Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
Wild Style: 25th Anniversary Special Edition [DVD] [1982]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 June 2012
I have been a fan of Rap/Hip hop since the late 70's and had never seen this film. Recently I acquired a copy and the circle is complete. Don't buy this film thinking that its a massive block buster cos its not. What you get is a badly acted, poor story line movie, that would have been better as a documentary as that is really what it is. I know Fab 5 Freddy wanted to boost the awareness of the Rap culture including the street art and dancin and that is what he achieved but a documentary would have worked better in my opinion.

Rant aside, this is a gem, its full of very young pioneers of rap, grafitti and street dance that are true artists. this is a must for anyone studying urban music history its a cracker and I have watched it a number of times and still cannot wait until the last 13 mins as that is when you really get a feel for how it really was back in the early 80's. Its good and it is quite unique and a must for any music memorabilia collector.

I was lucky enough to get the DVD with the extras and they are worth watching as it gives you a greater understanding of the idea behind the movie and some of the content.

I gave 4 stars to this movie, not because it is not worthy of 5 but I think it would have been better as a documentary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
I love this film as i am a hip hop head! The break dancing and rapping is colossal. Real hip hop culture in its purest form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2002
Wild Style, what can I say. It's one of greates hip-hop films ever made. It's got all the foundations, the graff, the DJing, the MCees, and least but not last the b-boying. All of it thrueschool hip-hop history. But be aware, dodgy footage on Grand Master Flash mixing on his decks to Bob James' Mardy Gras, has been replaced by som weird imitation of it. The other thing this UK-version hasn't got any bonus material. No Fab 5 Freddy interviews not even the graff footage as claimed on the US version. Even so the film is worth 10 points for it's historical value.
Peace...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2009
If you are into hiphop and have not seen this movie you have really missed out on something important. This is the raw energy of hiphop caught on film, before it became a multimillion dollar industry. This is how it started, rap, dj'ing, breaking and graffiti art.
The actors and actresses play a role i the movie reflecting what they do in real life.. like the graffiti legend Lee plays the main character Zoro,and Lady Pink plays his girlfriend Rose along with a lot of other cool cool cats.. you got rapping by Busy Bee, Grandmaster Kaz, Double Trouble and more!.. also staring is Grandmaster Flash, Grand Wizard Theodor(the inventor of the scratch). If these names are not known to you, then you got even more reason to check this out.

I owned this on vhs, but my player stopped working, so i had to get this dvd.. and man! it is great! a lot of bonus material for the ones already loving this movie, and for anybody new to it. You get to meet some of the stars 25 years later in interviews and short films done by Charlie Ahearn, the man behind Wild Style together with Fab 5 Freddy.

I've seen Wild Style more than any other movie..it just gets me up.. like the hiphop culture it's all about peace, love, unity and having fun.

Along with "Style Wars" this is truly and hiphop essential.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2013
good quality footage/film.. there was wasnt phisical 2nd cd! as stated on the disc unless ive miss read things.on the cd...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2012
great old skool hip hop film i love it even the key actors speaking back on film 25 yrs later. yea brilliant. love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2010
The ultimate graffiti and hip-hop film.

If you're into the scene and not seen this... you ain't into the scene
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2012
what can i say. the BEST hiphop film EVER made :o). any fan of breakdance & street art should buy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2015
Clasic. End of.
(Actually loved the catch-up/update footage of original cast members).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2016
Awesome piece of rap history - dont miss it if you are a fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse