Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
95
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2010
There is something compelling about atrocious rudeness that appeals to the British sense of humour. Martin Clunes has mastered this art to perfection in the character of Doc Martin. This fourth series did not disappoint and the simple story lines remained true to its predecessors. As Doc Martin administers to his patients without patience, blithely unaware of his offensive manner, one can not help sympathising with him and secretly desiring to have the fortitude to behave in a similar manner. Throughout, all the acting is brilliant, the timing painfully spot-on and the cringe worthy scenarios a tribute to the series' writers. We need more of the same. This is TV comedy at its best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
Doc Martin i have seen all the series and series 4 is just as good as the rest.
Great story's, witty,sad and interesting,Martin Clunes is just perfect,very good series all the way through.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
This fourth series was a big disappointment. So much so that I have no intention of adding it to the three series I already own and have watched several times through. And for me, the biggest reason for that disappointment is the introduction of the visiting ex student colleague of Martin Ellingham, Edith Montgomery, played by Edith Williams.

Now a high flyer in private practice (of course, what else?) she's an interfering pain of a woman whose constant patronising and belittling of the eponymous doctor throughout the series is a plot element which serves merely to irritate and detracts to an unacceptable degree from that quirky humour which is the life blood (forgive the pun) of this otherwise excellent series.

The stumbling relationship of the Doc and village schoolteacher, Louisa Glasson, and their ongoing will they/won't they get together awkwardness, has always been central to the proceedings in this drama. And the fact that this aspect of the series takes a somewhat back seat after the pregnant Louisa tells the Doc she wants to be independent of him and the focus turns to whether Martin will take up the offer of a surgery post in London, takes away much of that central fascination between the doctor and Miss Glasson and the series suffers greatly as a result.

The overall sense is that, even though this is only the fourth series, there's already a running out of ideas which, once the viewing public pick up on this, is the kiss off death for any drama. The accent this time around is too much on Doc Martin's phobia and concern over his possible departure from the village and far too little on that irresistibly quirky humour that has made this series such a delight.

A further example of this is the precious little emphasis on the delightful relationship between Bert and his son, Al - another essential element given far too little prominence this time around.

In short, this series ignores the essential individual comedic elements which have made for such a fascinating and delightful whole in the past and focuses instead on the much drier (and not at all funny) aspects of the Doctor's blood phobia and his dithering over whether he'll be moving back into private practice.

Advice for Series 5 - get all the lovable characters like Auntie Joan, Bert, Al and Pauline the receptionist back centre stage, bring back Stewart Right as the original village bobby, PC Mark Mylow, because he fitted the part so very well and get back to the crazy, quirky little storylines that made the first three series such a delight.

But most of all, heaven forbid that the dreadful Edith Montgomery should become a regular character. For goodness' sake send her back to London, or wherever she came from, never to return to Portwenn again.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
I absolutely adored this series, the chemistry between the two main characters was amaziong and believable. i have to say i was a bit concerned at first when they said they were going to do a new series after the way the last series ended but Dominic Minghella really made this series probably the best one of this show.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
The English version of House and we love every episode. Going to be very sorry when they stop making new episodes. We buy every one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
At series four, you might expect an idea and a cast to start to loose pulse, but this is not the case with Doc Martin and Co. As it happens, Martin Clunes' character is not the strength of this outing - the writers have confused social ineptness with aggressive rudeness, and he becomes less funny or sympathetic as a result. But, nevertheless, this series works well because the supporting cast are so grounded in their characters - and apparently so happy playing them. The production rips along. The eight-episode series operates in a defined time frame of four months, and the increased continuity between episodes enhances the interest. The introduction of Lia Williams to the cast is a stroke of genius. Her character is a nice foil to Martin and her performance is terrific. Those who found the final episode of series 3 a tad perverse will be favourably impressed with the culmination of this series. But what does it say about the possibility of a fifth series?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
What a fantastic series. I absolutely love Doc Martin. I watched the whole series 4 in one weekend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
I have all three of the previous series and have to say I was disappointed in series 4. Not as funny unless you find blood funny and there's plenty of it in this series. Martin Clunes is, as usual, perfect in every way but it seems to me that the writers are running out of ideas.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
Martin Clunes and others continue at their very best. The whole series is easy watching, humorous, cringe-making at times, but overall hugely entertaining. We have had the pleasure to visit this location ourselves and it is a truly beautiful part of the country and this series continues to do it justice.
MC is the Doctor behaving badly who seems to have gone through a character bypass in his past and he is very ably supported by a professional cast (and i believe a number locals) who really manage to bring this beautiful fishing village alive.
The story develops the ongoing roller-coast relationship between Doc Martin and Louise who still has, it seems, a few surprises in her!
I strongly recommend this series, as i would the others. It is one you will be happy to watch over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
We have loved all previous three Doc Martin Series, but many reviews I read from UK
fans were not very positive in their reviews of series 4. My wife and I totally enjoyed series
4, more then the other three. There was real character development with some challanges
for the all the cast, Auntie Joan, Bert, Louisa and the others all grew. Frankly it was a
little more real world stroies and issues. We hope this series runs for many years, it's
Martin Clunes at his best.
Without great writting you have nothing to build on, Doc Martin has that in spades, with
a very talented and supurb cast.

Michael Seibert
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse