Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.85+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 June 2010
You know how it is with buses, none for ages then several all come along at the same time...well, 2010 is shaping up on the same basis on the guitar wizard front.
Having only just extricated the most recent and best offering from Jeff Beck from my CD player, now we get the latest set of tunes from one of the most under-rated musicians/songwriters that GB has ever turned out and again, (IMHO) this has got to be the best and indeed, most eclectic mix ever.
While I have sometimes been taken aback by Steve because of the variety of styles he can turn out in one album, one thing you cannot get away from is the man's originality and all here beautifully showcased. If heavy electric rock/blues is your thing, then "Tubehead" and "Still Waters" will have you tapping your feet particularly the latter with it's soaring, chattering, sometimes manic solos.
The closing track "Last Train To Istanbul" evidences Steve's ability to take evocative eastern music and turn it into a beautiful, soaring musical landscape. For the eclectic mix of styles, try "Nomads" which combines a flamenco opening and finishes with a rocking flurry and the classy "Ghost In The Glass" provides the slightly jazzier end.
The bonus album is simply that - some live renditions of some of Steve's concert favourites - although I have to add that I have heard better versions - it's just the singing that's a little shaky - but on top of that there is an extra studio cut too in the form of "Every Star In The Night Sky" which for some reason, didn't make the cut for the main album.........although it most certainly should have!
If you know the man's music, you don't need to be told - for everyone else, what on earth are you waiting for....BUY!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
This is so far the best album from Steve Hackett since the genesis years, I have followed his work since the first solo album and this has some of the freshness which were on those first albums, coverart could be better, but what the hell :o) This album has all the aspects of Steve Hackett's music, from soft romantic to scarry mystical passages into Prog Rock, BUY IT, you will not regret!!!
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
Here is another masterpiece from one of the most creative and imaginative musicians/composers on the planet. Like his previous albums Wild Orchids, To Watch the Storms, Darktown and others, this new one boldly goes where few are going: music and songs of real imagination, depth, power and passion. Melodies and lyrics hit straight to the heart and arrangements blow the mind. Not to mention the brilliant playing and performances. A real shame that he is so under appreciated because his albums, this included, beat the heck out of every light-weight album by Phil Collins and every post-Gabriel Genesis album. To anyone who seeks uncompromising music of adventure and integrity, this album and the music of this man is the real deal. Procure at once and you will not be disappointed!! Sheer genius....
33 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
I have to say, I love this piece of music. Its now on my priority list of music at the moment. I listen a lot to the old Genesis albums and decided to give this one a go. I have not been dissapointed. From start to finish played on a good system its a gem. My Bose has not sounded so good for a while.
If you love wind and wuthering,trick of the tail etc then try this.
Also been backtracking to Steve Hillage Green, another nice piece of music.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2010
This, along with Asia's 'Omega' is the best album I've heard this year. Although I'm very familiar with Hackett's work with Genesis, with 'Selling England By The Pound', 'A Trick Of The Tail' and 'Wind And Wuthering' being the best in my opinion, I've never tried his solo work until now. The reviews I'd read about 'Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth' had been so good, I felt inclined to invest in a copy. I'm glad I did, because this is an outstanding record.
Right from the opener 'Fire On The Moon', I knew I was in for a good time. It's a killer track with a hypnotic melody, ghostly vocals and a bolero style bass from Yes's Chris Squire.
'Nomads' shows Hackett's Spanish guitar skills and the gypsy theme is very potent before bursting into some scorching prog.
Next track 'Emerald and Ash' is a bitter suite ballad, with some lovely acoustic guitar before breaking into some stark rock. It's a hell of a piece.
'Tubehead' which follows is an energy burst instrumental track with a thumping rhythm section and the kind of guitar pyrotechnics which border on heavy metal.
'Sleepers' is perhaps the centrepiece of the record. It's a real epic that mixes folk and prog with some startlingly good symphonic orchestration. Absolutely glorious stuff.
Not being a fan of either jazz or blues the next two tracks 'Ghost In The Glass' and 'Still Waters' aren't as strong as the previous numbers for me but are still enjoyable enough thanks to Hackett's flawless playing.
Final track 'Last Train To Istanbul' is a real tour de force, which again has some fantastic orchestration and has a genuine Eastern feel to it which packs a punch in terms of atmosphere and drama.
You won't find many albums this year that are packed with as much variety as this effort. What Hackett and his fellow musos manage to achieve here is a fusion of prog and world music that sounds fresh, modern and relevant and while there are lots of styles and sounds on display, there's a haunting ethereal quality running through each track that gives the whole thing a sense of uniformity.
Hackett's guitarwork is awesome. The pastoral, autumnal sound he is famous for is there in spades, but he adds some real electric guitar histrionics, that would give Iron Maiden a run for their money, plus a blues performance on 'Still Waters' that would put any New Orleans resident to shame.
As for the bonus disc, it's a clutch of live tracks, of which the old Genesis numbers 'Blood On The Rooftops' and 'Firth Of Fifth' are fairly predictable highlights.
I've had to start shelling out on Steve Hackett's back catalogue now, as well as parting with some well earned cash for his Holmfirth gig later this year thanks to this album.
Don't delay, buy today!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2010
I agree! Greatly missed when he left Genesis! Always was and always will be a class guitarist, but his albums from his first to his present are at times hard to get into, very experimental at times sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't, most I like some I don't! Just wish he'd have employed a good solid vocalist though.
Anyway back to this album, after a few listens I got into this and it's very strong early on `Fire on the Moon' and `Emerald & Ash' are my favourite tracks, then fizzles out a bit over the last couple of tracks, not as strong an album as Spectral Mornings, Defector, Highly Strung or Cured, but still worth buying, as its far superior than some of the rubbish music that's being released upon us at the moment? Keep it up Mr Hackett!!!!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
Steve is one of the most underrated musicians in this country, he was incredible in Genesis, and I have to say even better now. The way he throws different styles in a pot, gives them a stir, and creates musical masterpieces, is pure genius, I like them all but sleepers just shades it for me, so if you like well arranged music from a guy who knows how to play and get the best and most from a guitar, buy this and everything else he has ever done. oh! and see him live!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
In short, a stunning piece of work from Mr Hackett that confirms every fan's reason for having continuing faith in this musician . He excels again. The first track is a tour de force - turn it up real loud! I love all of it. The appearance of Anthony Philips on the album is heart warming and the latter's 12 string work is just wonderful. How someone can present so much different music style with such class is just amazing. Mr Hackett never fails to deliver.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
Here is another masterpiece from one of the most creative and imaginative musicians/composers on the planet. Like his previous albums Wild Orchids, To Watch the Storms, Darktown and others, this new one boldly goes where few are going: music and songs of real imagination, depth, power and passion. Melodies and lyrics hit straight to the heart and arrangements blow the mind. Not to mention the brilliant playing and performances. A real shame that he is so under appreciated because his albums, this included, beat the heck out of every light-weight album by Phil Collins and every post-Gabriel Genesis album (and even recent Gabriel albums). To anyone who seeks uncompromising music of adventure and integrity, this album and the music of this man is the real deal. Procure at once and you will not be disappointed!! Sheer genius....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
In my opinion Mr H is the only member of the classic Genesis 5 piece line-up to emerge with both his integrity and artistic mojo well intact. Sonically he's the master of dynamism, "Fire on the Moon" being a classic example of a sly beginning betraying the big forces never far up his sleeve. The album's lyrics give us, whether we want it or not, an insight into his relationship with Kim Poor, and quite honestly I find that side of it all a bit doleful and perhaps a bit too personal. "Emerald and Ash" with its sonic insinuations as well as lyrical ones makes you feel you've lived some of their personal history a bit too vicariously. I can't be alone in wishing them both well, but I feel like the mutual friend stranded between loyalties in someone else's divorce and that always makes me feel awkward. All that aside, Steve remains an unsung hero, deserving of far greater success with an enviable work ethic for which he should be rewarded suitably. "Out of the Tunnel's Mouth" shows just how much he can still knock out new fusions and make musical connections with singular originality. Whether it's better or worse than previous releases is a bit of fatuous chin-stroking; Steve's always worth a punt of your shekels and this one is no different. Buy, play, enjoy, empathise and wish you too could play the guitar this well!!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse