Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 July 2013
This is a really disappointing sequel to the classic "36th chamber of shaolin" In this one, the emphahsis is more on comedy with the Gordon Liu playing a character predtending to be the character from the first film (confused!) There's too much goofyness and there's a silly character that has stupid prosthetic buck teeth that are just ridiculous. The story isn't as good as the first movie either and this has to be one of the most disappointing sequels i've ever seen. There are far better Shaw Bros films out there, so go check those out but give this one a miss. For Shaw Bros completists only.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2010
Workers of a dye factory have their pay cut by 20% when the owner hires a group of Manchu thugs to increase the production. So the workers get the aid of con man Chao Jen-Cheh (Gordon Liu)to pose as a Shaolin Martial Arts expert to scare the owners into giving them their full pay back but when he gets exposed as a fake, he is forced to join a real Shaolin temple to learn Martial Arts and exact revenge.

Although this film stars Gordon Liu and is called 'Return to the 36th Chamber of Shaolin' it isn't exactly a direct sequel to 'The 36th Chamber of Shaolin'. Gordon Liu stars as different character to the first film but there is quite a few Similarities between the two characters.

There are some great fight sequences throughout, (the best been the amazing fight at the end) but there are also some amazing martial arts displained in the scaffold sequence.

The only real problem I had with this film is the anoying comedy music played over a couple of scenes which would have been so much better if no music had been used, other than that this is a great film and a must see!!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2011
This is, technically, a sequel. That might be obvious from the title but the film doesn't seem like a sequel so finding it after enjoying it so many years ago was not easy. In fact, it was the third film with the phrase '36th chamber' in it that I bought. The first film ( The 36th Chamber Of Shaolin [DVD] [1983] )starred Gordon Liu (or Chia Hui Liu)of KILL BILL 1 & 2 fame as San Te, who founds the 36th Chamber and takes revenge on some Manchus (The Chinese love their scapegoats, luckily its not the English this time) in this sequel, San Te makes an appearence, but played by someone else and Gordon Liu plays Chu Jen-chieh; a conman who imitates San Te. Confused?

Its not that convoluted, especially if you forget about the earlier film and watch this as a self-contained movie, which is essentially what it is. There are some great ideas in it, notably the idea of learning martial arts without being aware that that's what you're doing - a notion made much more famous in the 80's with the release of Karate Kid [DVD] [1984] though this does it well and maybe with more humour. In fact there is quite a lot of comedy in the film, from Chu's doomed attempt to portray a shaolin monk to his realisation that he does indeed know some kung fu. As martial arts comedies go the only thing better might be the amazing Kung Fu Hustle [DVD] [2005] - but back to this one, this is a great movie, good action, good comedy and everything you want from a cheesy late 70's (it was actually 1980 but you know what I mean) Shaw Brothers movie.

Get it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
My mistake, I bought a Region 1 dvd, doh! It's incompatible with UK dvd players. Also, when I did manage to watch it was disappointed with the film. The main character is completely different to the one he played in the 1st film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2015
Great Kung Fu film with a political relevance executed in a light and entertaining way. anyone who did not rate this film didn't know what they were watching, it touches so many levels from humor to deep drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2016
I'm sure it's great! I've had it for months and finally went to watch it only to realise I'd bought the wrong region :-( gutted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
Brilliantly funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse