Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 August 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Delighted to add to my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
One to return to constantly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2017
This is very comprehensive and I will enjoy dipping into this for a long time to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
5* What else to say?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2006
Seamus Heaney is a poet of immense talent and has been described as the most important Irish poet since Yeats.

The earlier poems in this collection are a fascinating insight into Heaney's childhood. Poems such as Mid-Term Break and Digging illustrate this. Other poems like Death of a Naturalist and Thatcher are examples of the way Heaney plays with words, particularly adjectives, to form beautifully structured, exquisite works.

The later poems in this collection are more difficult to understand and go above my head to be honest, but I guess half the fun is trying to work out what they mean.

An enjoyable and interesting read.

Declan Mullan.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Book arrived promptley and was in very good condition, the book itself was for my daughters A level studies she seems pleased with the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
I love this book-its a good selection of the poet's work-my first purchase,and i think its worth buying-not all the poems are well known and not at all of them will appeal .
But i like it well enough to recommend it
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2008
A really rewarding read for anybody interested in truly evocative poetry. Some of the poems require quite a few readings (and even some background research) for their meanings to become clear, but it is well worth it. Includes the classic 'Funeral Rites' (my personal favourite) and 'Casualty', probably the best poem to reveal Heaney's observational talent.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

North
£5.19

Need customer service? Click here