Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 May 2010
Played on Windows Vista 64bit.

Well after recently completing another point and click adventure Memento Mori  i had the adventure itch & couldn't wait to get stuck into the sequel of Black Mirror  having played the original adventure a few years ago & enjoying it very much. There is even an option in BM2's settings to allow you to use the original mouse pointer, for the more nostalgic of us, which was a nice touch i thought. Black Mirror 2 does the original great justice IMO & certainly blows Memento Mori, which i recently played, out of the water in all honesty. BM2's story leads on from the original games story but some XX years later as you'd expect, i don't want to give too much away story wise, so lets just say it starts out in America this time, and yes, we do get to go back to Willow Creek.

Visually this game is excellent, top notch for a PnC adventure game, i certainly cannot fault it. A beautifully re-created small sleepy American village on the coast of Maine, think of it like Cabbot Cove in the Murder She Wrote T.V series, a quaint little out of the way place. The developers certainly did a good job making it come to life, not only visually, but the audio is also a match for the visual quality. The ambient sounds bring the village or rather, the game, to life. The voice acting is also very strong across the board with all the characters, even the main characters voice, although to begin with it's a bit nasal due to the accent, but does get stronger & better as the game goes along & it grows on you more.

The games UI is very good, you have your usual PnC adventure inventory, here it scrolls up at the bottom of the screen when you put your mouse to the edge. And all the comings & goings of inventory items is well done, as a picture of them appears on screen, then the picture glides down/or up to/from your inventory, simple but well thought out. Apart from the great graphics, sound & UI, this game is also very non-linear to start off with, although you are given objectives/tasks to complete, you can wander around the village at your leisure collecting inventory items or chatting with the locals. This is a nice change from more linear games, where you are shoe horned into doing things a certain way, although this is sadly limited to early on in the game, it is a very nice change of pace.

In conclusion, i would highly recommend this game to any point and click adventure gamer, and certainly a must have if you played the original Black Mirror game. Likewise i would also recommend playing the original Black Mirror game to anyone who is thinking of getting this (it's visually dated but still enjoyable), but hasn't played it yet, as it will certainly makes things more enjoyable in terms of being part of the story & enjoying the continuity. Highly recommended.
44 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
Just buy it, you will not be disapointed! It's such a good game. Only downside is it ended. If you love games like Barrow Hill, Dark Fall, 7th Guest type of games, this is one of the best ones. Black Mirror 1 is also excellent. Very upset when I completed that one too. LOVE IT!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
I was looking forward to this game, as I enjoyed Black Mirror 1. Unfortunely it didn't live up to expectations.

The puzzles were quite good, but could have been a bit more complex. There were a variety of characters and locations to keep the game interesting. The story line was fairly good, although not as gripping as I had hoped.

My biggest problem with this game was there was far too much dialogue. A lot of it was unneccesary and I found myself impatiently left clicking to get through the dialogue in order to progress with the game.

Overall I would still recommend the gamebut have only given it 3 stars as it has not been as good as other games I played over the last few years.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
I just finished playing BM2, so time for a review.

First of all, I did not play the first game so I cannot make any comparison.

I really much enjoyed playing it and as others have written, one is disappointed when it comes to an end. The story line was evolving throughout the game, starting "harmless" in a small coastal town in the US - moving to locations near a small English Village called Willow Creek, where atmosphere becomes darker and darker.

The voice acting, especially of the main character, evolved along the story line. While the protagonist seems arrogant at the start, he evolved the more he gets drawn into the story. The good music and atmospherical effects added up nicely to the overall impression of the various locations.

The graphics is also very appealing, one really wants to wander around to explore the various places.

Technically, the game is up to the modern PnC-standard, it can be played in resolutions up to 1680x1050 with some nice weather effects and good audio output. Little help functions are added, like hot-spot highlighting or a diary which is often quite helpful. Personally on some occasions i also found the "emergency" buttons for some riddles helpful, but surely this is something other PnC-fans would never use. It is a feature that can be turned off too right from the start so you won't get tempted.

anyway, here is someone looking forward to part 3...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2010
"Black Mirror II takes place in the 1990's, twelve years after the original game. Solitary Darren meets the cute Angelina while he is working at the local photo shop of Biddeford, a small town in New England. Angelina also catches the eye of Darren's despotic, unpopular boss. To add to the mystery, there seems to be a third person interested in Angelina -- Darren sees someone chasing her. He decides to investigate these incidents, and his research soon lead him to several locations, such as the small English village of Willow Creek that players will know from the first game."
If you like adventure games get this one, great game and well recommended

review from the "adventure gamers" website
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
In a world dominated by 1st person shooters, this is a little oasis of peaceful
thought! Comparisons are inevitably made; opinions always differ, but I was very
pleased with the overall effect of this game. I had no technical problems and the
interface was very good for me. Things that bother others, like voice acting and
poor translations go straight over my head...and it's very pretty!
It's not a short game so I figure it's good value for cash expended. As usual, I
was unable to complete it without a walkthrough! Fair enough!
If you like these games, then I consider it to be essential material
for your entertainment and thoroughly recommend it. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
The graphic is fine, but what game doesn't have a decent graphic nowadays?! Characters do move a bit stiffly but that's a minor aspect in p&C games. I was expected something special in terms of storyline, considering that the first Black Mirror had a pretty fascinating atmosphere and some nice characters lines. In this squeal the Gothic, mysterious atmosphere has gone somehow lost. Overall, if you liked the first Black Mirror and you are a fan of the series you will enjoy this 2nd game well enough if you don't expect too much from it. One last let down point for me: puzzles were far too easy and not that many.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
Way, way too much dialogue which isn't entirely relevant to the story.
The main character is annoying and would have been arrested by now for the amount of stealing and trespassing he gets up to, totally unbelievable.
The tasks you are supposed to do are mundane and it's all too slow paced.
I uninstalled half way through as I couldn't take any more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
A great sequel, already pre-ordered for the 3rd Black Mirror. Another great game for Adventure fans. Good graphics, sounds, puzzles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 July 2010
I really loved this game. Visually stunning, it kept me occupied for days! I would thoroughly recommend this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)