Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2013
Plenty of great ballads not all played by the best singers . 'The town I loved so well' is so strongly associated with Luke Kelly of the Dubliners that no one else could really do it justice - same applies to 'Raglan Road'. The problem with compilations is that you get the good with the bad and spend a deal of time moving on from the dross to songs that you like. So a mixed bag - all great songs but not necessarily sung by the best people.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
This compilation is really well worth its money! Despite the low price and the somewhat cheap looking cover, one gets a very good impression of the variety and beauty of Irish music. I really enjoyed most songs a lot, and even my colleagues in the office have started complaining only after the fourth repetition of this fiver album. From some songs even, I have definitely not yet found any better version than the one on this disc in the whole www and elsewhere. For example, Ronny Drews interpretation of "Since Maggie Went Away" I'd consider worth some quids itself. For Frances Black's breathtaking "Ploughboy Lads", I'd sacrifice a good meal if I had to...
But also if you do not like the soft ones, you can hardly make a mistake with this great compilation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Somewhat of a mixed bunch on this cd.Some great,some good,some not so good and some very bad.I have to admit it was a bit laborious listening to all of the cd so it was a case of skipping over all the rubbish until I found a song I liked.Unfortunately they were few and far between.I would've liked to take ,maybe 20-24 songs and put them on a seperate cd and dumped the rest as most of it was really quite boring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Loved all about this cd. great selection of Irish songs sung by well known artists,woul recommend this (3 disc) cd to anyone who loves Irish music. All songs were in full not medleys. Delivery and packaging were excellant. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Really enjoyed this box set - have played all 5 CDs several times. Would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys Irish music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Contains all the old favourites plus some you might not have on other compilations but by original artists not covers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I chose this for a long car journey and enjoyed the variety despite having a preference for some more than others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
3rd time we have bought this as enjoy it enough to buy as gift for friends and relations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
arrived ahead if time, easy listening for many hours to come. very pleased I bought it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Excellent quality in every aspect. Would recommend to anyone to purchase this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse