Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
77
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2017
its ok but abit scratched it only gets to the car part and goes back to main menu .not to worry i can get it cleaned.upset tho i wanted to watch it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
The best. Very funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Fast delivery and just as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
It might be the last ever episode and in some ways watching this it becomes easy to see why, yet nevertheless the story places the Royles in one of their most intriguing premises yet.
As the episode kicks off things feel a little forced, perhaps because the cast were forced to reshoot after losing some of their filming but once into the "holiday" situation things settle down again. The only thing that might niggle you is that although you might well be enjoying the story, you'll keep having this feeling of deja vu that you've heard all the jokes before and it seems that they have nowehere left to go with the characters except to use everything we know about them up to now to make fun of them, in all the recent specials Dave and Jim are increasingly becoming a bit farcical. It used to be quite a lot more heartfelt and poignant, and you would relate because you would "know" people like that, but by this episode the characters seem to have become more like caricatures of themselves. But while the actual dialogue seems to have become more forced and two dimensional I did enjoy some of the individual joke situations and I felt that the story placing the Royles on holiday which became a bit farcical was just perfect for the characters, you will enjoy as a long time fan of the series, but in some ways you might maybe only half enjoy it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
It is Barbara and Jim's wedding anniversary and after much squabbling about what they should do with the money gifts they were given they end up going to prestatyn in Wales to a caravan site with their daughter Denise and son in law Dave . The entire DVD is laugh out loud funny with each member being as finny as the next esp when the four of them are in a confined space in a caravan with no chip pan!!!!!!!How on earth can they possibly survive without a chip pan on their holidays...It's madness I say!!!. My stomach was sore from laughing at it. Perfect to watch with your own family or on your own for a good laugh out loud chuckle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
This has to the funniest of the specials in a long time.
The Royle family, well what's left of them, are at their finest.
Dave and Denise's brains have deteriorated somewhat, much to our amusement, Jim has become more lazy and a lot more disgusting and Barbara is still living her life the best she can.
This special episode is filled with fun and laughter and is well worth buying as the same old humour is here right from the start.
Well, to me, this show is far funnier than the likes of Gavin and Stacey and gets more laughs than the annoying Ricky Gervais, but that's just my opinion isn't it.

I can sort of understand the negative reviews surrounding this special episode as it is not to everyone's taste, but 'the golden egg cup' is a simple show which takes absolutely no concentration to keep up with.
It may be a little on the 'smutty' side, more than usual, especially in certain scenes, but 'The Royle's' have always been that way inclined.
55 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
The Royle family was one of the best comedies of all time in my opinion,caroline aherne and craig cash's scripts had a nice mix of comedy and pathos,intelligently written and carefully crafted. Since the brilliant Queen of sheba special a few yrs back there has been a law of diminishing returns, 2 very disappointing xmas specials have sullied this once great series. There are 1 or 2 little flourishes here and there to be had but overall it's just poorly written now and a shadow of its former self. The whole caravan chapter was just plain bad,just not funny at all. Over the last 2 specials it has started quite promisingly but once they go out of the royle house things just go downhill fast!

Buy the series but leave these specials alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
Firstly this "one off" episode is a vast improvement on the previous one "The new sofa" but both over all miss the mark and do not have the subtle charm and humour of the series.
It feels like the show has fell into that area many shows do by trying to hard and going on long after its time, Only fools and horses did this with its last 3 episodes, Are you being served did this with its last series and the list goes on.

There are some very funny moments in the show but in places it feels very strained now, Maybe is because it is trying to live up to the standard it set, Or maybe its because its so loved that we can see the cracks in it now.
Really the "Queen of sheba" with all the emotions etc was the best show for the series to end on and without Liz Smith as Nanna it misses a lot of magic Much as fools and horses missed Uncle Albert.
I would recommend it to anybody who is collecting the whole show but maybe wait until the price drops a bit, Thats what I am doing.
I hope this will be the the end of the show now though.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
We watched this originally when it was broadcasted over a Christmas period, we always seemed to miss the re run so decided to purchase this - this is a laugh a minute, absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
This was so warm and funny. I loved seeing the best characters together in a caravan and it was refreshing to see them driving and playing games. The outtakes are also well worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)