Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
69
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2009
I had the original Spirit filled Life Bible so when I saw the new I had to get it and it now includes many different contributors to the notes from various denominations so more information but not at the cost of the Truth.

The NKJV stays just as poetic as the Authorized KJV yet is easier to read and understand. There are those scriptures in the Bible that are hard to understand and this Bible provides help in the form of Word Wealth which explains the meaning of the word via Strong's with even more information added. Also various other goldmines of information such as Truth-in-Action at the end of every book and Kingdom Dynamics throughout, footnotes, fully referenced, maps, charts, how to outreach section at the back... the list goes on!

Another notable feature is the fully in depth look at Revelation from various viewpoints, Pre-tribulation rapture view, Mid-tribulation view etc without just the one view it makes it accessible to all without bias.

All that information and yet it is not too heavy to pick up! Great Word, great book, great translation (in my humble opinion), loads of information but not so much that your head hurts and you can still carry it about!

Top marks!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2007
I bought this bible after years of using and NIV with various study guides.

Firstly the language of the NKJV is a joy: retaining much of the beauty and authority of the KJV, but in a much easier to assimilate style. It does not resort to modern slang or political correctness though, which is very good.

Secondly the study aids are intuitive and not too distracting. There always seems to be help with the very bits I seek clarity on, and the threads that run through this fine bible: "word wealth! and " kingdom Dynamics", for example, provide surprising applicability into the readers life.

Finally it is a beautifully laid out tome that is a pleasure to own and read for pleasure as well as in study.

High recommended to anyone who would seek a better understanding of this most important book.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
My pastor used this Bible for years, and I always wanted one, since he had it. He was an amazing teacher, and so I thought it would be good to use the same Bible he did. I eventually persuaded my wife to get one on our mission trip to Uganda in 2007.

I think my favourite part of the this study Bible is the Word Wealth. As you read, little boxes within the text explain the meaning of certain words in Hebrew or Greek, which gives you a fuller understanding of the original meaning of the text. This has resulted in some enlightening and "Oh wow!" experiences.

It is a Pentecostal/Charismatic Bible or at least leans heavily in that direction. So if that is not your thing, this Bible is probably not for you. It is dispensational too in it's understanding of history and eschatology, though in the book of Revelation it presents all major views of interpretation.

The back of the book has many articles relating to Christian life and experience by many well-known pastors, teachers and evangelists including Reinhard Bonnke and Jack Hayford.

Overall it's a good study Bible with all the usual features you would expect from a Bible of this type. Well worth the price, as I paid 80 for it at the time (about double!)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
This is the Bible, the word of God. It is a most precious book in this translation, and I have enjoyed it and will continue to recommened this endition to people. There are many Bibles out now and good ones too, but for myself being a minister and many other ministers I have spoken to, they too prefer this one. I use it in teaching. I love it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
My husband says that this is a great bible. Passages are explained at the bottom of the page and the word wealth sections explain things and put forward other verses throughout the bible that are relevant to the piece of scripture you are reading. For example you could be reading a verse in the Book of Acts then the concordance section at the bottom explains the verse and states see a verse in Isaiah whatever chapter or say Ephesians. When you then read these verses it is along the same lines, or a subplot or God stating what happened or will happen in the very verses of Acts that you were initially reading. Its a great bible that ties the old testament in with the new and the word wealth and concordance sections really help explain Jesus' plan and his power and glory and the role and power of The Holy Spirit. My husband states it is a powerful and easy to understand bible which is true to The King James Version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
I received this bible a few weeks ago and can recommend this purchase. The bible is well made, the pages are clearly set out. And their are comments include transliterated Greek and Hebrew terms. A useful concordance is included. As well as comments on verses, their is also clear editorial sections (book summaries etc) included. A legible and valuable resource that is carriable as well. Mike Taylor.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
Was looking for a different translation to read. Have been a believer for twenty years and started off with the NIV the went on to the NLT, so was looking for something a bit different to challenge me. This bible is great for study because there is so much in there for you, and the more difficult english makes you read it a few times so that it sinks in. Would recommend it for anyone who wants a more in depth study of the word. Good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
This is an excellent translation keeping the poetry and excellent language of the King James Bible whilst bringing new insights in translation methods and new archaeological discoveries. It also brings up to date archaic language. A good accurate translation that flows and is easy for memorization. The notes and explanations are also very good.
A good choice for a study Bible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I've looked at a few study bibles and must say that this is one of the best. I listened to Jack Hayford speak and his books as well as this bible are excellent. I think the Word Wealth and Kingdom Dynamics is very good but the book introductions are the best i've seen. The print is a good size (9.5 or 10 point i've seen somewhere), bonded leather cover quality is better than many (although i'd rather buy calfskin or goatskin), size 242 x 164 mm make it a good size which will fit in most covers - not too large like some large print bibles.

I'd say i bought this for his notes and perhaps would have been better to buy his Handbook which is an alternative. He and MacArthur seem to have done similar and both works i wouldn't want to be without.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
best bible i have ever owned. i also own the older version which was fantastic but due to small print could no longer read,so this large print was perfect
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse