Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Blues
  • Customer reviews



on 15 November 2016
Cleverely buttressed by an intimate 1967 acoustic rendition of Hear My Train A Comin' and a blistering electrified live take of the same from 1970, the tracklist of this compilation is a masterclass in the Blues textures, techniques, tones and styles of Jimi Hendrix. Mixing covers with original material it's a literal motherlode for the Hendrix enthusiast - even though some of the tracks are out-takes or studio jams,

Testament to the qualilty of this compilation is that it was the only Hendrix release to have been carried over from the often maligned Alan Douglas tenure of the catalogue when the Hendrix family finally gained control in 1998, and as such it remains in print to this day, unchanged.

That said, being an Alan Douglas production meant this release couldn't escape undergoing some butchery or other. The almost 9 minute long 'Voodoo Chile Blues' is a hybrid of two takes of 'Voodoo Chile' from the Electric Ladyland sessions. But you know what? It works. Similarly, 'Mannish Boy' was edited together from a number of different takes of the track. So although the infamous "Douglas touch" is in evidence with this compilation, we're not talking extreme or damaging measures such as the deletion of original musicians to be replaced by modern session-musicians, as was the case on some of his earlier Hendrix efforts.

So I'll give Blues a solid 5 star rating.

PS; If you're a Hendrix fan and visiting London be sure to check out the Handel and Hendrix house. It's the home of 17th century composer Handel with Jimi's 1969 apartment on the top floor, accurately recreated by his ex-girlfriend Kathy Etchingham. The place doesn't get nearly enough advertising, but it's a must-see for any Hendrix fan.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 5 May 2016
The great rock guitarist Jimi Hendrix(1942-70) paid his dues playing in countless R & B bands under the name of Jimmy James.
This excellent CD contains 11 blues performances recorded between December 1966 & May 1970 with Hendrix(guitar, vocals); Billy Cox, Noel Redding, Jack Casady(bass); Buddy Miles, Mitch Mitchell(drums); Steve Winwood, Lee Michaels(organ); Sharon Layne(piano) & Unknown(harmonica).
There are fine versions of 'Born Under A Bad Sign', Robert Petway's 'Catfish Blues', Muddy Waters' 'Mannish Boy' and two versions(acoustic & electric) of Hendrix's 'Hear My Train A Comin''.
The music is heartfelt and stripped down and this 72-minute CD demonstrates what a fine blues guitarist Hendrix was.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2013
I feel really sorry for those that have only heard Jimi's studio albums. Dont get me wrong , Vooddo Child & Purple Haze are great songs.....But they are show stopping songs that Jimi put out to show people what he could do and get the attention he needed. I have always preferd Jimi doing the chilled/Jamming type stuff. And this album hits the spot. Worth the price alone for the electric version of "hear my train a comin". Ultimateley .....Jimi was a bluesman. Thats where he did his apprenticeship. He spent 3 years in the deep south when he first left the army. He was rubbing shoulders with BB King & Alber King and played in well over 500 blues venues. Jimi's understanding of blues & jazz guitar was amazing. This is blues with a Jimi attitude...You just got to buy it!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2016
I've only recently heard most of this. This is brilliant. Jimi Hendrix playing and singing freely. He was great singer, not always noticed - this album highlights it. He plays some beautiful straight blues and only occasionally puts in a bit of trademark "airports blowing up". It's a lovely record. It sounds as though he was doing some of these songs to warm up and that they weren't intended for release, so they sound "no pressure". Some really good singing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
I heard one fo the tracks on BBC6 music and noted title and CD etc - ordered it straight away and have now uploaded tracks onto my Brennan. Whether I listen to the CD via the Brennan or my Hifi, hearing Jimi's tracks reminds me of his talent and dexterity on the guitar. If you like Hendrix, you will enjoy this CD

Thank you
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2016
In an alternative universe, Jimi Hendrix is still alive and still entertaining the next generation as a brilliant blues guitarist. In this universe however, all we have left is this too-short Blues album to prove what a talented player and composer he was. I would have been delighted if this were a box set but even as it is, a single album of 11 tracks it is worth its weight in silver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2016
This in my favourite Jimi album as you hear Jimi as a blues man, this album is compiled from Jimi's blues sessions, this is where he really excelled, playing the blues, this album should have been a double album as Jimi has a whole lot more blues tracks gathering dust and hopefully one day they will be commercially available but for now although this album is 20 years old it'll do for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2008
'Blues' is a great collection of Jimi playing the style that infused all of his music. You get awesome performances of 'Hear my train a comin' in both acoustic and electric, as well other songs by him and covers of other blue numbers. 'Mannish Boy' and 'Catfish Blues' are superb and the blues version of 'Voodoo Chile' is out of this world and really good to listen to if you love the version on 'Electric Ladyland' although this one is shorter. Overall this is a good collection of tracks and is perfect to put on when you're in the mood for some blues and only Jimi will do.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2014
Always been a fan of Jimi but I have quite often treated most albums after his death with suspicion. However this is an exception. If you never had any of his albums it would be best to stick to the first three and the 'Cry of Love.' Of the live ones I found the Berkeley concert as one of the better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
What can you say about this that hasnt been said. Its so good. Jimi is on top form playing the genre that inspired him. Every song is strong and the sounf quality is brilliant even on the live tracks. Brilliant production
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)