Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 22 January 2011
This cd contains a wonderful collection from two world class artists in this genre. A well-devised selection of tracks that confirms both Django Erinhardt and Stephane Grappelli to be absolute virtusos of their day. What's great about this cd is that like all 'musical favourites', you will never tire of listening to it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As you would expect from these two fine musicians,this timeless jazz is very good, Some tracks include vocals as well, which add to the variation in the songs. I have most of their albums now, and this one has some songs which are not on other albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
This isn't nostalgia, it's real music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
Having recently enjoyed staying in California, in some charming Victorian clapboard B&Bs, where they served up free wines and played some lovely, atmospheric, swing violin music in the background, as the rays of the evening sun filtered in through the wooden plantation shutters. I guessed this music was probably Grappelli & Reinhardt so I decided to buy this CD in order to relive the memories. This turned out to be the very album they had played and it's lovely. All I need now is a glimmer of spring sunshine and I can dream myself back there! Mmhh.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
I can normally get a bit het up with discs that don't give personnels or recording details but in this case I don't think it particularly matters. It's a little like Jerry Lee Lewis who was once asked who was on a record he had made. The reply was 'I'm on it. What more do you need to know?' I feel much the same about Django. Whenever he plays it really doesn't matter who else is there: he is the one to listen to.
All the tunes on this two disc set seem to come from before the war, there is no electric guitar and no accompaniment apart from violin and rhythm. Grapelli plays pleasant, slightly romantic piano on a few tracks and there are occasional vocals that cause no harm. Many, but not all, of the best loved tunes are here but there are also lesser known numbers. In other words this is a fine selection of the classic Hot Club Quintet.
Grapelli throughout plays swinging attractive violin, very tuneful, but always slightly sweet toned. He plays very well, but it doesn't really matter when compared to Django. There are miles and miles of his boundless genius. He plays, both on ballads and swingers, as if he had ceaseless invention and the ability to go on for ever without ever running out of inspiration. He was an absolute original and one of the greatest soloists the music has produced.
The Quintet had a unique sound (although later much copied) which was a combination of Gallic charm and hard driving jazz. Ultimately, the view you take of the set will depend upon the view you take of that particular sound but what cannot be ignored is the sheer genius of that man Django.
There are two and a half hours of music here for a very reasonable price so it has to be a bit of a bargain.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
This is my first Django Reinhardt and Stephane Grappelli cd in my music collection, and who could possibly like Stephane;s music?, but the two jamming together, is out of this world. I am so pleased to have made this discovery, and have purchased more cd's by the two artists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
The rythyms will get your feet tapping ..... but the sound quality is not that good...... on the other hand there are plenty of tracks to listen to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
I am a great lover of Django and this recording does him brave, I have experienced no problems and would encourage anyone to purchase it.
regards B Hearn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
This is a great re-mastering of a great sound by two of the giants of jazz. A wonderful selection of tracks showing the immense talent of fantastic musicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Ultimate Collection
£4.99
Swing In Paris
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)