Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Original Album Series [5 Pack]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 February 2016
Described as punk, I'd put it more as halfway between Hipsway and Prefab Sprout. I really like this band never having come across them before. Like so many, the vocals are buried pretty deep in the mix, so be prepared to listen carefully. There's some quite clever stuff in these. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
I've loved the Cars since 'Drive' got linked to Live Aid. Rick Okasek is a real original. Great value as a 5 pack - I was prepared to buy them individually!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
No, not new remasters but thankfully these previously issued discs sound pretty good anyway. 'The Cars,' 'Candy-O' and 'Panorama' are HDCD while 'Shake It Up' and 'Heartbeat City' are standard CD. If, like me, you've never owned the individual albums before, this package is great value. If you already have some or all of these albums on CD then don't look at the Rhino logo and assume that these are new 2010 remasters and a 'must have' as they are not! So you can save your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
I was wanting the first and fifth Cars albums on CD (having bought them on vinyl as a much younger person!) and was told about the Original Album Series. What a bargain - getting the two albums I wanted and being introduced to the three in between, at a really low price for all five. The albums are in cardboard slip covers with the original artwork reproduced, packaged together in a cardboard sleeve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Excellent songs and music, listened to the cars way back in the 80's, still have some vinyl albums, now, the ones I couldn't find for many years, I have it complete thanks to theses CD's, just lay back listen and enjoy, what more do you want, move to the music, it's great, you gotta move that way....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
purchased the set a few days ago to expand my exposure to the cars ; yes it is quite innovative and catchy ; only 'downer' is that the asking-price seems to have been halved , seemingly just after I placed my order!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I never really knew who the Cars were until recently but have rally enjoyed their music and this collection of CD's is great value and covers a lot of their output-excellent stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Excellent item - very good service - quick delivery - A+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Have all theLps now got them on cd good package
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
Very unusually for this series, the albums featured here are the band's first five, from their 1978 debut to 1984's Heartbeat City and as always when you get a complete sequence of recordings, part of the fascination is hearing the progression from album to album. In fairness, there isn't actually too much progression here, at least not when you compare them to contemporary New York bands like Talking Heads who moved over the same period from edgy pop to funky R&B. The Cars always seemed to be a little bit safe and sanitised and that surely accounted for their greater popularity in the US compared to their US new wave peers, albeit at the cost of less success in the UK and much much less critical acclaim generally. So why buy this set? Well simply because they really were rather terrific at doing what they did! The first three albums here are a little too polished maybe, but still jam packed with catchy pop tunes and great keyboard/synth riffs, courtesy of Ric Ocasek and Greg Hawkes, and the production is excellent particularly when the tracks are allowed to run into one another. The 4th album is perhaps the weakest here although peversely giving them their first Top 10 US single and the 5th is also notable mainly for the singles including the anthemic "Drive". These albums may be period pieces, but they are also outstanding examples of US pop music of that time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)