Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
9
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2011
Excellent film telling the story about the struggle and heart-ache in developing penicillin and working in the toughest of conditions, with a superb cast. Scrabbling what little equipment they could (broken bed-pans notwithstanding) and fighting for funds to research and test the painstaking process of develping the precious culture, Florey and his team were nothing short of heroes. Then along comes Fleming to take all the credit, and the US team patent the drug and charge the British team for royalties, while the government saw it as part of the war effort (save British, not enemy lives etc). Florey and his scientists put medicine and patients before their own personal gain, eventually rightly rewarded in sharing a Nobel prize with Fleming. We watched this with our 9 and 6-year olds and we all loved it. Makes you think how vulnerable we are without the advancement of properly-resourced medical research and how we should respect anti-biotics a bit more when you see the kinds of infections people were dying of, and the efforts that went into making distribution possible.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
This was an enthalling story and quite enlightening. However, it again showed how greed takes over and those who actually did all the work got very little credit for it. At the end of the movie, it did report on those who were represented in the film and what happened to them and the honours or awards that some of them actually received many years after the event.

This film takes the history of penicillin from the first discovery to the finished product and the ways the various workers constructed the equipment to produce it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
This back story about Howard Florey, Norman Heatly and Ernst Chain was beautifully told. We all know about Alexander Fleming but it was great to see the real hard work that Florey, Heatly and Chain carried out to extract penicillin and ensure it was safe for human use. To see the innovative ways that Heatly used to extract the penicillin I found very interesting - especially as it gave Joe Armstrong lots of well-deserved screen time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I bought this to help with my GCSE revision on the development of penicillin, but after watching it once and making notes on the events, I just kept watching it again and again and again until I knew the story inside out!
It made my revision really really enjoyable and definitely paid off, got an A* in the exam.
Even though I'm well past GCSEs now, I still put it on now and again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
This is an excellent docu-drama that captures the intelligence of the people making this amazing discovery BUT the difficulty to get backing. Eventually a US company backs these brilliant British doctors!
Worth watching, but not visual scenes showing the nature of infections at its worst.
DOCTORS will love this as a gift !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Tells the story of Penicillin from the discovery to the time when it was proved to be the medical break-though we know today. Suitable for twelve years old and over as it is a little drawn out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Well written, well acted and educational! Would watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Once again it is impossible to give review simply as a person with hearing difficulties it was unwatchable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
Dominic West is a fantastic actor, but the film was a bit disappointing/boring, I had expected more.
It is nice enough but I wouldn't see it for a second time... too slow.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here