Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 April 2017
Gerard Butler at his best, in an action film. Jamie Foxx is a very effective foil as the lawyer trying to out think the increasingly violent consequences of his part in not standing up for justice when Butler's wife is killed during a home invasion. It's quickly apparent that Butler is the culprit, but how does he do it? It's very gory in places, violent pretty much from start to finish, but very entertaining, and for me, better than the 'has fallen' series. Much less pretentsion, much pure pure entertainment. Is it believable? No. But I think we all know when we press play, that it's only a film. Kick back, put your brain in neutral, and enjoy.
An Angel's Alternative
Cold Steel on the Rocks
We Are Cold Steel
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2017
So possibly this might happen in an alternate dimension where the clocks strike thirteen and yes, it does stretch plausibility, but it's good. You will cheer on the good guy, then think he's going just a tad too far, then you'll switch allegiance and cheer the other good guy, then you'll get confused. Point is that when IT happens, you'll want to do exactly the same thing shown in this film. You'll want it to be true.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
Great film! A must see. It's different - there's plenty of twists and turns, you put yourself in the position of the "good guy" (Bad guy) and also the "bad guy" (Not so bad guy) - Just believe what you see and watch it to the end
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2013
Gerard Butler is a normal guy with a wife & young daughter. 2 burgulars break in to his house and kill his wife & daughter. The law system sucks and does not do him any fair justice, so revenge will be taken on everyone that has helped to do him wrong! A really great film, with his actions quite unexpected. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this thriller/action film.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2013
Gerard Butler, is a stunning looking man, though I do think he often looks as if he's wearing a really naff wig! ;O)

I admit to only watching this after having seen "300," and saw it on the box a while back and enjoyed it so much that I thought I'd buy this, as it's such a reasonable price.

For me, this is a must see film as it deals, albeit, in a rather fantastical way, with a subject matter that a number of people would feel needs addressing, i.e. that the victims of crime, so often, do not feel they're getting justice for crimes committed against or around them..

But, in exception to the sort of mindless glorification of vigilantism which has graced our screens for decades, this takes things one step further and has the protagonist going against going up against the system as well as the criminals..

I, for one, was absolutely captivated by it and more than a little shocked on occasion, as apart from one, or two ridiculous scenarios, it remains rooted in some sort of possibility..

I'd thoroughly recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2015
A brilliant film for Gerard Butler, he has a wonderful way of projecting to the audience all the emotions of the characters he plays. The vengeful father character builds steadily throughout the film. He kills without mercy the two men responsible for the murders of his wife and daughter, and you find yourself cheering him along, even when he takes his revenge on the judicial system that allowed men like this to walk free on bail or with a deal from the District Attorney. Jamie Foxx plays a superb part as the state prosecutor, attempting to get inside the mind of a genius killer and stop him before it's too late.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2017
Good performances across the board in a film with a troubling moral compass, a shaky grasp on the importance of civil rights, an accurate critique on certain aspects of the justice system and some fiendish plotting and plotting fiends. Can revenge ever be right (beyond satisfying a primal itch)? Do murderers deserve the death penalty? Why are you cheering for a sociopath? Just some of the questions you might ask yourself while watching Law Abiding Citizen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
This movie was one of the best Gérard Butler films I have seen. The action and story was on point. It also helps that my main man Gérard has the lead role. I can listen to that man all day long lol.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2015
Exagerated and yet exciting tale of vengeance, where the main character seems almost supernatural. Action, thriller, social subtextes and just one thing I did not like: the usual puritan sense of justice and midlleclass hypocritical morality that always prevails in most american movies, even when the film seems to criticize it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2013
Possibly one of Gerard Butler's best movie, this story has the feeling of Justice being done, even in an unorthodox way as Butler characters achieves it. It makes you think, feel and hope... even if it is clear how it is gonna end you still hope someway, somehow he finds justice for himself too.
Ultimately he does what everyone would love to have the guts to do to someone that destroys your life, and he also proves that the system is not always right even when they try to put things right.
Lots of thinking all splashed in a discreet amount of blood and tears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)