gonna Do?" - all fun Fifties dancers featuring Clyde McPhatter's fabulous warbling vocals as the boys go "...gonna reel, gonna roll..." in the background. From that it goes to the Soul melodrama of "Let The Music Play" (a Burt Bacharach tune with Spanish Harlem vibes), "Sweets For My Sweet" (later a huge pop hit for The Searchers in the UK) and "Come On Over To My Place" (a song that would define their sound for years to come).

Summing up - this little box set is a gem - one of my favourites in the series so far and an awful lot of great music for not a whole lot of money. Spread the talcum powder on the kitchen floor and dig in. Heartily recommended...

PS: With regard to sound - so far the Little Feat, Bread, Los Lobos, Chris Rea, Dr. John, Echo & The Bunnymen and Rickie Lee Jones sets are disappointingly reported as NON REMASTERS. Rhino have been contacted about this and say they are simply repackages of discs already out there - hence some are remasters - some are not. Shame they don't highlight what's what...

PPS: I've also done The Cars, The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, The Spinners, Chic, The Meters, Charles Wright & The 103rd Street Rhythm Band, Graham Central Station, Wilson Pickett, Little Feat, Jimmy Webb, The Groundhogs, Terry Reid and Greenwich Folk Scene sets in this series - see separate reviews.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Aping the success of Sony's similarly packaged 5CD box sets - WEA/Rhino began releasing 5CD "Original Album Series" mini box sets of their own. Issued in the UK and Europe only - the featured-artists stretch from Rhythm 'n' Blues and Soul icons of the 1950s and 1960s (Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin) all the way through to Metal And Indie bands of the 2000s (Dokken and Echo & The Bunnymen). In 2015 the massively diverse "Original Album Series" now has over 70 titles in its cannon and appears to be ever increasing.

Amongst that massive splurge of talent across all borders - this early 2010 nugget features the first Clyde McPhatter line-up of THE DRIFTERS (2 x R'n'B albums from 1956 and 1958) and then across the following three CDs the group's early Sixties Soulful incarnation fronted by lead vocalists Ben E. King, Rudy Lewis and Johnny Moore. It's a fab mixture of styles and a hugely evocative listen for both periods. Here are the money honey, under the boardwalk and up on the roof details...

UK released March 2010 - the 5CD "Original Album Series" by THE DRIFTERS on Atlantic/Rhino 8122 79837 3 (Barcode 081227983734) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (37:05 minutes, Mono):
1. Without Love There Is Nothing
2. Someday You'll Want Me To Want You
3. Treasure Of Love
4. I'm Not Worthy Of You
5. The Bells Of St. Mary's
6. White Christmas
7. I Make Believe
8. Seven Days
9. Warm Your Heart
10. Money Honey
11. What'cha Gonna Do
12. Such A Night
13. Honey Love
14. Thirty Days
Tracks 1 to 14 are the album "Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters"(aka "Rock & Roll") - released 1956 in the USA on Atlantic LP 8003

Disc 2 (33:23 minutes, Mono):
1. Moonlight Bay
2. Ruby Baby
3. Drip Drop
4. I Gotta Get Myself A Woman
5. Fools Fall In Love
6. Hypnotized
7. Yodee Yakee
8. I Know
9. Soldier Of Fortune
10. Drifting Away From You
11. You Promise To Be Mine
12. It Was A Tear
13. Adorable
14. Steamboat
Tracks 1 to 14 are the album "Rockin' & Driftin'" - released 1958 in the USA on Atlantic LP 8022

Disc 3 (30:13 minutes, Stereo):
1. Save The Last Dance For Me
2. I Count The Tears
3. Somebody New Dancin' With You
4. Jackpot
5. No Sweet Lovin'
6. Sweets For My Sweet
7. Mexican Divorce
8. When My Little Girl Is Smiling
9. Some Kind Of Wonderful
10. Please Stay
11. Nobody But Me
12. Room Full Of Tears
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Save The Last Dance For Me" - released February 1962 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8059 (Produced by Leiber & Stoller)

Disc 4 (30:50 minutes, Stereo):
1. Under The Boardwalk
2. One Way Love
3. On Broadway
4. Didn't It
5. I Feel Good All Over
6. Vaya Con Dios
7. Up On The Roof
8. Rat Race
9. In The Land Of Make Believe
10. If You Don't Come Back
11. Let The Music Play
12. I'll Take You Home
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Under The Boardwalk" - released August 1964 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8099

Disc 5 (32:59 minutes, Stereo):
1. I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing
2. I've Got Sand In My Shoes
3. At The Club
4. I Don't Want To Go On Without You
5. Answer The Phone
6. He's Just A Playboy
7. Follow Me
8. Spanish Lace
9. Chains Of Love
10. Far From The Maddening Crowd
11. The Outside World
12. Come On Over To My Place
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing" - released June 1965 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8113

ARTWORK/PACKAGING:
All five single card sleeves reflect the 'original' front and rear US LP artwork and as you can see from the track numbers above, there are no bonuses (Amazon's listings are incorrect on this), just straightforward Repros of the original American albums. Also each front sleeve is also now 'bordered' with a colour and the label on the CD then reflects that colour code (so no original label artwork reproduced). The outer card box is lightweight and therefore a little bit flimsy (unlike the glossy hard-card Sony issues) and there's no downloadable track details either. Once out of the box though, those cool Atlantic rear sleeves are just so lovely to look at - and even though the type is very small given the 5" size - the original liner notes are actually readable. Very tastily done.

SOUND:
Unlike many other titles in this series (repackaging of crappy Eighties titles that have been in the marketplace for years) these titles ARE the Atlantic/Rhino remasters of old and therefore their sound is just GORGEOUS - really lovely to listen to. Also - stripped of their bonus tracks - you really get the 'feel' of the original album as first produced - and combined with the original artwork on both sides of the card sleeve - they're hugely evocative of the period. In my books this is one of those occasions where 'bonus' tracks would have been unnecessarily intrusive.

Quite apart from two top listening experiences (Fifties R'n'B and Sixties Soul) rolled into one - you get a whopping 25 of their US Billboard R&B Top Thirty hits. Check out this impressive chart placing list - "Money Honey" (1), "Such A Night" (2), "Honey Love" (1), "Bip Bam" (7), "White Christmas" (2), "What'cha Gonna Do" (2), "Adorable" (1), "Steamboat" (5), "Ruby Baby" (10), "I Gotta Get Myself A Woman" and "Soldier Of Fortune" (11), "Fools Fall In Love" (10), "Save The Last Dance For Me" (1), "I Count The Tears" (6), "Some Kind Of Wonderful" (6), "Please Stay" (13), "Sweets For My Sweets" (10), "Up On The Roof" (4), "On Broadway" (7), "I'll Take You Home" (24), "Vaya Con Dios" (10), "One Way Love" (12), "Under The Boardwalk" (1), "I've Got Sand In My Shoes (21) and "At The Club" (10).

But of course even better than the overly familiar singles are those joyous album discoveries like the irresistible boppers "Drip Drop", "Yodee Yakee" and "What'cha Gonna Do?" - all fun Fifties dancers featuring Clyde McPhatter's fabulous warbling vocals as the boys go "...gonna reel, gonna roll..." in the background. From that it goes to the Soul melodrama of "Let The Music Play" (a Burt Bacharach tune with Spanish Harlem vibes), "Sweets For My Sweet" (later a huge pop hit for The Searchers in the UK) and "Come On Over To My Place" (a song that would define their sound for years to come).

Summing up - this little box set is a gem - one of my favourites in the series so far and an awful lot of great music for not a whole lot of money. Spread the talcum powder on the kitchen floor and dig in. Heartily recommended...

PS: With regard to sound - so far the Little Feat, Bread, Los Lobos, Chris Rea, Dr. John, Echo & The Bunnymen and Rickie Lee Jones sets are disappointingly reported as NON REMASTERS. Rhino have been contacted about this and say they are simply repackages of discs already out there - hence some are remasters - some are not. Shame they don't highlight what's what...

PPS: I've also done The Cars, The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, The Spinners, Chic, The Meters, Charles Wright & The 103rd Street Rhythm Band, Graham Central Station, Wilson Pickett and Little Feat sets in this series - see separate reviews.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I don't own this set but do have quite a few tracks from it. I'm happy to accept the positive recommendations already made re sound quality and packaging from Mark Berry in his excellent review so that just just leaves the content:

Disc 1: Clyde McPhatter & the Drifters
This is the original Drifters as formed by Clyde McPhatter largely as a backing group to support his own, very considerable, vocal talents. It's a neat summation of this period holding all the essential tracks that the group recorded. This was doowop of the highest quality with one of the best lead singers in the business. McPhatter's gospel background shows early glimpses of the soul music that was to come in several years time - "Without Love" in particular, is a significant precursor of the soul movement. Several other tracks are recognised classics of their ilk. "Money Honey" is better known via the Presley cover but the original has a lot going for it - I have to say that Elvis in his early years, displayed a lot of taste in his choice of songs for covers.

Disc 2: Rockin' and Driftin'
The numbers that comprise this set were recorded after McPhatter left for the army (after his discharge, he went solo). Johnny Moore takes the lead on most of these. Generally these weren't as successful as the McPhatter ones but the quality is still very good. Two great rockers are included in "Ruby Baby" and "Drip Drop".

Disc 3: Save the last dance for me
This is the best known incarnation of the band completely replacing the earlier Drifters who either disbanded or were sacked depending on which version you read. Anyway their manager recruited the Ben E King led Crowns and renamed them. Unfortunately this album misses out on the early material by the band which included fantastic, innovative records like "There goes my Baby", "Dance with me", "True Love, True Love", "This Magic Moment" and "Lonely Winds". That said, the tracks that are on here are uniformly excellent - the title track is still sublime no matter how many times you hear it. This album does very much show the move away from what one might term traditional doowop. The Drifters led the way for the rest of the industry.

Disc 4: Under the boardwalk
More good stuff though Ben E King had gone solo by this time. Just take a look at some of the titles. This was probably the prime period in terms of consistency and hits. I've always really liked "One Way Love", one of their lesser known numbers (also happen to own a great cover by the unsung great, Cliff Bennett). "Vaya Con Dios" is a personal fave as well.

Disc 5: I'll take you where the music's playing
Somewhat lesser known tracks but still decent quality. It's also probably a good place to stop since, in the eyes of this reviewer at least, the group got less interesting as the late 60's approached. On this album the music is very polished but there's a slight feeling that it could be getting rather formulaic.

At the price this set's a bargain. Anyone interested in harmony groups of the 50's and 60's should have some of this already. If not this is an unbelievably good way to pick it up.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To get these five over 40 years plus old albums altogether in one set at the Amazon bargain price is for any Drifters fan a dream come true. The albums come as issued in original covers and sleeve notes, the sound is perfect and one suspects recordings this old are unlikely to see much benefit from remastering and as a career covering the 50s and 60s periods, the set is perfect.

While comments have been made about missing tracks, the lack of booklet notes and one LP "Up on the roof" missing from the set, the preference of fans who have grown up with the original LPs on vinyl is like myself I am sure to keep to the original running orders and not mess with history. True this leads to short running times but at this price is fully acceptable I feel and also explains why no extra booklet is easily justified. The missing LP point is a bit of a curate's egg since a number of the tracks on that LP are on other LPs here notably "Save the last dance for me", so would inevitably lead to several repetitions with little overall benefit. Indeed "Up on the roof" has been included on a separate pairing (with "Under the boardwalk") for the Drifters fan who is a completist (refer my separate review on that item).

Sadly it seems this is likely to be one of the jewels in this set of box set releases from WEA from other comments made and by looking at what has been released.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
This item has 104 tracks listed on the AMAZON UK page
BUT IT ONLY HAS 64! tracks on the 5 cd's
(the original lp versions)
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
So pleased with these albums, all of good sound quality great songs on all the albums, my favourite Take you where the music playing album. Would recommend this to any Drifters fan. Regards Colin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
Great value set if original Drifters albums. Very good sound quality. Good value set to buy of you want to get a good range of Drifters material. My personal preference is the first album of Clyde McPhatter R&B stuff. Stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)