Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.78+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2011
As an American RAF enthusiast, my opportunity to view film footage of RAF aircraft at better than YouTube quality is rare, so I frequently purchase DVDs from the UK. This production is quite well done, and I would reccomend it to anyone interested in the Sunderland, flying boats, the Short company, and RAF Coastal Command. Much great archival footage, my reason for ordering such DVDs, is abundant, and the script is accurate and well put together.

The interview segments were very interesting, but could have been intercut with more B-roll rather than just locking down the camera on the speaker for interminable periods. One of the elderly gents interviewed experiences a rather unfortunate but quite humorous comb-over malfunction caused by a gentle breeze. Having worked on many video crews I found it surprising that the producers did not cut and fix the poor fellow's hair before proceeding with the interview.

The only down side to this program is the use of extended sequences of the world's last remaining flyable Sunderland (a modified airline version now in Florida with Kermit Weeks), set to absolutely tragic music. I would have liked to see much more archival footage, which, though expensive, does exist. While the production would have been incomplete if mention of the Fantasy of Flight Sunderland had been absent, I felt that the hour was unnecessarily filled up with these nicely shot but overly lengthy sequences.

All in all, however, this DVD is worth watching if you are interested in this classic British flying boat.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
I bought this because my father used to fly Sunderlands and was based in Seletar. Enjoyed it, just wished it had been longer, there must be more footage out there.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Great documentary about this amazing flying boat. No mention about its service in the Royal NZ Air Force, where they were valued as maritime patrol aircraft in the South Pacific until the mid 1960s...the MOTAT museum in Auckland has one on display along with a Solent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
Have always had a fascination with flying boats of all types, but especially those made by Shorts at Rochester.

A bygone era - luxury living and travel for the minority, what a way to go!

Also a wonderful and efficient workhorse during WWII. Anyone interested in the 30's and 40's should find this account fascinating and informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Lovely to see footage of wonderful aeroplane which was flying before I was born and to learn more about the bravery of the men who flew them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
The Short Sunderland Flying Boat Operational service through the Second World War and the only RAF air craft to preform front-line duties of the whole of the Korean war, the Sunderland was one of the very few types to remain in operational service from 1938- to retirement in 1959. when I built my airfix kit when I was a young boy there was hardly any film material avialable to see these magnificant planes doing their work. this is an Excellent DVD. Also I would thourougly suggest the Excellent magazine SUNDERLAND THE RAF'S LEGENDARY PROTECTOR OF THE SEA LANES ISBN 978-1-907426-28-5 £7.95 [...]
wayne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
this covers the Short Sunderland quite well, although I would have liked a bit more on the construction and layout of the aircraft.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Interesting to watch but found it a little bitty. However to anyone interested in the subject it is a good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
Although there is a lot of footage of the civilianised and only airworthy version of the Sunderland, there is quite a bit of the 'real thing' in b & w.
Interesting comments from ex-aircrew.
Pity about the cringeworthy pronunciation of RAF Seletar as 'Cellar-Tar' it is, as all ex FEAF types know, 'Sell-ee-tar'!
And why do some English people ape some Americans and talk of 'Kill-OM-etters'? Do they say, 'Kill-OG-rams' as well?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
A great DVD, lots of good flying and information, perfect. Very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)