Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
26
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2001
I have always been a big fan of the worst witch and this book is just as pleasing as the rest. In The Worst Witch All At Sea Mildred is forced to leave her Tabby Cat behind when the form go to the seaside. But Mildred cannot bear to leave Tabby so smuggles him along. But for how long can she keep him hidden? And with the interfering Enid and Miss Hardbroom, can she dodge another disaster? This book is fun and completely enjoyable. I couldnt put it down!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Revisiting these stories as an adult was really fantastic, having read the first four books when I was at school (when the TV series first aired). The Worst Witch All At Sea is the book I remember, and the episodes I remember from the show too. The premise, the actual story - all fantastic! Not to mention the artwork by Jill Murphy, my favourite thing about these books, is just improving with every book.

Mildred having to give up Tabby because he doesn't fit in with all of the black cats is heart-breaking. Of course she craves to be back with her beloved pet, who has been given a job in the kitchens as a mouser, and on a school trip to Gloom Cove to visit a character from the previous book (Algernon Rowan-Webb) she manages to swap her replacement cat, Ebony, with her beloved Tabby.

The best part of this whole book for me are the chapters where Mildred learns that Ethel has set the boat she is keeping Tabby on adrift into the night. The emotive language Murphy uses to describe Mildred's fear of the dark, the cold and eventually her sense of hope when she finds Tabby, are so powerful and for a children's book it really had my heart racing both on my first read and my most recent read.

If I could give this book 5000 stars I would.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2007
Rating : 4.0/5
Number in Series : #4
Reason for Reading : A bit of light reading

Worst Witch Mildred Hubble returns for another adventure. Miss Cackle (headmistress of Miss Cackle's Academy for Witches) wants Mildred to swap Tabby, her cat, for better behaved black cat Ebony which will also look better with the school colours.

On the upside Form Two led by Miss Hardbroom have been invited to spend a week's holiday at the seaside visiting magician Mr Rowan-Webb (Mildred rescued him from spending the rest of his life as a frog in A Bad Spell for the Worst Witch - book 3). He lives in Gloom Castle at Grim Cove and there is a tale of hidden treasure on Cat's Head Rock nearby. Things become complicated for Mildred when she secretly takes Tabby on holiday instead of Ebony. She has to hide him and secretly take him food.

This was a really fun book. I read the first three when I was a child and loved them. The illustrations are also by the author and are fantastically well done. It was lovely to revisit some characters from my childhood, especially as I am reading some heavy going books at the moment. I recommend this to anyone looking to escape for a couple of hours and anyone who has kids.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
My seven year old says, 'it was the longest book in the series so far but it was still really good.' It was the first one we have bought for the kindle and it was great to take on holiday. Looking forward to reading the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
We chose these books to read together at bedtime. There are plenty of illustrations to keep her interested but the vocabulary used is quite stretching for my daughter which I think is excellent. The stories are funny and mischievous
And my daughter loves them. We are working our way through the whole set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
This is a wonderful series of books which absolutely enchant and delight our 5 year old friend. She was immensely happy to receive it and finished reading it within about an hour after having received it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
My 7 y.o daughter loves the Worst Witch series and we have read them all. I find them amusing too as the sense of humour is sometimes quite dry. They are good stories and not as predictable as some of the series that are available for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I really like the book the pictures are really good I love the whole book.
I think it is a real page turner. Tabby is sow cute and silly
Ethel is so naughty and clumsy
xxxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
things just keep happening to the worst witch which makes it such interesting reading for the young and "not so young" alike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
my 7 year old daughter loves this series and is really enjoying reading about the adventures of mildred and her friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse