Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 3 March 2017
First let me say i thought"& still do" that Hendrix was a terrible guitarist especially live. He sounded like a schoolboy practicing. But he made 3 great studio albums with the experience this being the best thanks to overdubbing etc.Like most albums i buy on here i had it first many years ago "1968" with the "rude" cover but lost it somewhere along the way. Its nice to own it again.
66 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2012
Electric Ladyland is one of Jimi Hendrix' great achievements and one of the greatest albums of all time...

But this edition is dreadful, with poor sound, the ''distorted ladies' album cover which Jimi hated and the truly stupid track layout of sides one and four on the first CD and sides two and three on the second. What was Polydor thinking?

I think this was the first CD issue of the album, it has a lot of hiss and doesn't sound as good as a decent LP pressing - subsequent single disc releases by Reprise (no longer available) and the Estate are far better and have the correct running order.

Avoid at all costs unless you really must have everything.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2012
On a trip to the US recently - I found this 180 gm vinyl version for less than 10 bucks. This has always been my favourite JH album due to its variety and innovation. The point here is that if you really want to enjoy JH in his best aural surroundings - then this is the version to get. This re-master sounds just spectacular to these ears. I recall my old student copy didn't sound anything as good, although admittedly I now have a much superior hi-fi to listen with.

Only downside is that this version doesn't have the UK naughty lady artwork - silly US prudes!!

I envy the new generation discovering JH as we all did some 3 or 4 decades ago. Imagine hearing All Along The Watchtower for the first time. And then comparing him with the current crop of dreary nonentities. Of course, he has never been surpassed as a guitar god, but my worry is that nobody of the current generation even understands the enormity of JH's legacy. Budding guitar heroes are not going to find fortune on a TV talent show or in a revolting tribute band. JH truly loved his instrument and his music. Isn't that enough for the current generation to learn from?
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2014
I was 12. After badgering my Mum she'd bought me a cheap Spanish Acoustic guitar for my birthday. I'd driven the family mad plinking away at the damn thing, but had mastered some basic chords and a couple of easy songs. Then my brother, then 18, came home with a copy of this album; with its original cover of 19 naked women on it. Teenage male hormones beginning to assert themselves in me, I took an interest in said album cover. Further inspection showed it to be a double album. Never one to do things in order I put on side 4 first. 'Well! Hello!' a wah wah guitar perfectly intoned. What! I was hooked. The up beat but still laid back funk of Still Raining, Still Dreaming gave way to House Burning Down with wonderful fills and impeccable soundpainting throughout (especially Jimi's wonderful giant boat from space landing with eerie grace). Next up was all Along The Watchtower, and to wrap it all up Voodoo Chile (Slight Return) that was, and still remains utterly astounding. How was guitar playing like this possible? I soon learnt that everyone has always asked the same question since late1966.
This is Jimi's magnum opus. If Are You Experienced, Axid Bold as Love, The Woodstock Star Spangled Banner, that killer live version of Johhny B Goode from Berkeley; if none of those existed but this did, he would still be considered the most gifted musician ever to pick up the electric guitar.
If you're used to modern heavy metal with often somewhat scary looking gentlemen performing feats of considerable technical skill on the guitar but haven't heard any Hendrix, give this a go. This is what happens when technical mastery and limitless musical imagination combine. Our scary looking gentlemen might be technical skilled, but often lack in imagination - this is what true guitar genius sounds like. And do you think thrash metal can sound angry? Ah well, try the aforementioned Voodoo Chile (Slight Return), the guitar is so threatening it tattoos itself onto your audio memory! Just as Beethoven turned music into his own, personal language in his late quartets and piano sonatas so too does Hendrix on this album with the guitar. He was and still remains utterly unique.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2012
This latest incarnation of Electric Ladyland (it is unclear whether this is a new remastering or not) comes with a DVD of the 1997 Classic Albums documentary, expanded to 85 minutes (around twice the length of the televised version).
That the album is a masterpiece is not in question. That it, along with Sgt Pepper, heralded the-way-that-an-album-should-be-made lends it a slightly dubious legacy to those who favour the get-it-down-quick approach to rock'n'roll.
The documentary consists of Ladyland engineer Eddie Kramer revisiting the original 8-track tapes song by song at a mixing desk. The bearded, pony-tailed Kramer does a good job of hosting the piece, though his resemblance to Eric Idle's character from The Rutles is uncanny. The usual suspects are interviewed, including Mitchell, Redding, Chandler, Winwood, Dave Mason, Buddy Miles and Jack Casady (clutching the most beautiful gold-coloured semi-acoustic Gibson bass guitar).
The film, however, gives insight into the necessity of this new, time-evaporating approach in this particular instance with this particular genius. Kramer sheds light on the painstaking but innovative experimentation Jimi took to get the sound exactly how he envisioned; the mandolin effect on `Burning of the Midnight Lamp'; the comb kazoo on Crosstown Traffic. He highlights Jimi's virtuosity; arranging and layering multiple vocal and guitar tracks to make, well, beautiful timeless music.
We know that the sessions were full of hangers-on, which pissed-off both Noel and Chas, who, with hilarious Geordie logic, observes that "if you were a car mechanic you wouldn't take your friends along to watch you fix a car."
The film's gem, for me, is a hauntingly beautiful unreleased demo of `Gypsy Eyes', with a completely different melody and structure from the finished version.
The booklet is disappointing; its photos are of varying quality, and accompanied by Derek Taylor's stream of (hippy) consciousness. Of great interest, however, are Jimi's handwritten instructions for the album's artwork. Jimi hated the cover. The naked ladies were the work of Lambert and Stamp.
There can scarce be a Hendrix fan/rock music fan who doesn't know this album. Whether you'll want to fork out for it yet again depends just how Experienced you are.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2016
Great Hendrix album and this pressing sounds good. Pity not the original cover though.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The third album from The Jimi Hendrix Experience was released in 1968 and, more than 40 years on, justifiably finds its place in most people's top ten greatest rock albums of all time.

However the fame/notoriety of EL doesn't really do it justice: to realise just how ground-breaking and innovative this project was, how revolutionary in concept and execution, you need to listen to it against other music from the period. Hendrix re-defined what could be done with the electric guitar and his excellent song-writing, experimentation with sound and uniquely creative lyrics offer a rewarding experience to anyone interested in the evolution of modern music.

The original 2-disk album had 16 tracks of varying length (of course on the vinyl - the only format available until the 1980s - this meant four `sides' of music). The running order chosen by Jimi and put out on release was:

Side 1
1. And the Gods Made Love
2. Have you ever been to Electric Ladyland?
3. Cross Town Traffic
4. Voodoo Chile (the long, bluesy version)

Side 2
1. Little Miss Strange (composed by Noel Redding)
2. Long Hot Summer Night
3. Come on (let the good times roll)
4. Gypsy Eyes
5. Burning of the Midnight Lamp

Side 3
1. Rainy Day, Dream Away
2. 1983: A Merman I should turn to be...
3. Moon, turn the Tides

Side 4
1. Still Raining, still Dreaming
2. House Burning Down
3. All along the Watchtower (Jimi's seminal and definitive version of Bob Dylan's original song)
4. Voodoo Chile slight return (the 5-minute full-on version with that famous intro)

Now, this album contains everything: first-class electric blues (`Voodoo Chile'); experimental soundscape (`And the Gods...', `Moon turn the Tides'); gospel-derived/choral-driven ballads (`Long Hot Summer Night', `Burning of the Midnight Lamp'); crisply executed danceable rock (`Cross Town Traffic', `Come On', `Gypsy Eyes'); extended, spaced-out experiment in psychedelia (`1983...' listen to Pink Floyd's `Echoes' from 1971 and speculate where the inspiration came from); the powerful and mind-expanding (`VCSL'); a first-class hit single in an unusual minor key inspiring a shiver-down-the-spine feel (`All along the Watchtower').

Hendrix was a virtuoso musician and a visionary, never afraid to experiment with the new. Here on EL, in one timeless project, you have it all. His guitar style, frequently imitated, has never really been equalled: he was a one-off, a fountain of creativity cut off in his prime.

Now you have several versions of EL to choose from. The main choice is between:

1. The original 2-disc set from Polydor with sides 1&4 on one disc and 2&3 on the other, as with the 1968 vinyl release (however because of the CD format you'll hear sides 1&4 run together, then 2&3 on the second disc which doesn't work so well when listening to the whole work). This version has the original nude cover art, which you might feel worth having if you care for authenticity (though of course it's not the astounding 24" x 12" size of the vinyl cover)

2. The `Authorised Hendrix Family Edition' with its tell-tale yellow and purple rectangular sticker, which claims to be `digitally remastered' but it's hard to tell the difference in sound quality - in fact to these ears, there is virtually no difference. Here you get the whole album on one disk with the correct 1-2-3-4 running order as originally intended, plus a DVD of questionable value titled `An Inside Look' and a few photos of the trio relaxing. You'll likely pay a bit more for this version, as the royalties go to the extended family (all three of the JHE are now deceased, Mitchell as recently as 2008, and Jimi had no known children to inherit anything)

3. Or you can download it, track by track

So, take your pick. But regardless of which version you choose, if you care about the history of rock music and want the classic and the best in your collection, you should buy `Electric Ladyland.'
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2009
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2017
This is review of 1993 Polydor edition of Electric Ladyland.
Electric Ladyland is a must for each fan of Hendrix and lover of classic guitar rock. Elements of different subgenres of the 70s could be easily traced on this album. I wouldn't loose time to describe you different songs - there's a lot of reviews here and a lot of editions you could buy.
Why remastered edition from 1993 is superior?
It was remastered by Alan Douglas, producer who worked with Jimi in the end of his life.
I know there are a lot of listeners who like to hear raw sound of Jimi - and it's good. But there's possibility to hear his playing in detailes, as a work of impressionist artist. This edition gives this unique possibility to the listener. Since that time this version of remastering were never re-released - so use this possibilty, compare sound remastered by Alan Douglas with other editions, and make your choice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
It was the most daring / innovative album ever released...
It was controversial . it was light years ahead of anything that came before or after , it was jazz/ blues/ rock and some elements that couldn't be described...
It was the future the past, an all in one time capsule and has been one of the most influential albums to have ever been released.
To this day it remains this great man's crowning glory.

NB- I bought it in two stages of release ( my mother wouldn't allow me to buy the naked double, plus the fact I could save up and get it as two albums.
It was felt by some that the original cover ( naked strippers/ prostitutes) was deemed to be offensive and had to be sold in a brown paper bag !!

Remember this was 1968 .

It was then released as two separate albums with two very different covers...( worth checking out -if you can find them ) ...

My only gripe has ever been Noel Redding's 'Little Miss Strange' ...hate it with a passion and for me destroys the whole feel of the record...
With modern technology it is easy to eliminate this 'very bad penny'
...That's it ...

One of the greatest albums ever made ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Are You Experienced
Axis: Bold As Love

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)