Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
26
2.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.64+ Free shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2017
as with all fairuza films it went straight to my fairuza film store, ta, c.j.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
'Grindstone Road' has been widely described as 'not that good but not that bad' and I have to say I'm in 100% agreement.

It has plenty going for it; for one the plot is strong and despite being yet another 'couple move house after a recent trauma' offering, it is different and neatly finds it own space amidst the packed sub-genre. The acting is fine and the few twists along the way original enough - the problem is it's all a little 'safe'!

What I mean is the scares are few and far between and when they come they don't really deliver. In addition, we don't get to know quite enough about the characters and what tension there is doesn't quite get there. The first half of the film is a bit plodding and uneventful but thankfully the last 30 minutes or so are strong and relatively rewarding.

'Grindstone Road' feels like it was made for a pre-watershead TV slot, so much so you'd struggle to say it's a horror film at all. I don't want to knock it too much as ultimately I sat through it and it held my attention enough to ride it out - just don't expect a white knuckle horror ride though! Best to think of it like visiting Alton Towers and going on the Tea Cups instead of Nemesis!

If you can pick 'Grindstone Road' up cheaply I would take a look, but please, if you're a hardened horror fan don't expect much in the way of thrills.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I had such high hopes for this movie when it first started. It is intelligently written, not too much was being given away, one was ceremoniously offered the backwater (mildly) creepy old house, then there were the overly friendly, (obviously weird) old couple next door and PRESTO! the stage is set. Mum and dad have moved back to mums childhood town after a terrible car accident that has left their 11 year old son in a year long coma. Mum (Fairuza Balk) is racked with guilt, dad (Some Bloke)is the cool and calm psychiatrist. Convinced that his wife's having a mental and nervous breakdown, when she reports seeing 'things' and hearing things. This hearing and seeing things all started when mum discovers that many years ago a young boy with the same name and of the same age as her own son mysteriously disappeared. From here she goes on a mission to discover and uncover the truth behind the boys disappearance which she does with surprisingly little hindrance (except from her "You're just stressed and traumatised" rationalising husband). From now on this had all the potential it could possibly have wished for to be a genuinely creepy, 'scrape your nerves along edges of steel' and 'make you jump out of your seat' with shadow play, noises and general good old fashioned haunted house effects. Unfortunately it all turns out to be quite pedestrian and even verges on a feel good thriller, rather than taking full advantage of what is actually a genuinely decent plot with a genuinely decent cast, and really all in all it lets itself down, and the the viewer who was hoping for some genuine icy chills and make you go "Ahh" moments. its actually rather difficult to even put this film down as a chiller/thriller/horror, as it does not satisfy any of the criteria for any of them, all in all a very odd mix of a thriller with a feel good ending.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
Hannah and Graham are still struggling to come to terms with the car accident which robbed them of their son Daniel who now lies in a coma. A year after the accident and with Daniel showing no signs of emerging from his coma they buy an old farmhouse near the hospital and set about renovating it.
Hannah sees and hears strange things in the house but Graham insists that it is just her guilt and grief and that she is imagining things so Hannah sets out to the uncover the truth about the house.
The film started out well but it then seemed to drag on and I found myself getting bored. The ending had a nice twist which is why I rated it three stars as I was only going to give it two stars.
Not a bad film but not great either. The storyline is slow and the acting isn't fantastic but I've seen worse films.
I saw this on tv but I would have been disappointed if I'd bought it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
A couple of good jump scares early on otherwise not really a horror film as such. An enjoyable watch though and Fairuza Balk carries off her role believably. Greg Bryk as her husband not so convincing in my opinion. A good story that isn't great and really overall earns the 3 stars I gave it and no more. I wouldn't watch it again because once you know the ending there is not enough to make it worth a second viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
I BOUGHT THIS FROM ONLY ONE REVIEW , AND NOT KNOWING WHAT TO EXPECT . I THINK THIS A DIFFERENT SUPERNATURAL GHOST STORY WITH A TWIST AT THE END . IT IS WELL ACTED WITH A FEW SHOCKS , BEST TO WATCH WITH THE LIGHTS OFF . IVE NOT HEARD OF THIS FILM BEFORE AND SAW IT BY CHANCE ON AMAZON , IM GLAD I TOOK A CHANCE WITH THIS FILM , WELL WORTH THE PRICE 4 STARS
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Similar films done before hence 4 stars. However very good and entertaining piece. Watched through till end without lookinhg at clock. Well put together and good acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
Surprised that this film was actually very good for it's genre. A plot, a twist and passable acting - more than I can say for a number of recent films of this type
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
A bit of a let down its like a murder mistery suspence.put the clues together.it has no frights and not scarey.I did expect more but not the worst and not the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I really enjoyed this film; mainly due to the lead actress' ability to build realistic tension and suspense as she slowly descends almost into madness, but not quite, as she struggles to cope with a heartbreaking situation which is very supernatural in parts, it seems; and, despite her husband's initial scepticism over what she's trying to tell him, - which is very real and not all in her mind as he assumes, - is she important enough to him for him to believe her as weird events increase in their intensity?.

She has been in lots of films and is excellent in this one too: skillfully encouraging the viewer to feel and experience her character's anguish as she battles to deal with her guilt from the past and the threat of possibly losing someone very dear to her in the near future, due to an unexpected occurrence and interference from a spirit person and other factors. The neighbours are brilliant too and add a dimension of rising creepiness as the story unfolds into a climax of paranormal brilliance as it becomes clear that they are far from innocent and that the house harbours a dark secret which wants to become badly known.

I highly recommend this film if you enjoy lots of suspense, paranormal and supernatural elements and a film that oozes atmosphere and provides many goosebump moments (creaking doors, unexplained noises and corner of the eye shadows) and it is sustained by excellent quality acting from the two main characters, which isn't always the case in other films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)