Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
34
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2010
This item is not waterproof first time out in the rain and you can hardly read the tax disc any more.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
well it does what its supposed to do what more can i say its ok but its not waterproof so if you use it on your motor bike gat the tax disc lamanated first then it will be ok
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
Well bought a fancy one for £15 aluminium and screws rusted so quickly, let in water onto tax disc so not good, then could not get screws undone as mashed easy. Bought this and though basic, much, much better designed for uk weather conditions. You cannot go wrong
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
We buy these for our company to put on to mobility scooters and powerchairs. They do what they say and are the ideal size to bolt on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
Does what it needs to do although the rubber seal is not as tight as it could be and lets moisture in.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
only just put this on so I cannot comment on the waterproofing that seems to be highlighted in a few reviews. however this basic little holder seems OKAY at the moment. the seal isnt the tightest which would explain any waterproofing issues however the holder is of a good size and isnt too bulky. Bought this to replace an old chrome lump of a thing on my FZR400 and it seems to be okay!!! for the price it seems good, i mean, why pay a tenner for a fancy one when you can get this and descreetly tuck it behind a hanger or something!! who wants to look at a tax disc even if it is carbon look plastic...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
ordered item and it arrived very quickly, been on the bike a while now, and been through many rain storms, and the tax disc stayed bone dry, very happy with this product
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
Looks good, easy to fit, mine has allowed moisture in, so take care in heavy spray.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2012
Not Waterproof, never mind 100% so however

The item now comes with soft flexible rubber seal which is in all honesty just as good as the earlier harder plastic ones, but its still not waterproof at all.

I wrap my tax in clingfilm and allow the excess clingfilm to bunch up at the back of the disc, when in place this then causes a little pressure between the plastic glass and the seal as the clingfilm tail/ball needs to be compressed. I find that in most circumstances
except for jet washing, the tax disc will remain clearly visible if not totally bone dry for the duration.

Consider the Cost £2.84 with no postage, I've ordered 3 more for my other bikes, a can of primer and paint to respray the older ones cost more than buying new. You get what you pay for or in this case I would suggest perhaps a tad more so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
The previous owner of my bike had gone for the carbon fibre/allen bolts type of holder. When i had to change the disc in this it was a right faff and wasn't waterproof afterwards.

This one is simplicity itself: a rubber gasket holds the glass on to the backplate. If it's down by the wheel I doubt it will remain waterproof but I've laminated my disc to get round this.

The only downside I can see is it'll be a lot easier to steal the disc, but thats the price you pay for the lack of hassle changing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)